Sleep paralysis

36 39
Blog:180-3rd
Date :October 07,2022
Time :02:00pm

I got the idea of what topic to write today after I've seen the post of my relatives on FB about Urom(Bisayan term) or what we commonly called sleep paralysis.

I remember I was in high school when the first time I experienced sleep paralysis. I usually sleep on my left side, sideways. That's my favorite sleeping position. I was dreaming of a black man who have red eyes. He looks so scary and he was trying to say something by whispering it to my ears. I tried to make a sign of a cross using my hand yet I can't move my arms. I was so scared of that black man. Luckily I woke up and felt so scared after. Since then I always pray before going to sleep and I even bring Rosary beads with me. I won't lie down on my left side anymore. I tried to sleep in the back position. Just the normal sleeping position. After changing my sleeping position I didn't experience sleep paralysis anymore.

It takes how many years after I experienced again the sleep paralysis. If my memory serves me right I guess I was pregnant with my eldest when I experienced sleep paralysis again. I was sleeping at noon time. Since I am preggy and can't sleep lying back so I sleep sideways.Same as my first sleep paralysis experience. A voice of a man is whispering to my ears. I can't breathe and I was trying to make a sign of a cross. I am also lucky enough that I woke up after having that nightmare.Nightmare pa rin ba tawag nun eh afternoon ako natulog LOL.To be honest I was so scared at that time knowing that I was pregnant and I was catching my breath when I woke up.

Based on my research

Sleep Paralysis

While falling asleep or waking up, your brain helps the muscles in your arms and legs relax. With sleep paralysis, you regain awareness but can’t move. Paralysis is temporary and isn't a sign of a major medical issue.

What are the symptoms of sleep paralysis?

The symptoms include:

  • Paralysis in your limbs.

  • Inability to speak.

  • Sense of suffocation

  • Hallucinations.

  • Fear.

  • Panic.

  • Helplessness.

  • Tightening around your throat.

  • Daytime sleepiness may be a sign of narcolepsy.

As stated above I experienced Paralysis in my limbs that's why I can't move my arms.

I also experience the inability to speak when I had a nightmare that I was drowned in a Carabao pond. I was trying to call for help yet no sound came out of my mouth. When I woke up I was catching my breath .As in hinihingal talaga ako.Parang totoo yung panaginip ko .Sense of suffocation yung naexperience ko.Tightening around your throat din yung nafeel ko after dreaming of being drowned.

There was a time also when I know I was awake yet I can't open my eyes, I was at the boarding house at that time, and all I thought was that my boyfriend was there though I am just alone since He was at work and it was my day off. I really wanted to open my eyes to see if my boyfriend my there and I tried to talk but still, no sounds come out of my mouth. So I guess it's what they called Hallucinations.

Fear, Panic, and Helplessness were what I feel when I had Sleep Paralysis for the first and second time

My mom also experienced sleep paralysis. So you know now where did I get it coz based sa aking research it can be from the history of the Family.Si Mama naman mas malala kasi nagsasalita pero yung sounds na lumalabas sa bibig niya parang nanginginig sa takot.One time tinanong ko siya ano ba kasi napanaginipan niya bat parang takot na takot siya.Sabi niya eh nanaginip daw siya ng pari na putol ang ulo.Yung boses ni mama yung nakakatakot pakinggan para nasa horror.

Ending thoughts

I guess that's all I can share about my experience of Sleep Paralysis. How about you guys? Do you also experience Sleep Paralysis? Let me know in the comment section or you can share your experience too.

Photos used in this article are all owned by yours truly unless it is stated.

Lead Image and thumbnail edited using Canva

To my ever-dearest daily readers, upvoters, and likers. thank you for your precious time and for your efforts. I love you all.

To my amazing and generous sponsors who have been supporting me since from the start thank you so much for inspiring me to do better each day.

Sponsors of alicecalope
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 2.02
$ 1.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Erickchristianmontajes
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 8

Comments

same here sis in ana sad ako na experience naay murag mowhisper then dili kalihok..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lagi sis di ta kalihok ba. Hadlok baja jud tong 1st experience naho

$ 0.00
1 year ago

uu katong ako kay naa ko sa van..hadlok kaau ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my region, a lot of people see this sleep paralysis as evil because a witch or devil is trying to attack them in real life via hallucination.

One of the major causes of sleep paralysis is hard work, I mean stressful work without having enough rest time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah stress is also one of the factors that can trigger it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This happens to me once in two months, the feeling is very horrific like you died and sent to experience torture.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's terrible experience

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was decades ago na yata nung nagkaganyan ako buti hindi naman na naulit.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako din sis matagal na din Yun wag na sanang maulit pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Basic reason behind sleep paralysis is weakness. When our brain is deficient in Glucose, it start to deviate in thinking that resulted bad dreams and we want to run to secure ourselves from this condition but we couldn't because all muscles became relaxed in the absence of neural response.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There's a lot of factors that can trigger or cause sleep paralysis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na experience ko to sis one time. Nakakatakot kasi hindi talaga ako makagalaw, hindi ako makapag salita tapos ang lakas pa ng kaba ng dibdib ko.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Super creepy. Nakakatakot talaga sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have one last August haha, and yeah I was exousted that times, it's feels weird for yeah it was also a demonic one uwu. Nakakatakot talga yan, some people died because of that. Bangungot sa atin eh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes nakakamatay siya pag di nagigising

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung first ever experience ko nakaidlip ako while nakavideocall ko asawa ko noon( di pa kami kasal and di pa ako buntis) tapos nagising ako sa alarm ng phone ko pero di ako naririnig ng asawa ko. Di din ako makagalaw. Ang creepy kasi nakikita ko sarili konsa videocall namin na dilat ako. Huehue

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yun nga eh gising ka pero di ka makagalaw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ka experience pud ko ani sis nga mura kog Gilumsan niya dili ko kaginhawa maayu gani naay naka Pukaw nako atu nga time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hadlok sis noh saon nalang ug y nipukaw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alam mo sis na experience ko yan kaisa. Yung parang nakakulong ako tas kahit anong gusto kong labas di ako makagalaw. Takot na takot talaga ako nun buti nagising ako sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hadlok kaayo jud sis saon nalang ug di makamata

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I experienced a lot of sleep paralysis, the moment I'm into that situation I already knew what to do, I can control my dream and manage to escape successfully however after that I catch up my breath and sweating.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's good to know that you know to manage it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako sis, murag uromon ko basta magdamgo ko ug daghan bitin, di ko kalihok gawas ug matandogan ko sa akong katapad.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Naa bayay meaning ng makadamgo ug bitin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan din ako minsan sis pag subrang pagod akala mo gising ka pero subrang lalim pala ng tulog

$ 0.01
1 year ago

daghan possible cause sa sleep paralysis sis isa na ana ang stress

$ 0.00
1 year ago

how to stop sleep paralysis , just drink a glass of water before sleeping, its very effective, I am very familiar with sleep paralysis and experienced it many time, after I get sleep paralysis and gain control on my body, I get up and drink a glass of water to sleep comfortably again. My lola taught me that

$ 0.01
1 year ago

daghan man gud cause sa Sleep paralysis brad.like if you are stress.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

saona mahadlok jud ko bay basta motokar akong sleep paralysis maningkamot jud kog lihok sakong mga kumagko sa tiil para lang maregain balik ang control tapos inum dayon og tubig kai once di ko moinom og tubig mag sge balik2

$ 0.00
1 year ago

maoba hadloka gud.wa man nuon ko katry nga magbalik2x ...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mobalik akoa oyy kanang makalihok nako, tapos pagkataod syempre katolgon nakayo ta di na ta ganahan og bakod, mobalik nasad na di nasad ko kalihok. tapos maningkmot nasad ko makalihok gamit akong kumagko sa tiil, ayha padayon ko moinom og tubig haahahah

sa sleep paralysis tiil ra bya sa kumagko ato malihok og atong mga mata

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hadloka pud.do u find the reason nganong sige tukar ng imong urom(sleep paralysis)?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

dili, wako kabalo haha kai og bilar daghan ko days na bilar diman ko ma sleep paralysis, random days rajud oy, lisod man gud e maintain ang DRINK GLASS OF WATER BEFORE BED usually sleep paralysis ona ayha inum tubig hahaha usahay gani makahuna2 ko onsa kahay mahitabo ba kong di nato e fight na mulihok balik. mao siguru ng gi orom ba? namatay nga tulog? kai pas2 man kay o atong heartbeat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes mao ny orom.makamatay ug di makamata

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that's great sir! I will do that before I sleep as I always experience bad nightmares, especially when I'm very much tired from work

$ 0.00
1 year ago