Are you ready?

6 35
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: 2021, Personal, Life, Random

Few days left before December or should I say 28 days left before Christmas. I ain't going to ask if you are ready or not. But here in our household, we have partially started to prepare for Christmas and New Year. When my brother called me to say that he needed my services to look out for my godson during his online classes, I was waiting for the Christmas decors that I have ordered from Shopee.

Since September, I was planning to buy some Christmas decors but because it was only last 11.11 when I ordered some of those, it arrived after few days. We already have a garland and other decors even before so I only bought some flowers and leaves. When we received our parcel, I immediately opened it, took a picture and we started putting it up. I took a bath right after, packed my things and left. It was only last week when I took a photo of garland because I thought I can draft this article when I am at ny brother's place.

When we placed it, I felt like it needs some more decorations but that would do for now.

Ever since I was a kid, I was always the one who would ask my mom to put up a Christmas tree. I was the one who was always excited whenever it was Christmas. When was the last time you have put up a Christmas tree or some Christmas lights and decorations? For us I think it was 2017 or 2018 when we last put up a Christmas tree. For Christmas lights and parol, I can say that everyday is Christmas for us because from the time that we have bought our parol, my mom never took it down. LOL. It was hard for us to look for a guy who would install the parol and take it down again after the holidays so my mom decided to just let it stay there.

Our parol that has been up for years. LOL.

This year, instead of putting up a Christmas tree, I decided to decorate our kitchen with the garlands that we have since it is the place where we usually take some pictures with the whole family. I am not sure if my brother's family will spend Christmas with us but it is ok if they don't. Before the pandemic, they would spend the Christmas eve with us and on the day of Christmas will be at my sister-in-law's side. I have no idea for this year because last Christmas, they spent in the house of my brother's mother-in-law.

I do not know if you have noticed it but because of the pandemic, I felt like the spirit of Christmas is not as how it was before. It is expected because we are experiencing a pandemic and economic crisis but is it an excuse to not feel the spirit of Christmas? I admit that I am also guilty of that. I was even mad at my mom for spending some of her money to buy Christmas gifts for her friends instead of saving it for future expenses. However, I want to change that kind of attitude. If my mom wants to give gifts to her friends and I will just let her do what she wants.

With regards to our Christmas menu, I have already started to buy a few ingredients out of my own hardwork. My parents would not question me where I got the money because they know that I received cash gifts from my aunts. My dad requested for a spaghetti and fruit salad and so I bought the ingredients already when we did our groceries last week.

This will be the first time in many years that I will have something for my family for Christmas. It may not be what I originally planned to give them but I am still happy that I am feeling the Christmas spirit in our house. Sad to say that my dad did not notice the Christmas decors that we installed in our kitchen. LOL. Our helper told me last week when I got home from my brother's house that she was asking my dad if he noticed something new in the kitchen but he said he doesn't. I guess I would have to buy some more Christmas decors so that next year he would be able to notice it. LOL.

In terms of gift giving especially to my family and friends, I still haven't bought anything for them in years. But I already have some gift ideas in mind. I will just buy it if I know that we will all see each other and the question would be is when. LOL.

If we are not experiencing a pandemic, I bet that majority of the people are already busy buying Christmas gifts by now. I do not know if a lot of people are now busy with Christmas shopping especially that some cities in our country are in alerts level 1 and 2 where everyone can now go to the places that they like. I know that a lot of us want to spend our hard earned money but I hope that we should prioritize our needs over wants. Think about it over and over and over again before buying.

If you were to ask me if I am ready for 2022, I am ready for it. Although, I am also planning to buy some 2022 headband and/or glasses for us to wear during New Year's eve. I also want us to play some games before waiting for the New Year. Last year, we played Jenga but this year I am thinking of some Minute to Win it games and the Korean spicy noodle challenge. I am not sure if it will be fun because it will just be me, my mom and our helper. My dad is not that into playing some games but let's see. If I want to have these games, I would need some prizes and that will also be the problem. LOL. I am now ready for Christmas and New Year but my wallet is still not. LOL.

P.S. lead image is a photo of the Christmas decors that I bought from Shopee.

10
$ 9.82
$ 9.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 6
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
2 years ago
Topics: 2021, Personal, Life, Random

Comments

I think your garlands just needs lights.

My kids are the ones planning for the games on Christmas eve and usually the prizes are just junk foods. 😁

I am already half way with my Christmas gifts, still need to buy some though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aba! Paskong pasko na dyan a. Dito wala pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! What a nice preparation. Indeed, you're excited for christmas (i guess we all are). I like the gift-giving tho. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami talaga di nagdedecorate masyado, ung Christmas Balls lang na ilang taon na samin tapis pag tinamad talaga dina maglalagay haha. Tamad rin kasi ako sa ganito kya yun haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, ilang taon na talag siguro 5 to 7 years? Di na kami nagtatayo ng Christnas tree. Masikip ang bhay for that, plus, wala na yung Christmas tree namin. Tinapon na yata dahil sa kalumaan. True ka dyan, di ganong lively yung nakaraang Pasko dahil sa restrictions, to be honest. Pero sana maiba naman ngayong taon. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though Christmas is no longer what it used to be in this part of the world yet I can't wait for Christmas to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago