Me as a teacher

4 17
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

Being a teacher is never an easy job. I applaud these hardworking teachers who sacrificed a lot just to mold and teach our kids to be the future leaders of society.

I myself did not imagine myself in front of different kids aside from my own daughter. I felt that I don't have that convincing power to get kids attention and I have fears like what if the kids don't learn and not improve at all. What will I do if they want to play or they get bored during our activities. I think that I will never be ready to be one.

But come this pandemic, all the hesitations and worries has been set aside. I need to teach my own daughter and some of her invited classmates. I could not say No because these other kids are close relatives too.

Our regular routine is:

  1. Prayer

  2. Exercise

  3. Lessons

  4. Art attack

  5. Snack time

  6. Lessons

This is by far okay as I also consulted the teachers I know. But not all kids are fast learner and willing to learn at their age (4-5 years old). They are enthusiastic at first but in a minute or two they got bored and would no longer listen no matter how cheerful I made my voice.

There was this one time and our lesson was to draw different kinds of lines. One of my student Eze, don't really like to write. Even in writing his name, I still need to hold his hand and guide but the problem is his attention is roaming around like a 360 camera. After 2 lines, he dropped his pencil and grabbed his folder and walked away. I

Of course I need to run after him and asked where is he going and he said he wants to go home and started yawning. I had no choice but to bring him home. I felt sad and disappointed with myself at that time. Maybe, I should just give up and focus teaching my daughter. That if ever the kids will not improve the guardians or parents may find fault in me because I was their temporary teacher.

I think my daughter felt that there is something wrong and she started reading our previous lesson and sit in my lap. As if it's her way of showing that she learned something from me that day. 'Mommy, Eze is hard to teach right?' She asked. 'Yeah sometimes, but I need to be patient with him because his parents are not here to teach him. Unlike you, you have me, Nanang, Tita, Tito and Daddy', I replied. She just hugged me tightly as if comforting me.

...^•^...

Teaching is such a noble job

It's a career that I never thought of entering

I think that it's not for me

I am not fully equipped for that role.

I think that I cannot handle a lot of kids,

That I might be a terror one

And the students might not listen or participate

That they might not learn anything from me

And I don't have the patience, the credibility and enough experience

To convince the kids.

But still I accepted the challenge

Took the chance

And I am happy now

Everyday becomes exciting with these kids.

...^•°...

Thanks for reading.

Keep inspiring. Keep smiling.

XOXO,

BBGHITTE

3
$ 0.58
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbghitte
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

Comments

Salute to all teachers especially to you and all the mothers/fathers out there or to whoever first taught us in life. They are our first teacher. It just really proves that nothing in life is easy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks sis. I appreciate teachers more than ever. I am only teaching 4 kids but it's already very challenging what more to 20-30 students.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. I really admire their patience. They really deserve a salary increase.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes sis, I agree with you on that! They are the most deserving☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago