Never listen to the small devil.

9 63

Procrastination... Putting things off to another time

I've always compared procrastination to laziness. And came to a conclusion that procrastination had little or nothing to do with laziness.

In my opinion, procrastination is like a disease. It's like the music worm that got into SpongeBob's head and refused to leave. It gets settled like a second skin.

While growing up, I was always putting things off to later. On various occasions, I'd not wash my school uniform till late in the night. My sister constantly complained to my parents, she did not understand why I was like that (Honestly, I don't understand either). I'd promise her that I'll change but it'll always be for a while then I'd go back to it.

Then one day she told me a story. My sister attended an all girls' missionary school, so the head of the school was a reverend sister.

Well back to the story.

The Reverend sister was fed up with students coming to school with torn and badly patched uniform. Then she said to them, " Big things started off as little things. Most of the big holes in clothes were once little tears here and there. You were supposed to fix them at that point in time. Then the small devil visited you and gave you reasons to do it later. It was up to you to ignore the small devil. Instead, from what I'm seeing, you welcomed his idea whole- heartedly. Well, you all must buy new uniforms."

That year, the price of a full uniform set was quite pricey. So I could imagine the number of parents of the students that kept trooping into the school to make complaints.

Then my sister proceeded to say that whenever I put things off, the small devil is talking to me and I always listen. That really got me thinking.

It was a big problem I had to deal with. I wouldn't read my books until it was time for my exams. Then proceed with the 'fire brigade' approach. And whenever it went downhill, I'd say, " Well, I'm a teenager and teenagers don't have regrets"

Thinking back now, I've realized that I didn't regret the things I did rather the things I didn't do..

One thing I've noticed, procrastination gets in the way of getting other things done.

As a teacher once said," when you have something to do and you decide to procrastinate until the last minute, it causes a ripple effect across other events planned for that day or days to come"

I didn't understand at first, so she explained further. She said," let's take a boarding school student as an example. There are assigned chores to each student. If a student wakes up and she dawdles while everyone else gets their chores done. By the end of the day, she'd have noticed that while everyone had an organized day, hers was the exact opposite. The reason is, while her mates were doing their chores, she felt she had enough time to do hers later. So for the rest of the day, she kept doing things at the wrong time."

Overcoming procrastination can be just as hard as overcoming an addiction.

It takes a lot of determination, will power, time management and importantly, self discipline.

In this generation, there are a lot of opportunities at our disposal. Opportunities within arm's length and all we have to do is reach out.

So wherever you are,it's high time you got up and focus on unlocking your full potentials.

Heyy dearies, how've you been?

The weekend is almost here, what do you have planned?

Well, see you in my next article.Byee

Love @Yinye_xo

August 27, 2021. 21:30

7
$ 0.14
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.04 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.02 from @Greatwolfman
+ 1
Sponsors of Yinye_xo
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I agree with as procrastination is surely a thief of time You got so much experience and indeed there are just few people who can say they had never fall into such a pit. Take for example to make a post on the platform I would always feel like I am going to do them later not until the day is over and I would achieve nothing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly.. and then start feeling like you wasted the whole day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reality. But your write up is a mind boaster as I learnt my lesson from it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like the fact that I can relate to this..hahaha...fuuny thing is even though I procrastinate I still get things done. The Spongebob's episode still creeps me out till this day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is still my best episode πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love this! 😍 I hope I stop listening to this small devil😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you πŸ’“

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's right, like my mum would say, "procrastination is the thief of time"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mum hates Procrastination so much. I wish I could be like her

$ 0.00
2 years ago