5 Sleeping positions of my rabbit

6 44
Avatar for adoniis
2 years ago
Topics: Animals, Rabbit, Bunny, Pet, Experience, ...

Hello. 💗 Glad to see you back!

While writing any article we are inspired by our own lives - by what happened to us, what we experienced and also by all kinds of things around us. This article is inspired by my rabbit.

As I mentioned in my article 6 Reasons why not to get a rabbit pet, in August, we have got a new family member - a little rabbit (or a bunny) lady and she essentially became a huge part of our lives since then.

I still can´t get over how cute she is! and as I observe her behaviour every day, I noticed many things. Besides the fact that she is really grumpy in the morning (as any girl, especially when she wakes up hungry 😂) and besides her obsession with chewing anything plastic, this article will be showing and describing 5 sleeping positions in which you can find her throughout the day.

Let´s go to it now!


1. Bun position

I´d say that this position is the most common with any rabbit/bunny you can come across, so for this reason you can also call it "The default position". 🤣

In this position, the rabbit is literally looking like a bun or loaf of bread. She has all her legs tucked under her body so the shape of her whole body is really round and smooth. She is pretty much one little warm furball. And when she lays her ears back, the resemblance to the bun is even more striking.

Yeah, I know it is kinda morbid to talk about my rabbit in comparison to food, but c´mon, you can´t say that you don´t see any similarities. 😅

I found a picture on Unsplash for you to see what I mean, here:

Image source: Unsplash

(and no! we won´t eat our rabbit! I won´t eat any rabbit ever!)


2. Superman position

This position was not named by me, it´s a really common name for this position in the bunny-owners community and I think everyone can see why.

It´s really funny for me because the rabbit looks simply hilarious with all its legs spread out like superman, just ready to fly off. 😂 Don´t you think?

It is more of a relaxing position than a sleeping one though.

You can see my rabbit like this after she finished playing or running and she needs to calm herself down for a moment. After relaxing time is done (most likely a few minutes), she is back fully energetic ready to mess around again!


3. Sphynx position

This position is really similar to the previous two. It´s basically the bun position combined with the superman one. In this position, the bunny has its front legs showing, but the hind (back) legs are tucked in under the body.

I always find this position so majestic because the Egyptian sphinxes which we all know are majestic as well.

Plus they really look alike haha! 😂

For illustration, the Great Sphynx of Giza (Egypt):

Image source: Unsplash

4. Statue position

Okay, this one is really strange and also cool. I discovered it recently.

Firstly: did you know that rabbits can sleep with their eyes open? They are prey animals which means that they are constantly on alert in case of any danger.

Because of this instinct, they developed a superpower! sleeping with their eyes open. This way they can immediately see what´s happening to them as soon as they wake up.

And secondly: whether they are sleeping or relaxing, or doing anything really, their ears are always listening.

(Rabbit ears = radar.)

So sometimes my rabbit is sleeping as you can see in the picture.

She´s completely still yet her eyes are wide open (like a statue! - yeah, I came up with the name haha), she has one ear down and she´s listening with the other one that is up.

At first, I was worried because I didn´t know why her ears are acting so strange, but now I know it´s completely normal behaviour for rabbits. 😄


BONUS FACT: Are you wondering how you can recognize if the rabbit is sleeping or not when they have their eyes open pretty much all the time?

Try to look at their nose, their nose is not twitching when they are asleep. Nose twitching = the rabbit is awake.


5. Dead-rabbit position

This position is really scary when you are not used to it and you are new to the bunny world.

Just imagine walking to your rabbit´s habitat to find them like this:

What are you going to think is probably: "What happened to it? Is the rabbit hurt? It is dead?" (these were my first thoughts 😅 really concerning)

No, the rabbit is okay, it´s just really, really comfortable, so it´s sleeping almost like a human or dog or cat.

When your bunny is sleeping in this position near you, it means that it trusts you completely, because the position is really vulnerable for them!

It would take long for them to stand up and run if they would need to... because in this position their legs are not placed solidly on the ground and even their whole body is on the side. So, as I said, they trust you and they don´t feel any danger when they are positioned like this within your presence and that´s amazing! 😊


Thank you, sponsors! I´m really glad you decided to sponsor my not-so-frequent articles. ♥

Sponsors of adoniis
empty
empty
empty

I hope you enjoyed this article as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Which position do YOU like the most?

Take care. 💖

7
$ 0.88
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @daring-celt
$ 0.03 from @CoquiCoin
+ 1
Sponsors of adoniis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for adoniis
2 years ago
Topics: Animals, Rabbit, Bunny, Pet, Experience, ...

Comments

I found this article interesting. Have learnt a lot from it. Thanks greatly f or sharing your observations with is. More of it. You are great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are cute, hehe love the sphynx and bun position lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the superman position haha. What a cutie 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amalka is very very cute!))))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I still can't with how cute she is in every situation 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago