The Art of Skincare (and why one should pay attention early on)

23 49
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

When I was younger, I am not really into skincare. I would just wash my face with a papaya soap* and maybe a cleanser and that’s it. Sometimes I don’t even use anything on my face. I could stay up late because of schoolworks and not worry about a single “friend” (pimple) appearing on my face. There’s an occasional appearance of hormone-induced “friends” whenever it is that time of the month for us girls, but there is nothing really serious to worry about. Life is simpler then.

*Using papaya soap felt like a norm because of society’s “standard” and obsession for fairer skintone. Filipinos are natural morena, sometimes darker and society’s made people think that the fairer the skin tone, the better. It’s all that you can see that they are marketing in printed and other media.

However, growing up I learned to love my skin color even more and would not have it any other way. Those beauty products help maintain a better skin texture, though (that’s why we continue using the moisturizing kind. More on these later.)

But have you ever heard of the rule of seven? Being the curious person that I am, I was reading random articles long ago and came upon this one saying that our body’s cells replace themselves every seven to ten years so whatever you’ve consumed or have done to your body may manifest in this particular span of time. I wasn’t paying too much attention to it until I get to experience the change in my body in particular. It’s the same idea of how our metabolism slows down as we grow older and it is harder to burn down calories and fats compared to when we are younger.

This is why we should start caring for our body, skin and health early as we all know, especially these days how health is (indeed) our wealth.

Going back, remember when I have a nice, smooth face? It all started to go downhill when I went back from Singapore in 2016. The usual skin care routine (if you could call it as such) does not seem enough taking into consideration the difference of weather condition affecting our skin. Like what I have mentioned on my Singapore blog, the weather is dry but not so humid because of its equatorial location so you will be needing more moisturizers to keep your skin nourished and moisturized (something that I didn’t know back then). So the drastic change in weather kind of triggered the acne breakouts when I came back from SG.

It was so bad that when I tried this rejuvenating kit, my face got swollen like Majinboo (Majinboo is a Dragonball Z character; you may search Google for reference) and I am not even exaggerating! We went to a proper dermatologist and my face went back to its normal size. The breakouts became bearable since then.

WHAT I LEARNED FROM THAT UNFORTUNATE INCIDENT

  • Always do a skin test before applying anything straight to your face. This was my biggest mistake. I should have applied a small amount on my arm to see if there would be any allergic reaction on the skin, but at that time I was impatient and desperate to have the breakouts gone that I would try whatever to rid my face of it.

  • I realised that my skin is actually sensitive so I should be mindful of the serums and cleansers that I should be using.

  • I became more aware of the skin care that is fitting for my skin type.

SKIN TYPES

One should be aware of his/her own skin type before buying and trying out different skin care products. The doctor’s prescription/advice is also helpful in the long run.

Is your skin type oily or dry? Mine is apparently oily so breakouts seemed to be a normal occurence. The descriptions are listed down in webmd.com along with the reasons like puberty and hormonal imbalance (if you are familiar with the term PCOS for women, this is so common), stress and too much heat or humidity.

On the website it is noted that you have the oily skin type if you have:

  • Enlarged pores

  • Dull or shiny, thick complexion

  • Blackheads, pimples, or other blemishes

I used to buy green tea skin care products being a huge matcha food enthusiast that I am, but I found out that it is not complementing my skin type (no wonder it isn’t working fully in my favor) so I opted for tea tree instead. Aloe vera is also helpful.

Watson’s department store offers a lot of face mask variation! Here’s Mediheal with free V and Jimin postcards!

Koreans and Japanese have such beautiful skin. One cannot help but notice how they don’t seem to have pores, (exaggeratedly speaking but) that’s how smooth they look on TV and in person. One factor that might be the reason here is the weather condition in their country. Another one is the quality of skin care products that their region can procure.

When we visited Korea last 2019, we kind of hoarded some face masks and other skin care products because they are less expensive in there and there are a lot to choose from (Etude House, The SAEM, Nature Republic, The Face Shop and Innisfree to name a few) especially in the shopping district (Myeongdong).


SKIN CARE PRODUCTS THAT WORKED (for me)

It took me quite a while to find a skin care routine and products that are perfect for me so you will be needing a lot of patience and you would get to learn more about yourself.

I tried a lot of products and skin care sets but one that’s worked for me is this intensive AC collection of the brand COSRX. Initially I bought it because it is being endorsed by my ultimate oppa, favourite Korean actor Kim Soo-hyun. (Half-kidding) Upon seeing the reviews, I was encouraged and the next thing I knew, I already checked out a set online for me to try.

The set includes (in the order of application):

  • Calming Foam Cleanser

  • Calming Liquid Intensive (Toner)

  • Ultimate Spot Cream (which should be specifically applied to the acne/mark that you are trying to get rid of)

  • Lightweight Soothing Moisturizer (finishing touches!)

It feels light on the skin and it is perfect for people with sensitive skin like me.

The AC Collection from COSRX with free calendar and photocards. Ha!

The ultimate acne eraser/remover? I would have to recommend Alba Botanica’s Acne Dote Oil Control Face Lotion. This is very effective if you are trying to let the acne dry and be gone the following day.

For a less expensive counterpart, people with oily skin type can also use Human Nature’s tea tree products. It is locally produced and is just as effective as the former.

Some skin care hauls!

Treat your skin with some calming face masks and feel the difference when you wake up in the morning. It gives off a nice vibe that may last the whole day!

Lastly, when your AC collection kit has worked its wonder, you can now opt to use Thayer’s witch hazel toner to maintain a clear and healthy-looking skin.

One should take note that what’s working on someone doesn’t automatically mean that it would successfully work on you. Some products could work and some could be “hit and miss”.

But let me share a secret: the best skin care routine… includes a good night sleep (proper rest) and hydration (drink more water!). Those never fail. *winks*

What’s your favourite skin care product?

Care to share your skin care routine?

Just comment them below and help a friend.

This is my take on this week’s prompt by @JonicaBradley (Beauty). I hope you learned a thing or two that you can also apply in yours.

Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors! Eternally grateful for you.

If you want to start writing about this week’s prompt and other previous topics, you can just follow these simple rules:

  • Write anything about the prompt

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words

  • Tag the lovely @JonicaBradley

  • Submit to the PromptlyJonica community

  • (most importantly) Have fun!

All photos are taken by me unless credited otherwise. The lead photo (BT21 TATA face mask) is a gift from a friend.

8
$ 3.23
$ 2.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @WanderingMedStudent
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 3
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

Comments

I used to do a skincare routine with a lot of products. Now, I only wash my face with soap and water since I am not always have been visited by our good friends. It's only the time that I am stress and sometimes when experiencing hormonal imbalance. I suggest you stick to your skincare routine now. Also, choose skincare products that have mild fragrance or no fragrance at all. :")

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you! Will do hehe. And yes, it is advisable to use those products with little to no fragrance. More organic and natural :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am too lazy to put any skin care for my skin, specially my face. But it is really important to know the type of your skin and skin care product na hiyang sa skin mo. Since pandemic at hindi naman makalabas, I am not too conscious anymore about my acne and blemishes on my face. Siguro out of insecurity nalang ako ulit gagamit ng mga skin care products hehe joke..pero importante rin kasi ang skin care for self care din at nakakaboost din ng self confidence kapag wala kang acne or blemishes sa mukha. But true beauty is in the inside nmn hehe. God bless po.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tamaaa. True beauty is inside. Ako rin, sabon at cleanser na lang ulit. Tsaka moisturizer na light hehe. Narealise ko na dapat sensitive tayo sa paligid lalo na doon sa mga nagsasuffer sa skin problems because for all we know they’ve been trying to treat it as well (lalo na kung sa hormonal imbalance na problem). Uso rin ngayon yung maskne dahil sa mga face masks pero for sure with proper care mawawala rin siya agad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry, sis pero natawa talaga ako sa Majinboo. But anyhow, we have to be aware of the skin products that we're using. It may be showing good results to some users but it might be the other way around to you.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ay totoo sis, mukha akong majinboo noon hahaha namaga talaga 🤣 buti over the weekend siya nangyari. that’s true, we should know which products would work best according to our skin type

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hays buti naman kung ganun sis. Haha kakatot pa nmn si majinboo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haay. Napapabili ako from time to time ng skin care set pero di ko magawang gamitin everyday. Buti di naman sensitive skin ko mostly blackheads lang need ko itreat from time to time. Daughter ko ang need niang acne solutions dami na nia natry. Will tell her about human nature :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yung Acne defense solution gel ni Human Nature effective siya, nakakatuyo tapos labo ng mga blemishes. Pero depende rin talaga, minsan hit and miss sa iba. Hopefully mahanap narin ng daughter mo po yung skin care na magwowork sa kanya. Mahirap din pag di nahihiyang sa ginagamit kasi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a teen and I never use a single skin care products except baby soup, because of my moody skin type coz sometimes I have oily skin and sometimes dry and sometimes normal. I rarely take care about my face and myself. Thank you for giving me some ideas , anyway I will definitely obey your advice.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, better be safe than sorry. It’s better to consult to the dermatologist for a good skin care, but usually sun screen is a must :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess thanks for your suggestion soon I will consult with a dermatologist for my skin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't do skin care, I'm a lazy ass lady HAHAHA but it's funny kasi some are still wondering and asking what skincare I used kasi makinis daw yung mukha ko tas maputi, tas wala kong ma sagot kasi minsan ko lang naman alagaan yug mukha ko BWHAHAH

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same! Ganyan din ako before hahaha mas nagpupuyat pa ko nun. Pero for preventive measures kung wala kang skin care na sinusunod, sun screen ang kailangan daw. Proteksyon sa UV rays, kahit na puro computer lang kaharap araw araw ganern

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so important to know which products our particular skin needs. And in these times of climate change it is very important to protect us from UV rays.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is so true! Especially if living in an extremely hot / tropical countries

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sa freckles ako naiinis e hahha.. Okay lang s complexion...oo need mag skin test lagi para sure

$ 0.03
2 years ago

di kasi ako nagskin test, namaga tuloy fez dati hahaha. Awww freckles. Yung iba nagmimilk bath yata hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A good sleep, washing your face at night and dehydrate that is the only skin care that works on me that I lazy to do.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, this usually work! We feel better as well. The only usual problems being encountered by most people these days are maskne (from wearing face masks all the time)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha! This is ironic. It resembles my last post po :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes I just saw (and commented on yours as well) We share the same sentiments about Filipinos opting to have fairer skin tone 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha high five po :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago