What I Learned After Reading The Percy Jackson Series (Ebook Form)

13 51

As many others, I myself like to read every once in a while. It kinda refreshes my mind a little, also it enhances my vocabularies. So it's kinda time for me to feed my brain some food in the form of new words, or new experiences. Sort of, because everytime I read it's always a new experience or a new adventure for me.

So that's why my favorite genre is always fantasy. Or the fiction series. One in particular that I was curious about is this Percy Jackson Series. I mean, a movie titled "Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief" that's released in released in 2010, is what started this curiosity of mine. Though way before this movie I've been extremely interested in the Greek Gods. Like I grew up watching Disney's "Hercules". And yeah I love everything about it including the singing part, especially with the muses haha.

Greek Mythology often varies in description or definition depending on the author's perspective. I mean like I have here like 2 Greek Mythology in Ebook form and I can't even understand each one haha. Because these two are very different the way that they were aligned. And it was my mistake of reading it both at the same time. So to make up for it, I then moved on to the Percy Jackson Series.

Percy Jackson Series

If you've watched the two movies, (Percy Jackson), you might know what this is all about. And if you haven't, you're gonna have like a lot of questions. Starting with, "who the heck is this Percy Jackson", and "why do I have to mention him too many times",you might ask.

Well he is the main character in the series. He is a demigod or otherwise known as half bloods. He is the son of Poseidon, the God of the Sea. And if you're aware of the Big Three in the Greek Mythology, Poseidon is one of them. The other two are Zeus, the God of Gods, and Hades, the God of the Undead or the Underworld.

Now this series is all about the adventures of Percy Jackson from his normal mortal life to the life of a Half Blood, the Children of the Gods. They're called a half blood btw because their parents are a God and mortal. And again if you've been reading Greek Mythology, you'd know that every once in a blue moon just kidding, once in a while, the Gods would spend their time on Earth feel in love with mortals and have children with them.

Also this series is composed of 5 books in total, so if you ever got the interest to read them, I'd suggest you'd free up some schedule because it's gonna take a while. Or atleast that's just me, I read in my vacant time so it took like a month starting from book 1 because I'd have to recall some events in the book and compare it in the movies. So I kinda had the time to rewatch the movies again hahah.

These are the 5 books of the Percy Jackson Series

Okay so let's go to the topic at hand...

Lessons Learned

Curiosity is Dangerous

As we all know the saying that goes "Curiosity k*lled the Cat". Which means bad things often happen to the ones pursuing their curiosity on too many things. Such as is the case of the main character in this series, Percy Jackson always gets him and his friends into trouble everytime he wants to take part in the prophecies. And yeah, prophecies were a thing in this series, all thanks to the Oracle, Delphi.

And if you don't want to end up in any kind of trouble, do yourself a favor by managing your curiosities in life. Yeah of course, curiosity is good once in a while but not always. It almost often leads to trouble and if you're not careful you might get hurt.

A Parent’s Love is Always Genuine

Being a God isn't always easy. Let alone have children that you don't always have time to spend with, due to conflicting rules and regulations, that's been set up to keep the God's and their status' leveled. Such is the case of Hermes, the Messenger of the Gods in this series. His son, Luke, a demigod in this series, happens to believe that his father never loved him. That he abandoned him and his mother all alone. That eventually lead him to like an antagonist to this story. Though in reality, his father is doing everything in his power to help him. He just doesn't realise it yet.

And also for the Big Three; Zeus, Poseidon and Hades. They might seem rather almighty and proud, but they each have soft spots for their children. (Oopsie, didn't wanna be a spoiler there hahah. But yes, the Great God of the Underworld has kids of his own. But I'd rather have you read the series to get to know them better.) And as many of you might already guess, (because I kind of said it earlier, Percy Jackson, the main lead, is the son of Poseidon. And Zeus, the Great and Almighty Zeus, God of God's, has a daughter of his own, her name is Thalia. However she died while on her way to Camp Half Blood, in hopes to save her friends, which she did. Btw Camp Half Blood is what they called the camp for half bloods or demigods. It's basically the safest place on Earth for them in the series. It's also where they would stay all year long and train to become heroes, worthy of their parent's acknowledgement.

Destiny Doesn’t Always Mean that our Future is Sealed

As I've said earlier, the main character Percy Jackson really can't control his curiosity and if often in trouble due to he urge of him finding out about the whole prophecy. Especially when he hears the prophecy from none other than Delphi, the Oracle. But of course, we all know for sure that prophecies, destinies don't always hold our future. We are the only ones who can determine our future and the only thing that seals it, is our actions. So let's be careful in everything we do, because choosing the right path isn't always easy.

Friends will Always be There for You

As you can always see or read in every movie or books, the main character always has his allies, often referred to as friends. And in this case, Percy Jackson is friends with Grover, a satyr who is like the scout for new half bloods out there. And they have to bring back to camp in one piece. Also Annabeth, a daughter of Athena, the Goddess of Wisdom. And of course, Luke, the son of Hermes.

But then again, this friendship with Luke is shortlived as he went to the dark side or dark forces, to rebel against his own father and all the other Gods. The reason for this is that Luke believes are no better because they couldn't even acknowledge their own children's existence. But as we all know the God's have their other business to attend to and also the set of rules that's been there to ensure peace and order for their reign.

And if you've been able to read the entire series by now. (I'll just assume you did even you hadn't yet.) You'll know that whenever the main character goes on a quest, his friends will always be there to help him. And make sure he is able to return back to camp safely. And it just goes to show us that whenever life get tough, you know you'll get through it all when you have good friends by your side.

Looks Can Be Deceiving

As we all know Ancient Greek Mythology, the God's would often disguise themselves whenever they're near humans. So normally humans don't know who or what they are because they put a mist in front of people's eyes. Often disabling their sense of sight to be precise. So looks can be very deceiving in this story. Because you couldn't really guess you're already talking to a God unless you see some things mentioned about them in literature.

As I was reading through the first few chapters, I had to rewatch the movies to see how humans cannot see what the main characters usually see. And I guess you might have also your own imagination for each and every God's appearance too. I also have some for them as well. But how well they are described in this story is very much different haha. And I guess I also picture the ones who play their characters in the movie. And some of the characters that weren't featured in the movies, I'd just have to imagine them on my own.

Great Power Comes Great Responsibility

Being a God means you'd have immense power. But that power is not to be taken lightly. As you could either let the Earth flourish from that power, or you could completely destroy it. And the same is meant for the demigods, especially the kids of the Big Three. Each of the Three Gods have truly immense power unlike any other. That's why together, they defeated their own father, King of the Titans, Kronos. (I see that you may have guessed the spelling to be incorrect, but this is based on the novel. You can also search it on Google but the spelling would be a little different but the story is entirely the same.

And the reason why prophecies were such a big deal in the stories is that it tells the future of the God's or most likely Olympus, the Home of the Gods. (Spoiler Alert: The reason for the whole idea is that one of them, one of the kids of the big three, was prophesied to either help them or completely destroy them.) And if the God's were destroyed, what stands for the fate of humanity?


Author's Notes

So there you have it guys. Again I'm so thankful for all those who give me a little bit of their time to read my works. And I'm sorry if I haven't updated in about a week or so. The reason behind this, was because me and my family happened to have suffered from a fever. Yes all of us, but let's save that for another story.

Ps. Sorry if you guys have the trouble of understanding some of my words or probably a whole stanza of my work. Because I was drafting this for a few days already. Still am a bit disoriented at the moment because my papa still has the fever.

Sponsors of YourGirlNana
empty
empty
empty
And please check out the works of my amazing sponsors.🥰

I'd never get tired of thanking each and every one of my sponsors. Thank you so much for your trust and support for me. God bless you all.

Lead Image

Also Disclaimer:

Everything I said in this article is purely based on my own understanding of the whole series. If you've read the series as well, and do not seem to be in an understanding with what I've written. Feel free to correct me via the comments section so I could atleast change the things I've said.

7
$ 2.54
$ 2.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Jinifer
$ 0.02 from @jasglaybam
+ 1
Sponsors of YourGirlNana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

halaaa this is my first time reading some Percy Jackson article and I truly enjoyed reading this one. I've watched all percy jackson movies, tas yung book lang na nabasa ko is yung The House Of Hades, my cousin's book nabili niya nong Big Bad Wolf sale.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow hehe happy to hear that you enjoyed reading this review po hehe. Hehe the movies were really though I wished they added some more key features from the books. And regarding the house of hades of po hehe I'm just starting to read the whole series. It's a sequel to this Percy Jackson Series. It's called the Heroes of Olympus. And the sequel to this series is the Trials of Apollo. Which I'll also be reading soon an then I'll make a review of them too hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas nauna kong mapanood sa movie kesa mabasa yung nasa books. Pero maganda din talaga to noh sis. Fascinated kasi ako sa mga Greek and Roman Mythology e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe same po tayo ate. Nauna ko mapanood yung dalawang movie bago yung mga novels. Tsaka Ebook Form nga lang ang nabasa ko heheh. Tsaka iba talaga yung dating ng mga roman at Greek mythology eh. Balak ko naman sana mas maintindihan ang sa norse mythology at yung Egyptian.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me vi la película en el cine y ahora que tu haz hecho esta publicacion me gustaría muchísimo leerme todos los libros. Gracias por compartirlo con nosotros. Saludos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi you're very welcome. And glad that you were able to see the movies first. I do hope you get to read the books and let me know how it went. Thank you for the compliments.

Hola, de nada. Y me alegro de que hayas podido ver las películas primero. Espero que puedas leer los libros y hacerme saber cómo fue. Gracias por los cumplidos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great write up sis. I do like movies like Percy Jackson, I like Greek mythology.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe thanks for the compliment ate. Hehe glad you liked it. Hope I enticed you a bit to read the books.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure, I wish I have a copy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Miner's in ebook form. Would you like me to send you one? Though I'm not sure how I can contact you po heheh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? it is jasglaybam at gmail dot com.....thaaaaankkk you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe sige sis send ko sayu ang 1st book.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yey!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago