Promises can be broken

Avatar for adereign
2 years ago

A promise is a great commitment, that only reputable or men with integrity fulfil. We make vows or promises to God our maker and we mostly fail. The promise comes most times when we need God's help to deliver us from hardship, danger, sickness or pain that we are passing through. Once we get what we want from him then we forget all we’ve promised during the time of trials and tribulations. If we can fail God who is our fellow human for us not to fail?.

Parents sometimes fails, to fulfil there promise to their children. There lot of experience on this, most time they forget that they made a promise, but their children will never forget. This promises are sometimes made in other to get the children be at work.

Almost all relationships start with one promise or different sweet words. "I love you" and "I can do anything for you -even die for you". But in the course of going on in the affair, things get to change and promises broken, to the extent that wedding vows no longer matters. That is why we have a lot of failures in relationships and divorces in marriages. Tade once dated a girl who he promised not to disclose her reproach to and he will stand by her till death do them apart. One evening kemi who is Tade girlfriend visited his apartment and met him jesting with his on what she taught is a secret between both of them. Immediately she enter he was shocked and tried changing the topic but it was late, she boasted in tears while the friends still kept laughing. This was what the 3 years of dating to a full stop, and they never get to see each other again.

Sponsors of adereign
empty
empty
empty

I also encounter a broken promise in a business setup in the past week. These promises are made just to attract customers to be able to patronize their business or company. Some of these people are tempted to get one thing or the other from them due to the promises made. My experience with some popular door selling companies this week wasn't good at all. I got a call from an old boss of mine that he needs to get some doors for his new house. He asks me if I have any company that sells doors around where is new project/building is. I answer- " Yes". I had no particular one in mind. Since I am jobless, at least I will get something in return. So, he asked me to come over to his place so we can go get it together.

Immediately he hangs the call I remembered a company that once came marketing their doors to me and gave me an offer that when I bring them customers they will give me $20 (which is #10000 per door). On getting to my boss' place, he told me he is buying 10 doors which means I will be getting $200 as my commission from the company. We drove there and purchased 10 doors which all amounted to $2800. I was extremely happy that I will be getting $200 and my boss also gave me $10 for my transport. Making it a total of $210 that I will be getting.

To my disappointment, the company offer me $50 in place of $200. It hurt me that they can’t just stand by their words in something so little.

There are places where we do purchase 50-100 doors at a go for housing estates. I rejected their offer and walked away. I would have accepted their offer if I had known this company will break their promise. The manager called me the next day apologising that they will make it up to me when next I come around with a customer for them. I asked him not to worry but he should have it in mind that I can't bring another customer to them again. Instead, I will go to a place where they didn't promise to give me anything in return.

Lesson

  • Never promise what you can't offer. Inability to fulfil your promise to someone can affect you or the person you promised.

  • Failing to fulfil promise can dent relationship.

11
$ 7.34
$ 6.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 7
Sponsors of adereign
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for adereign
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

that's why i don't make any promises

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is why so many company fail to exist after such acts. Businesses should learn to stay by promises they make.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Many people think that promises are made to be broken. I don't have that same thought. If you can't keep your promise you won't be able to keep a signed contract either. The basis of everything is good communication. Making it clear why you can't deliver on something you promised will make you look good. Otherwise our reputation will lose credibility.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The company didn't act well at all. With what they did, they've lost so many customers that could have come from you in future. Better opportunities will surely open up for you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Its their lose... They will realize it soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am also guilty of making promises to kids but not fulfilling it and I got a "but you promise that..." , from them. As much as possible, if I commit something unto them I would not forget it, they really never forget.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. I do share your sentiments. This piece is truly informative.

$ 0.02
2 years ago