A Letter for Papa

12 38

This was kinda inspired by @Eybyoung's article entitled "Dear Dad. (sorry for the tag sis) You can read her article HERE guys.

I've been devastated reading her article and then I felt a pang in my heart knowing that I've taken my Papa for granted. I've never realised how lucky I was, that he was here with me all my life. Though in the first few years of my life he was like not physically here with us because he had to work overseas in Saudi Arabia back then.

And I figured, maybe I needed to write him a letter. Though it has been so long since I did once. I'll atleast try, because I had no present for him. Somehow I wished this would make him glad and it's also a way for me to address certain with him I wish to talk about. Though I never really got the chance to. Also spent a few days figuring out what or how I should begin with.


Hi Papa,

First of all I'd like to greet you a happy birthday. Gosh how time flies so fast, one minute you're still in your 40's and now you're 60 years old already. Though you don't look like it hehe.

Hehe I know this isn't the way you wanted to be greeted. I'm sorry but I really am a little bit nervous expressing my feelings so much, I stutter or I can't even form a sentence right let along greet you in person.

And I'd promise myself to greet you the soonest I see awake. But then earlier I bumped into you, as I walked out my room to drink water. And all my courage left me dumbfounded and more likely confused. As to how should I react, or how I would begin my greetings or if I should hug you first or after.

So I thought I'd write it this ways just like how I always write to you on the post cards I make every father's day back then haha. Even though I really am bad at it and you didn't seem to value it as much either as you just let it slip into a corner. Glad my Mama has seen I guess that I saw it again in the cabinet where she usually stored all the glassware.

I don't even know how to begin untangling my concerns with you Papa hahah. As I've said I'm really bad with words let alone expressing my thoughts and emotions into a sentence or a whole paragraph.

Btw I saw one of the post cards you sent to Mama years ago.

First things first, I hope you change.

I know you're a responsible father and a good provider for us ever since and even until now. But one thing I hated is your addiction to alcohol. And yes, I know you never laid a hand on us even while drunk. Still, I'd want you to stop because aside from me being all the time with you being at home drunk, I still care about you. And I would still want to spend more time with you more than ever. So I don't want you to have trouble with your health especially now we're on this time of the pandemic. Please listen!

Image from Unsplash.com

Second, working overseas.

Though I thank you Papa for raising me well. For providing for us. You even had to endure being apart from us for a very long long time by working overseas. Especially when I was born. As a child, I never understood why you had to go with that decision. I always resented that you were never there for me half my life. I admit I loved it when you come home with presents for me and chocolates but each time you depart from us it was harder for me because I know I never get to see you again for a long time. I even relate to one of "Treasure Planet's" songs "I'm still Here". Because that's how I felt each time you leave.

Third, about the responsibility .

I admit back then I valued material things just as much. I didn't value money much when I was young because I never knew all your hardships back then. Or I did, but I turned a blind to all of that. And I get awed everytime you had some new furniture or perhaps a sound system home because to me it was way cool. But now, we suffer because of it. Especially my older siblings. You know for a fact that being the eldest is a great responsibility for your family you'd have to shoulder everything. Which is why I couldn't get why you let Ate shoulder it all knowing that she might never make it the same way you did. And I had to be there for her as her emotional support everytime she breaks down.(I'm enjoying it, though it's really hard to comfort her via the phone, because I couldn't hug her. I couldn't be there for her.) I know she can be very mean with her words at time to show she's all tough but on the inside she's as fragile as a glass.

But then again we're all adults now, which means, we do have to take responsibility for the family. And thanks Papa because we never would've been who we are right now if not for you being there for us. Especially me heheh.

Most of all, Thank you Papa.

I know my early pregnancy wasn't exactly the news you've been hoping to get from me since I'm the youngest. But you still accepted me despite of that, you even comforted me when Mama and Ate were lashing at me over the phone when the news came out. Kuya had to take all the lashing from there because you guys knew too well that I couldn't get all emotional because I am at the middle of my 2nd trimester that time. And baby Jr was born. You couldn't be even happier. I saw how you treated him as yours. The way you always spoil him the way you spoiled us. The way you would alway be in between when I get furious with him especially now that he's toddler, exactly like how you would be our defense when Mama was angry.

I really wouldn't be able to raise my son so well if you hadn't been around. I know I've been hard on you lately. Because I've been with Mama and Ate and Kuya all my life. And suddenly being departed from them because they each had to work in order for us to keep up, especially when you retired. I blamed you for that, and I'm really sorry Papa. I know you're trying so hard each and everyday to somewhat provide for our needs also.


Though there's so much I wanted to tell you about, the thing most important is that I really couldn't be any more happier that you're my Papa after all. I wouldn't trade you for anything. I know you and Mama have some problems lately that you rarely ever talk. But I hope you wouldn't give up so easily. Especially now that our family is starting to grow even bigger. I wish you and Mama stay together for a bit longer. I know you love her. You always did. I was a witness to that. Because we wouldn't be born after Ate if you guys didn't.

Have a wonderful day papa. I love you and I know you would always celebrate your birthday on the same day as mine even though we're a day apart. You would still insist on letting me have the party. And for that I truly truly regard you as the Best Papa in the world any girl would ask for.

HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY PAPA! I LOVE YOU! WE ALL LOVE YOU!

Image from Unsplash.com

Lead is from Unsplash.com


Author's Note:

Again I'd like to express my gratitude for all who've spent their precious time reading this. And special thanks for all the people who've supported me. The people who sponsored me, that really inspired me very much.

Sponsors of YourGirlNana
empty
empty
empty

Here they are folks, you can also visit their respective profiles by clicking on them. They each have interesting articles. So be sure to check them out!

And if ever feel the urge to be my new sponsor, I'd be very honoured. Please do click on the button above. I promise I won't let you down.

Again, thank you very much for your time. And have a great day ahead. ❤️

8
$ 2.44
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.03 from @jasglaybam
+ 3
Sponsors of YourGirlNana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Happy Birthday to your papa, sissy. I can feel your words just by reading it, so deep. I wish your Papa can read this. This is so amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po heheh. I meant every word talaga. At pinabasa ko nadin to sa Kaniya kahapon hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday to Papa. I felt the emotions I read through, I do hope he is able to overcome those challenges. I love the bond you and Papa shares. It would be lovely if he's able to read this as part of his birthday gift, words can only say so much, the rest falls to a writers expression.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I really meant every word I said. I already showed this to him yesterday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great at least you realized how blessed you are that you have a father unlink others who don't have one like me.. happy birthday to him, hope he'll live more years with you all so you can spent more time together..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Your story was an eye opener for me. I really he could live more now that he has grandkids already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, I really hope your papa gets to read this. It may clear out the misunderstandings, especially the times you've been hard on him, when you shiuld have respected him. I know papa loves you, and you love him, too.

Not everyone had the chance to have a hardworking father. We are all so lucky we had dads that supports us in any way they can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis. Actually I showed it to him earlier but he only read the first few stanzas. Because he was in quite a hurry. I hope he reads the rest of it later. Yeah, we're very very lucky to have such a very loving father.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would surely make him happy. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sure it did too heheh. He was kinda puzzled at first. But when I said it was my work. He laughed hehe. I don't know if it's a "job well done" kind of laugh or it's really funny kind of laugh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every child's relationship with his father is different. The father is usually called the roof of the child's head. And the child’s relationship is purely a love affair.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I agree. And we're lucky enough to have a father by our side always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago