Coastal clean-up (Part 2)

2 7
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

Today, another coastal clean-up was initiated by our local officials today including those of the Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) and other volunteers who are deeply concerned of the cleanliness of our beach. Yes, we are living near a very beautiful beach but sadly not all who visits and even some who lives here are disciplined enough to carry their own rubbish. I personally filled one (1) big trash bag today; most are empty plastic bottles.

Seaweeds

Aside from the plastic bottles, there are also seaweeds that filled the shore which is really hard to clean but at least they are not considered trash at all. We just need to burry them into the sand because they are not so good to behold. It needs a lot of hand to complete this task, sadly participants are not enough to finish it today and after snacks they all disappeared leaving 1/4 still not cleaned. I am not complaining, it's a good start already, at least they took time.

As I have mentioned before, this is my safe haven. This is where I go whenever I feel suffocated at home or I just want to breathe from the noise of the kids😁. I just have this feeling that the waves of the sea and the breeze could fly those negative feelings away.

Do you know that early breeze could heal coughs and colds too? Since we were kids, our mother would bring us to the beach as early as 6am because it is believed that it has the most healing effect and this belief has been transfered from generation to generation and I think it is really effective.

Anyway, back to the coastal clean-up drive. Even before this project of our local officials, I am already an advocate and I have been religiously bringing my own trash bag whenever I come here, not for a show but more of I want to instill in my daughter and my nephew the importance of keeping these gift from nature a safe and clean one. It's my way of thanking mother nature for allowing us and these kids enjoy it's beauty. Who knows, she will be happy and reward us with great catch one of this days.

I hope with this drive, people who will come and visit will already be shy and think twice to scatter and leave their trash around. This is my secret wish ever since, that our little town will be a tourist attraction in our province; but not as crowded like Boracay. This is to help our community have another source of income other than the usual fishing or farming. We all know that these two are very hard and most of the time fishermen and farmers really do not earn that much.

My wish now is that to keep the cleanliness of the coastal area and that more and more people will be concerned and be proud of this place not just for a show but a sincere one. That they will treat this haven like their 2nd home too.

...^•°....

Thanks for reading.

Keep inspiring. Keep smiling.

XOXO,

bbghitte

4
$ 0.52
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbghitte
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

Comments

My safe haven too! Thanks for all the efforts in saving mother nature. And, glad to see you back.. I'm back too, lol!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago