From one religion to another: How I choose to leave?

13 44
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

I thought of this article because of the article of @renren16 about her stand on her belief when it comes to spiritually and I agreed on what she mentioned there that religion can't save us and what only matters is our personal encounter or relationship with Christ.

I was born Roman Catholic because that's my parents religion. I grew up being exposed on religious activity when I was in elementary until college. When I was in Elementary we are in charge in facilitating the mass in our chapel and I also try to join the choir, but because I am not lucky to have a good voice I gave up and just became thier support. When I was in High School I am a member of the youth organization in our parochial church. It is called ILAW which means Inspiring Love Always Within and the vision of this organization is to bring Christ into the heart of men.

I was so active on that youth organization until college and attend different lessons to learn more about Christ. We meet every Thursday to pray the rosary and to do the como esta. Every month we organized a retreat for youth and I am one of the garden watchers. Garden watchers are the ones who prayed continuously in the adoration chapel for the success of the retreat. I also experienced to talk and stand in front of the participants and explain why do we need to pray the rosary. We I finished my college study I go to Manila to look for a job and my journey of faith stopped.

I managed to attend church every Sunday even if I am in Manila but my belief was slowly change when I met my boyfriend that time and he started to talk about his religion which is Iglesia ni Cristo. To cut it short , I converted into Iglesia ni Cristo. At first , I am not convinced with thier teaching when I attended thier doctrine but as I listened and attend church every Thursday and Sunday I felt the peace and the holy spirit every time I'm inside the church. My belief changes in a way that thier teaching was based from the bible but there's also a few beliefs of them that makes me confused.

After a year me and my boyfriend broke up but I still continue attending Iglesia ni Cristo that time and promised to Tatay , our destinado that time that I will attend the baptism. But thins didn't work according to plan because after a couple of months I met a guy that I became my boyfriend and he was a Roman Catholic. He told me to stopped attending church and there's a happening that time that makes me convince to stop but I will not shared it here because I respected the members of INC.

Two year of life has no spiritual activity and as much as I want to be back , like what I said on my previous article I was eaten by the worldly perspective and because of that I just go with the flow and forget that I need Christ in my life until I met my husband and he's the one who help me to be back in Christ. He was born Roman Catholic but converted into Born Again Christian. For the first time I experienced to have a relationship who's center is with Christ. I became open minded and start to attend one to one. One to one is like a doctrine in Iglesia that you need to finished before you had a baptism.

In two months time I will finished the one to one but I got pregnant. I was so disappointed with myself and I don't want to attend church but my churchmates hug me and comfort me and I will never forget what Gwen said to me. You know what Yen? Each of us commits mistakes and one day those mistakes will be your testimony.

I attended the worship service that next day and as I was walking going to the chair infront of the church I had a goosebumps feeling thinking that I am not worthy but God telling me that I am not. I was crying the whole time while singing the worship song and lift up my hands to him.

As of this moment , I am not attending church because I have two toddler to take care of but even if I didn't attend church I know in my heart that I have God and still try to be a woman of God but I still looking forward that someday I can be active on the church again together with my family, worshipping the Lord together.

7
$ 12.23
$ 11.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I believe that whatever religion or belief you have for as long as we are serving one God, it's fine, after all, you've said it right, Religion doesn't save us, it's the faith we have in God. The only thing that people should learn is to respect others beliefs with that I could see a better world to live in.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ako maka relate dito kasi never naman kasi pumasok sa isip ko mag convert and I am satisfied in serving God my own way up until today kahit may baby nako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry Ma'am Yen ngayon ko lang nabasa, nag attend kasi kami nang bday ni BB aj namin.(cousin ko).. Anyways, thanks sa mention. Ramdam ko talaga yung appreciation niyo sa article na ginawa ko kanina.. Nakakatouched.🥲

Hmmm.. As for me, when I still in High School masasabi ko na naging active member naman ako sa youth org namin nuon, pero kalaunan, unti-unti na naman akong nawala sa track at tyaka dahil na rin sa pabago-bagong sched nang activities sa church. Di nga rin ako masyadong uma.attend na ngayon. Kaya bottom line, hindi ko talaga masasabi na maka-Diyos ako. Ang sad lang din nun! Tas napakamakasalan ko pa.🥺

Pero kahit ganun, malaki ang pasasalamat ko kay God na, despite sa lahat nang pagkakasala ko sa Kanya, hindi niya parin ako pinapabayaan.😇🙏Feeling Blessed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahal nya kasi tayo kahit gaano pa tayo makasalanan ♥️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yun nga Ms. Yen... 😇❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, I would do the same just as your husband. Religion should not be a hindrance of love. And I saw that in you with your partner. Stay in love and strong. Good morning!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat ♥️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Your husband is truly a blessing to you, mamshy! Glad that he's religious and helped you on your way back to Christ. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed , he is a blessing talaga sis.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I'm confused kung ano ang pinapaniwalaan sa Iglesia ni Kristo, pwede pocba magtanong kung bakit po madaming bawal?.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahat naman ng rules nila e naaayon sa Bible hehe. Basta lahat ng sabihin nng pamamahala e may kaakibat na Bible verse , tulad nung bawal kumain ng dugo o kaya hayop na nabigti , yung bawal makipagtipan sa hindi kaanib mga ganon hehe.. maiintindihan mo yon kapag nagdoktrina ka sa kanila. Si @Kingofreview INC yan sya hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ako hndi palasimba.. Pro hndi ibig sabihin na I don't believe in God or whatsoever.. Anytime anywhere pwd naman magpray.. magserve kay gad..sa kaht anong paraan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo naman yun , ako hindi nadin nakapagchurch now

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago