I badly need some rest

30 44
Avatar for alicecalope
1 year ago
Blog:174-11th
Date :September 21,2022
Time :4:11pm

It's been almost 3 weeks since I worked so hard at work. It is not always busy at work and I am not complaining though as it is part of my job but honestly my body is already complaining.

Sitting for long hours makes my back ache. I was so busy since the time the senior citizens in our town needed a 2x2 ID picture to validate their UCT(Unconditional Cash Transfer). I think yesterday was the busiest since yesterday was the start of the validation. We all know that most Filipino like to prepare things at the last minute they need them.

After more than 2 years I guess since the last time that I work on Sundays. We open again the computer shop after the lockdown around August 2021. It was the time that non-essential establishments are allowed to operate. It was just after almost 2 months after I gave birth. Since it was still pandemic time my work schedule was only from 8 am-3:30 pm Monday to Friday only. Then after a few months, I told my boss if I can work on Saturdays then she agreed. Just last month when the face-to-face classes begin my boss wanted to open the computer shop on Sundays but I will not be one to handle it, she look for someone to be my reliever on my day off. SoI trained someone to handle the computer on Sundays. She already started working for 2 consecutive Sundays but last Sunday she told me that she can't go to work since she was so busy with her projects in school. She is a Grade 12 student so I understand her situation. I then told my boss that I can work on Sunday just to cater to the needs of the customers especially the senior citizens as I don't want to be overloaded with work the next day, especially on Market day which is Tuesday.

I made the right decision to work last Sunday since I had lots of customers, especially senior citizens and students. I had the highest sales of the week last Sunday.Busy day indeed. Last Monday I had to close the door of the computer around 4:15 pm so I can finish laminating the priority numbers. I suppose to close it around 4:30 pm but then I was so busy laminating the priority numbers before I headed back home. I had to take with me the laminated priority numbers as I still need to cut the edges of every number. Monday was still a busy day for me and I don't have the time to do my side hustles especially writing articles or making some noise in noisecash.

Tuesday, I open a computer shop around 8:20 am. Since I only had 20 priority numbers I decided to make a new one that is up to 50 priority numbers. Even if I was so busy last Monday I tried my best to edit and print the priority numbers. I just have small windows to do my stuff even like eating my lunch. As expected I got a lot of customers majority of them are senior citizens. Since we only have a small space inside the computer shop so I only allowed 10 customers at a time. They all got the 50 priority numbers until I accommodated all the 50 customers I had to proceed with for the next batch. So I guess I had 104 total customers yesterday. Imagine the processing time before I can give them their 2x2 pictures, I had to take a picture of them one by one then crop the picture, edit the background before finally putting in the printing layout and print then cut the pictures.

To be honest, having senior citizen customers tested my patience as I have to louder my voice for them to hear me since some of them can't hear me clearly anymore. Instructing them to stand straight and face the camera. I had to explain to them why it takes time for their pictures to come since mostly they don't have any knowledge of how it goes through.

It was lunchtime when a customer ask a favor if I can entertain her first because she felt hungry already but I have to follow the numbering schedule. I told her if she is hungry they can eat their lunch as I was so hungry too and I needed to eat my lunch too. If they are hungry just sitting while waiting their turn how much more me that I was the one who is working and facing the computer for straight hours? My head was aching. I told them I am not a robot nor a computer and I need to eat and rest too. I accommodated all the customers around 4:00 pm. That was 30 mins before I will close the computer shop. When I was about to go home I told my daughter I am too tired and exhausted and I am so sleepy. But I still have to stay awake and alert since I had to drive the motorcycle going home.

When we are traveling and going home I notice something strange about the movement of the wheel of the motorcycle luckily I don't drive at a fast speed since I was sleepy. Flat tire again.Glad we are just a few minutes away from the available vulcanizing shop. I had to run flat the motorcycle again until we reach the vulcanizing shop. It was around 6 pm already and it was getting dark I was so sure that my husband was already worried about why we are not home yet. He can't contact us since we don't have a good phone signal. It was around 6:30 pm when we arrived home. I was so tired and I wanted to relax. After we eat our early dinner we immediately pray the holy rosary because I was so sleepy already. I guess I fell asleep around 8:30 pm.

Ending thoughts

Being an internet cafe attendant is not as easy a job as they thought. Like what I usually heard from other people saying Hayahaya nimo ug trabaho oi lingkod lingkod lang naka aircon pajud.(I have a very comfortable and easy job in an air-conditioned room) Like the customers that were complaining about why it takes so long to print the pictures. Maybe for them, it is just an easy peasy job cause I am sitting in an air-conditioned room but they don't know how stressful my job is especially if I got a lot of customers. I might be sitting most of the time but my mind is working especially my eyes that's why when I got home from work I always feel exhausted. I felt so drained physically and mentally.

I guess that's all I can share about the recent happenings in my life at work. I was absent here for 2 days since I can't really focus on writing even if I am at home.So hopefully I can be active here again in the next few days.

Photos used in this article are all owned by yours truly unless it is stated.

Lead Image and thumbnail edited using Canva

To my ever-dearest daily readers, upvoters, and likers. thank you for your precious time and for your efforts. I love you all.

To my amazing and generous sponsors who have been supporting me since from the start thank you so much for inspiring me to do better each day.

Sponsors of alicecalope
empty
empty
empty

8
$ 0.91
$ 0.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Eunoia
+ 3
Avatar for alicecalope
1 year ago

Comments

Health is wealth. Rest when you need to

$ 0.01
1 year ago

yes tomorrow is my day off

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe 104 customer a day, sobrang dami nga po nun. Tama po kala ng iba easy easy lang po yung editing, hindi nila alam sobrang hirap po.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes masakit sa Mata at ulo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bawi nalang pohon sis,hehe sayang man pod kung week days ang I rest. I felt that too, a lot of times in fact.

Usahay mag need gyud kog tulog sa udot kay dili na kaya sa lawas pero sayang mag pod mu undertime o mag absent.

Aja sis?! Kaya ra na

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lagi S Laban Lang jud Ata ani

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha lagi gyus sis kay wla apod gyud tay lain chose ahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hayahay tan awon pata sa uban sis wala lamg sila kabalo unsa ka stress ng imong trabaho. Di jud lalim no kay kita dali na kayu ta panakitan og lawas ba .Pahuway sad sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lagi oi hayahay sa ilang tan aw ky lingkod2x Lang. Lagi sis oi. Kanindot ba eleave ug magshort vacation. Haayyst paita ning pobre ta oi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang aga naman ate nung sara ng computer shop ninyo. Nung nasa Manila kasi kami, kapag may rush na print kapag 10PM na (minsan nasa computeran pa rin kami lalo na may mga projects jusq). Magkano pala ate yung paprint sa inyo? Nagpaprint ako nung nakaraan, nagulat ako sa presyo kasi 15 pesos colored short eh dati 7-10 pesos lang yon eh. Di ko lang alam kung yun na ba yung adjusting price, or dinudugaan lang ako hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dati nung di pandemic yung business hours namin eh 9 to 9 meron din dati 10 to 10. After lock down we had to adjust dahil na rin sa time limit ng municipal sa loob ng market hanggang 5pm Lang pwede kasi isasara yung gate ng market around 5pm. About printing na naman dati yung plain text black Lang short is 6 tas long is 7 ngayon medyo tumaas na kasi tumaas na din halos lahat ng materials needed like ink, bond paper even electric tumaas na din kahit Renta namin tumaas na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a friend who is a cafe attendant. It's indeed not a very easy work. It is stressful because I have little experience about it. You're welcome back. I hope to read more of your works soon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aww thank you. That's sweet of you. If you notice that I wrote my previous article in Tagalog or my dialect it is because my mind is tired to think and write in English especially when I am busy at work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I deal with senior citizens some days but not as much as you. Your right you have to speak louder and have to repeat yourself a lot to. Also I find they like to start conversations a lot more than normal customers. I bet the processing times is a little longer.

Take care and have a great ending to your week

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for always being generous that's a great help since I am saving for the tuition fee for my daughter. More blessings to come for a generous person like you. That's true I had to repeat myself over again before they will hear M or understand me. True they love to start conversations..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Never a problem I take good care of the people I follow :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww that's great. Thanks for taking your time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually every job is hard it doesn't matter you're in air conditioner room or under the sky because duty or responsibility is hard to do regularly

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true Lesly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakastress din ang maghapong trabaho. Pagdating sa bahay, gagawa ka paulit. Kaya kapag nauwi ka , wag mo ng pansinin ang bahay, rest kung rest sis para makabawi ka.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Super nakaka ubos ng energy Kaya minsan pag dating ko sa bahay snacks tas Higa after. Pero pag minsan my work si hubby need Kong mag prepare ng food for dinner kahit pagod na ako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun nga nangyayari minsan. Buti kahit everyday kang pagod may energy ka pa mag sulat. Sana all ganun,ahe. Kase yung utak ko kapag pagod na loading na. Ang nanay talaga lahat kinakaya kahit pagod na ang katawan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Today di na super duper busy Kaya pinilit Kong makapagsulat kasi 2 days na akong absent tas malapit ng matapos ang month pero super kunti Lang nasulat ko dahil busy sa work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tuwing kelan ba dapat magsulat? Dapat b everyday?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Daily if Kaya mo depende yan sayo dati Goal ko makapagsulat daily at pag my absent ako I published 2 articles the nex t day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Abi nila sis easy lang pero arang ka busy ka sis labi na daghan customers. Bilib gayud ko sa pagkakugihan nimu sis. Arang kasakit bitaw nas likod ng cge ingkod sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

lagi huna2x nila sayon ra ky lingkod2x ra gud sus wa lang sila masayod makalabad ug ulo sige atubang ug monitor sa computer

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis tinuod na. Makalabad na. Relate ko sis katong nag work pako sa office.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lagi sis di jud lalim

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Basta kaon ka lang on time sis, Ayaw pagutom.

$ 0.00
1 year ago