Am I Being Selfish?

2 10
Avatar for bbghitte
2 years ago

'Am I being selfish? A question asked by my friend and co-parent to me while we were waiting and watching Yuri and her daughter Heleina playing.

Heleina is an adorable kid, so sweet and really easy to fall in love with. Sometimes, her grannies would borrow her and ask her to sleep or stay with them for days. That means she will be away with her Mama, Papa and you ger brother Simon. That's why and where the question above was brought about. Heleina's mom, Monette would not allow or not grant the oldies' request because as much possible she would want to cherish being with her, cuddling her before going to bed, making memories together while Heleina is still young.

Kids these days grow too fast and sooner or later they would no longer want to even eat with their parents, they would not even want to kiss them in public and would choose to be with friends over them. As much as possible she would maximize these times to be with her so that she won't have regret in the future.

I totally understand her sentiments and so I said, she's not being selfish at all. Because like her, I have been and still trying to fill those times that I wasn't beside Yuri. Those nights that I need to change her diapers, sing lullabies until she fall asleep, see her first step, document her first word and everything. Those milestones that I was absent, those days when she feels sick and Mommy was not there in an instant to take care of her. I still cry when I think of those moments but I am so thankful for having such an amazing mother who fill those moments for me.

Yes, Mommies and Daddies, we are not selfish at all! We just want that when our kids will go to school and when they are with their friends, they could share that they have the coolest parents. That Mommy cooks the yummiest pasta, that mommy makes the best ice cream in the world, that mommy always play with her, that mommy is the best she ever have and that Daddy can build all her toys, that daddy is the best artist, that daddy is the most handsome in the world.

...^•°...

Thanks for reading and God bless us all.

Keep smiling. Keep inspiring.

Lead image is captured by me.
#originalcontent
#bbghitte

1
$ 1.21
$ 1.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
Sponsors of bbghitte
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbghitte
2 years ago

Comments

You are right. That's not being selfish. We have to spend time with them for as long as we can. Life is short.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isu garud, nagalisto da dumakkel

$ 0.00
2 years ago