Just Watched Nintendo Direct: My Detailed Thoughts

Avatar for ahmadmanga
3 years ago

Nintendo has published their February Direct this week and it was awesome. The stream ran for over 50 minutes and contained 30 Nintendo Switch Announcements: from game trailers to teasers and DLCs. (Link at the bottom of the article.)

In this post, I'll talk about the announcements that I found interesting. I will talk about most of them but I probably missed one or two if they weren't interesting enough to me. There are some announcements I really liked, and the fact they're scattered through-out the stream makes watching all of it worth it!


#1: Pyra & Mythra Join Smash!

The trailer of this Smash Character is genius: I avoided spoilers for Xenoblade Chronicles, so I don't know the significance of Pyra & Mythra in their games. (Apparently, each girl is the heroine of her Xenoblade Chronicles entry.) They handled how Pyra disappeared from the world of XC2 perfectly, because she got Smash Invitation.

As someone not familiar with the games, I thought the trailer was cheesy but brilliant: It didn't spoil Pyra's story nor Mythra's for me, but made me interested to learn more about them! That said, it's because I don't know the context of the games, I understand all the references in the trailer.


#4: Famicom Detective Club

The fourth announcement was a set of two classic mystery games. The Remakes of Famicom Detective Club series. Originally for the Floppy Disk variant of Famicom. The dilogy is getting be localized in English for the first time. The art style of the remakes is intriguing and from the titles alone: "The Girl Who Stands Behind" & "The Missing Heir," I know they'll be great games.


#6: Legend of Mana (Remake)

I never expected a Remake a Mana game for the third time! Legend of Mana was first released for PS1 in 1999. It's the follow-up for Trails of Mana, but from the bits I read about it, it doesn't share the same setting with it.

Legend of Mana has a unique game-play compared to other games in the series. A non-linear story. The art style, as shown in the trailer is beautiful!


#7: Monster Hunter: RISE

"We must stop the calamity!" The upcoming entry in the Monster Hunter series, which is looking to be one of the most visually impressive games on the Nintendo Switch. The trailer showcases the game's story and battle system.

I feel that this Monster Hunter game gives the side character a bigger role than usual for the franchise, but trailers don't always tell the truth so I'll wait for the reviewers. It will be soon as Monster Hunter: RISE will release on March


#11: Stubbs the Zombie in Rebel Without a Pulse

"This... Is new..." That's what I thought after seeing this title.

To my untrained eye, it looked like an Indie game. (A creative one.) Turns out it's a remake of an Xbox classic! (The original Xbox.)

I don't want to get this game but I liked both the idea and the art style... Makes me think that way too few games these days use the early 2000's 3D style. Then again, it does look dated. PS2 is considered a Retro-console right now...


#14: DC superhero girls Teen Power

This entry is... Interesting? I think it reminds me of Teen Titans too much, and that's probably the vibe they're going for, just aimed more at the girls this time.

Well, I'm not into DC comics anymore, and this game feels too childish and girly even for my usually childish taste, but part of me is glad that a game like this actually got made...


#18: Project: Triangle Strategy

This was the highlight of the Nintendo Direct for me!

A tactical RPG with an amazing pixel-art-style (reminds me of Octopath Traveler.) Three nations each fight over the resources of the land Salt & Iron, which turned into a war known as the Saltiron War.

The trailer showcased the gameplay and I love every bit of it. It's like they took everything good about the tactics games before it and put it all in one game! I love the terrain manipulation ability and the Decision System!

Story impacting decisions are decided by Vote. As a player, you have to convince your recruits to think in one of three ways: Utility, Morality, Liberty. Each character will decide what they want while being affected by your former choices.

Loved this game's trailer so much! Demo released now & I'll play it!!


#21: World End Club

From the creators of DanganRonpa: Another group of children is dragged to yet another Death Game. This time however the kill-each-other-game is canceled!

The Go-getters club members find themselves trying to go back to Japan but everyone there is vanished and so they try to solve the mystery and return home.

I have high expectations for this game. Apparently, it was an episodic game for iOS in Japan, but the Nintendo Switch version will feature the whole story. Can't wait!


#25: Bravely Default II

Bravely Default is one of the games I want to play one day. I already reviewed the original demo, and I plan on Reviewing the Final Demo as well.

While there isn't much showcased in this Nintendo Direct, The Final Trailer was out on the same day. There are many more characters who seem important to the story than I have expected. That's always a good thing!


#27: SaGa Frontier Remastered

The seventh entry in the Sci-fi RPG series. SaGa Frontier Remastered will take the original and build on it with new scenarios and an additional playable character.

I'm not interested in the game itself, but I heard a fan saying that the PS1 version wasn't completed and the ending wasn't finished by the time of release so all we got is "The End" screen. I don't know how much of that is true, but the guy hopes the Remastered version includes a proper ending. I hope so too~


#29: Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword HD

So, I didn't play a lot of Zelda games. (I think I only played two/three of them by now.) I saw a lot of recommendations on which games Zelda games are the best. Skyward Sword was always near the bottom in such lists.

The reason it's not a well-liked series might be the control scheme of the Wii version as it can only be played using Motion Controls. (The future of gaming.) So I'm glad that they made it so Skyward Sword can be played in handheld mode!

This trailer made me realize that Skyward Sword is the earliest story in Zelda's timeline... Wow!



Other Announcements:

So, in case you haven't noticed yet. I numbered the games above by their place in the Nintendo Direct announcements. Now, I'm listing the other games, and if I have something to say about them...

2. Fall Guys Ultimate Knockout

Will release in summer 2021.

3. Outer Wilds

23 minutes before the sun explodes. Each cycle returns while you retain information. Understand why the sun explodes!

5. Samurai Warriors 5

This game actually looks interesting. There's a charm that only "Warriors" games can give you. Also, Oda Nobunaga. Every artist draws him as they want, isn't there a historical painting to take inspiration from?

8. Mario Golf

Story Mode using Mii characters surprised me. It's nice they left this feature for last.

9. Tales from the Borderlands

Set between Borderlands 2 & 3. It's a good game and the humor is on-point. There's something great about a Black-comedy.

10. Capcom Arcade Stadium

The game: 1943 should be released for Free by now...

12. No More Heroes 3

Against aliens. So, this is a series I avoided because of spoilers, but since every time I see something about it it's completely different I don't know anything by now.

13. Neon White

I'm a bit interested in this one. If only because the trailer started with "Slay Demons in Heaven." Assassins were summoned to heaven to kill demons in it. Cards are involved. Pretty sure I wouldn't play this one but it has an interesting premise...

15. Plants and Zombies

Me: "...Ok."

16. Miitopia

I knew I saw this title somewhere, this is a remaster for a 3DS game. I like the RPG battle parts shown in the trailer.

17. Animal Crossing New Horizons

Super Mario theme Released. That's a simple but good DLC if you ask me.

19. Star Wars Hunters

Free to play shooter using Star Wars name for easy recognition.

20. Knockout City

Really good trailer. Don't want to play this game, but they made me think "Wow! This is so good!" Which more games made as much effort in their trailers!

22. Hades (Physical)

I like how they're talking to the player as if they played the game before. Do they believe those who bought the Digital version will also buy the Physical one? Now I think about it, it's very likely...

23. Ninja Gaiden Master Collection

Me: "Oh, makes sense..."

24. Zelda Age of Calamity

Expansion Pack announcement. The 1st Wave is in May. I'll probably get this game on sale... Probably...

26. Ghost and Goblin Resurrection

I saw a review for this game. Wasn't interesting to me.

28. Apex Legends

Me: "Wait, I thought this was already on Switch...!!"

30. Splatoon 3

I thought this was going to be a DLC for Splatoon 2. I don't know what are the changes they're brewing but the trailer was chill. This sequel is supposed to be in 2022.



What do you think?

It took me a while to write this article, but when these games release it'll be nice to go back and see my initial impression of them. If you like this post, please tell me so I post more trailers impressions in the future. For now, I wish you all a nice day!


7
$ 6.77
$ 6.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Omar
Sponsors of ahmadmanga
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ahmadmanga
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments