A Day in a Life

12 59
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

Life in a pandemic can be quite taxing and routine-y because there isn’t a lot to be done while just staying at home (or is it?) but it should not stop us from getting to enjoy the time that we have and spicing it up. You’re actually going to be surprised as there are a lot that you can do with the privilege of getting to stay at home (not everyone has the same opportunity, sadly) that you might opt to just do nothing at all.

Anyway, here’s how my day goes like on a normal work week:

I am a morning person.

Always have been. You’d think a change of scenery would change that but it’s become a habit that is hard to let go and I don’t really mind keeping.

When I was still in the city, I used to wake up so early in anticipation of the traffic that one may encounter on a daily commute to the office. A supposed 45 minutes to one hour commute can go as long as 2-3 hours if you are not on your luckiest days. I would leave our house at 5:30 AM only to arrive in the office before 8 AM.

Now that I am staying in our permanent residence in the province, my body clock is so used to waking up early and I don’t really mind. I don’t even need an alarm clock. My cats would usually “knock” and “meow” loudly on my bedroom door wanting to be fed and so I would get up early to feed them. Vivi is always hungry because she is pregnant so I try to feed her for as much as she needs to, whenever she’s hungry. That includes my other babies, Jingle Bell and Silver Bell (they are male cats but they also eat a lot).

I would also prepare a simple breakfast for my grandmother and prepare her morning milk drink.

Today I cooked garlic longganisa (a kind of sausage) for breakfast.

Mouth-watering!

I am not really a good cook per se, and I could only prepare simple dishes, most especially breakfast dishes (I mean, fried food and all). I also enjoy a bit of baking but I am yet to go back to baking again after my pneumonia diagnosis.

I may have already mentioned the things that occupy my free time on my previous blogs, one of which is available and you could read here.

I used to bake sweet treats, cookies and cake. I do crochet and simple amigurumi projects. I am learning to play several instruments like the ukelele, the piano and kalimba. I used to play these mobile games along with my cousins and I enjoy that a lot. All that while having a 9-hour day job (sometimes even longer when we have urgent submittals).

My pregnant cat resting on the table.

Today, since I am on a noon shift and my work won’t start until 10AM, I had the time to go back to my roots and have a quick morning walk around our place. Mainly, the reason is that I am visiting one of my grandmothers who is kind of feeling sick (not of COVID but you know how delicate our bodies can be as we grow older? Added to the fact that we are prone to having these age-related weaknesses) and I am bringing the milk supplement that I got her.

I don’t really go out because as you may all know and as I have previously mentioned, I got diagnosed with lower right lobe pneumonia so I only stay indoors, drink my meds and rest if I am not working or doing said newly learned hobbies. Anyway, I am feeling extra better (only coughing mildly occasionally still but overall, feeling better than usual) and almost healed. My antibiotic medication ends today too and I’ll only be continuing the cough allergy med and other Vitamin C supplements. Thank You, Lord!

So going back, after feeding my cats, I went ot off to walk around and it is very refreshing. There’s a slight drizzle because of the storm in the past days but nothing that we cannot manage. Seeing green calms my heart and soul.

(So here’s a little photo spam from my walk, I guess)

You can see huge trees and old, widely used roads that reminded me of my childhood as this is the place where I grew up. There’s also a fish pond and several ornamental plants as this is one of the sources of living of the people living in our area. We used to sell ornamental plants too, but that was when my grandparents are still young and strong (and alive, as my grandfather isn’t here with us anymore).

It’s a cloudy, drizzling morning

Everything feels different and yet the same. There are newly renovated houses and structures that are not there before, but the core still remains. The place still brings peace in my heart.

It is still what I call my home.


Sometimes we look too far ahead that we fail to appreciate the now. It feels nice to be back.

Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty

Let me just grab the opportunity to thank all my sponsors who are still here, supporting me through and through. May you be blessed with every great thing that the universe may give you.

I am still finding it hard to think of a certain topic to write about that’s why this post is so random. But I’ll try to write about the prompts that I may have missed during my writing hiatus of sorts. Or, do you have any suggestions, maybe?

To a world that is yet to be explored and to staying grounded,

A

All photos are taken by me.

6
$ 3.26
$ 2.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 3
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

Comments

That's a lovely home you got there. The net in one of the ponds looks like a black lady :D I too am morning person. I like to witness how everything comes to life. I pray for good health for you all.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

it does look scary at first sight 🤣 that’s nice! I also appreciate the sunrise

Thank you so much! Praying for good health for you as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

super ganda ng atmosphere sa inyo, napaka peaceful and fresh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeys, chill chill lang sa probinsya hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan napapansin ko if maaga ako matulog napakatagal kong gumising pero pag matagal akong matulog napakaaga kong gumising hays ano bayan hahaha. Ang sarap naman nung chorizo🤤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha totoo! Minsan pag maaga ka natulog maaga rin ang gising (mga madaling araw pa lang 😆)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your walk to your grandmom seemed great and your place is nice. It is good that there are lots of trees around. Have a great day and hope you will totally recover from your pneumonia. Ingats!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much! An update: i am feeling much much better and not coughing anymore. Thanks again for the well wishes!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to know that you're feeling better now. Take things slowly, and keep getting as much rest as you can. Vivi is so cute. And about the writing. I think it's fine to just write whatever thoughts flow in your mind. It doesn't need to be always a specific topic. ;) Take care!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe that’s true. No pressure on writing, just say what’s on our minds.

Thank you so much! I’m getting better and already healed now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm both a night owl and a morning person. I'm a zombie hehe. Musta na po pakiramdam mo, sis? Pagaling ka po.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha nice! Same, kahit anong late matulog maaga pa rin gising 😅 parang normal na natin 5 hours hehe

I’m doing better, thank you so much. Halos magaling na 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago