Not all Superheroes wear capes

17 74

Lead image source

From the title, you'll most probably have idea of what the article is about.

I've always loved Superhero movies. In my family, there were constant arguments about which production was better: Marvel or DC

Image from pixabay.com

Image source

Most times, I couldn't even differentiate between them. But I knew most (if not all) superheroes.

I was marveled by their mystical abilities and often wished they were real. They would've spiced up our planet, Earth ( maybe also cause some havoc here and there lol)

I would love to trade places with Louis Lane and have Superman take me above the clouds to bask in the sunlight. Or Iris, so I can go back and forth with The Flash between geographical zones within a second. Diving into the deepest oceans with Aquaman would have been a lovely experience. Then I realized why I didn't need them, when I have one right here at home. My very own superhero. My mum.

Sponsors of Yinye_xo
empty
empty
empty

Meet my amazing sponsors. Love you both 😊❤️

I've always pondered what's its like to have a child(ren). Having to clothe them, feed them, change diapers twice/ thrice everyday for about two(2) years. I've always imagined myself living in a wealthy home while doing these things for them but it still doesn't seem easy.

I have younger cousins and whenever they are around, it's my duty to attend to their needs. It's really tasking and tiring especially when they stay for days even weeks.

So how is it to be a mother of five?

In a non-wealthy home?

Only a superhero can handle such.

No one knows that she also possesses mystical abilities. She handles all her activities and never lags behind.

Who without superpowers can run over three different hustles, attends church activities and still cook for her family?

She deprives herself of comfort and extravagances in order to provide us with maximum comfort and ease.

This isn't to say our relationship is always rosy. She's known for showing tough love.

She told me a story about when I was younger.

Well, growing up, we were not allowed to take anything from anybody ( family friends inclusive).

As a young girl, I was outside and a neighbour offered me a bisciut called "Noreos". I took the packet and ran up to my parents to show them. What I got was not what I expected.

I was "given" three tiny strokes of cane( which was actually not really painful at all) but I cried my eyes out. The next day, I saw the same neighbour and she called out to me, "Onyi, how are you?"

Onyi / Onyibaby is my nickname at home.

I was so angry because she was the reason for my being flogged the day before.

I replied at the top of my voice, "Don't call me oh, don't call my name. It's because of you gave me biscuit that my mum beat me yesterday"

She was so shocked at my outburst.

I laughed when I heard this, I couldn't believe that I was this confrontational.

It was a lesson learnt.

These story and many more have made the bond between my mum and I stronger than ever. A bond stronger than the one between Batman and his butler, Alfred.

She can neither push cars away to save a trapped child nor hold buildings up so that hostages can escape. But my mum pushes us to achieve our goals. She holds us up when things seem to be falling apart.

I've always wanted to acquire a skill and hair styling was my thing.

My mum has always been my lab rat (and my brother).

I try out every style with her hair.

Screenshot of one of my many styles

I told her I wanted to learn more but she was against it and advised me to consider tailoring. She made me understand that since I'd be going to school soon, I'll find students that'll cherish it more. And I'd find both male and female customers.

In all, she persuaded me to give it a chance

It was then I compared her powers to Doctor Stranger's because she predicted the future. I don't see myself quitting tailoring anytime soon as I have a lot of things to learn.

Looking back now, I think I enjoyed my mum a whole lot more when I was younger. Whenever I fell sick, she would buy all the junks she wouldn't buy a normal day. And silly me, I'd reject all of them and request for pap.

Pap is fermented cereal pudding popularly made in Nigeria.

I could go on and on.

But from these, I figured out that I have a cape-less, wingless Superhero, one without claws and weapons.

She's my superhero of all time. I couldn't ask for anyone else.

Hey lovelies, how are y'all doing???

Do you have a SOAT (Superhero of all time)??

Let's find out in the comment section ❤️

It's really late.. Got to go

Xoxo💞

Love @Yinye_xo

September 8, 2021. 23:30

13
$ 0.29
$ 0.10 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 5
Sponsors of Yinye_xo
empty
empty
empty

Comments

She is truly a Super hero. Mothers are priceless. I'm sure she is proud of the lady you're now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The real superhero's are the ones you see daily like your mom she does her best to feed you whenever you are hungry and does the laundry she is a hero admire her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will always admire her.. I love her so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love her so much too, let's pray they live to see the fruit of their labour...have a great day ahead

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You and I share the same thoughts, my mother is my super hero, thinking about what she had done for me, my only prayer is that God keeps her to enjoy all the fruit of her labour and more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray they live to see us succeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are lots of superheroes I admired as a kid, but they ain't real. We have real-life heroes around us. Our parents are our heroes, the medical personnel that battled the pandemic are heroes, the Soldiers who go out to protect us from destruction from the enemy are heroes...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to appreciate them more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yee, we do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's myself :) I always save myself from trouble lol..Your mom is lucky to have you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks ❤️... You're a superhero too❤️.. it's not easy to be one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤love this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The real superheroes are the ones without capes!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And they are the best of ones

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope we also become wonderful superheroes to our children 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will...we have to learn from ours first

$ 0.00
2 years ago