Breastfeeding Myths.

41 112
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Hello everyone. You all know guys that I am a mother of a little baby boy and he's turning 2 years old this October 3 πŸ’ž I am exclusively breastfeeding him by circumstances. Yes, by circumstances because it was not in a plan that I will breastfeed him because our plan is that after I gave birth, I will back to my job and my mom will be the one who takes care of him.

Those plan didnt happened because my little one doesn't want to feed by bottle. He wants my milk gold and my boobie πŸ˜„ I have no choice but to resigned and breastfeed him. It's been 2 years since I stayed in the house to be a full time mom.

Phot belongs to me.

As a first time mom, I dont have any knowledge about breast feeding. I only rely on my parents knowledge and do the research sometimes. But it seems the knowledge of my mom is different from what I searched on the internet. Its seems that those were breastfeeding myths πŸ˜„ It's so hard to tell them that its a myth. Every time that they advise me to do this or to do that, I dont know if I follow them because I know in my self that it's not true and no scientific basis.

Here are some of the breastfeeding myths that my mom and my other relatives told me πŸ˜„

1. Kanin-ulam ( the rice and viand myth.

Our neighborhood told me. When breastfeeding , you should offer the both breast to your little one because they believed that the first breast is for rice and the other one is for the viand. When she told me that, I asked myself how did it happened πŸ˜„ Definitely its a myth because the only thing that the breast is producing is breastmilk. Not a rice, not a viand, and not a water.

2. Dedeng pagod ( Exhausted Breast)

I am doing household chores during that time and my little one wokes up. I want to nursed him immediately but my mother said I need to rest first because my little one will absorbed my tiredness through breastmilk. Again its a myth. How can a breastmilk be tired?

3. Dedeng malamig ( Cold breast)

This myth is according to what the mother drinks and eat. For example the mother drink a cold beverage or eat ice cream. They said the coldness of the drink will transferred to the little one through breastmilk. Though those food and drink that the mother consumed will go on the stomach not on the breast πŸ˜„

4. Dedeng may sakit ( Sicked Breast)

When the mother got sicked. They believed that the sickness will transferred to the little one. They didnt know that you need to nursed your little one because they need a lot of antibodies coming from breastmilk to avoid sickness.

5. Dedeng lasing ( Drunk/Intoxicated Breast

Your little one will not feel drunk if you nursed him while you are in the influence of alcohol. Just be sure to drink moderately and you can take good care of your little one.

6. Dedeng nagparebond ( Rebonded Breast)

You can do rebond or dyed your hair even if you are breastfeeding mom. The chemical on the item used while rebonding will not transferred to your breastmilk. If the chemical is to strong you can put a showercap while breastfeeding so that your little one cant smell those chemical. But for me, I choose not to dye my hair when my little one is newborn. I dyed my hair 3 months ago when my little one is already 20 months old.

7. Dedeng gutom ( Starved Breast)

You can nursed your little one even if your starved. That starveness will not transfer to your little one, in fact your little one will become full when you nursed him/her.

8. Moringa

I know Moringa helps to boost the milk supply but dont be so over acting in eating malunggay. You can also eat other vegetable. You need a balance diet to be able to produce a lot of milk gold.

Those myths are few example of breast feeding myths in the Philippines which I encountered during my breastfeeding journey. I know some of mothers here experienced this too. Can you share some of your experiences? I will appreciate if you will share it in the comment section.

30
$ 5.90
$ 5.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Not for old people like us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is clueless about those but all i know are the foods that boost the milk production in mommies

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, there's a food that can boost the milk production. I do research on it before but I dont know if its true hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Malunggay at least, and those high fiber and calcium foods

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am a fulltime breastfeed mom. I only use a bottle for my kids during withdrawal. Yes they are all myths.. We also have here about a warm breast specially when we came home from the field. we need to wash our breast first and press it to release the old one stocked in the breast for hours.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? I dont know about that hehe. So there's a milk pala that stocked hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

As they say haha.. But maybe, because i can feel my breast getting fuller after long hours of no feeding from my baby

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. And it hurts when its full hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

full that makes it hard as a rock 🀣I use a hot compress to ease the pain and the milk flows involuntarily.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I experienced that when I went to Manila for my clearance and I leave my son on our province. Mga 6 hours yon. Grabe. Yung damit ko basa na πŸ˜… Nung nasa bus ako tumatagas na gatas ko sa sobrang puno haha. Kawawa baby ko non. Dinidropper lang yung gatas ko na hamd express. Wala kasi akong choice diko sya pwede isama. 4 months palang sya non hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

That's were mothers little sufferings about breastfeeding, when I feel my breast getting refilled without my baby, it reminds me of him/her and suddenly thinks if they are crying at that moment and feeling hungry or not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Andami! It's sad that I only breastfed my baby for 3 weeks because I could not produce enough and after we brought her home she got too skinny but when I feed her formula that's when she looked better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Formula fed babies is more bigger than breastfeed one. It's okay mommy, minsan hindi talaga makapagbreastfeed yung ibang mommies pero kung desidido ka makakaya mo hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Pinilit ko sis pero wala talaga, pero okay na din kasi di naman sakitin si baby. At least naranasan ko din kahit saglit langβ™₯️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga. Ganon talaga. Yung iba naman inverted yung nipple nila

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yes, pero kahit ano pa man ang pamamaraan natin ang importante is healthy mga babies natin☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yung dedeng pagod haha. You can't even look at your baby when you're tired at mauusog mo daw. Andami nating paniniwala at kasabihang mga Filipino! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True momsh hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hmm, mararanasan ko din to, soon, charr. Pero grabi, dedeng lashing πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes haha. Sabi kasi nila naipapasa daw yung alcohol tru breastmilk πŸ˜„ Ayan alam mo na. Pag nag asawa ka hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Haha. Pero di nan ako umiinom kaya safe. Pero baka sa kunsumosyon mapainom, di maiiwasan yan pag nagkaasawa kana ee, so dapat talaga e take note ko to 🀭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those are just myths. Pero it somehow affects the breast milk production especially when you try to starve yourself.. Lahat ng intake natin has its contribution sa pagprocess ng breast milk inside our body kaya siguro may matabang, maalat at matamis na breast milk

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Siguro makakaaffect sa milk production pero hindi maipapasa yung pagkagutom hehe. Sabi kasi kapag daw gutom ka tapos nagpadede ka hangin lang daw makukuha ng baby tapos magkakacolic.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hahah! Hindi naman ganun. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article loveu bro..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dedeng lasing, dedeng nagparebond. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ It made my day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lalake ako, pero ewan ba't ko ba binabasa to? HAHAHAHHAHHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A child needs to his/her mother for a better life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mga matatandang gawain pero true daw yan ma'am. Breast feeding Myth somewhat is helpful. And reliable also. But for high reliability rate always consult the experts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I dont believe those e. Mas naniniwala ako sa mga pediatricians and breastfeed advocate. Nakamember kasi ako sa group ng breastfeeding Pinays haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Opo-opo yan ang mas maganda. Proven and tested kasi yan. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May mga ganon pala? HAHA Di ko knows to thanks for sharing Mamsh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo meron hahaha. Kaya kapag nag asawa ka alam mo na myths lang mga yan ah haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

pag nagkababy ako wala ng dede-de kanin na agad Mamsh haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Memes yun ah πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

HAHAHA! all their beliefs are just myth but we have to keep our mouth shut so we won't offend them πŸ˜† The reason why we have to feed the baby in both breasts or alternate because if not the size of our breast will be unequal πŸ˜†πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True πŸ˜„ They always insisted their belief. Sometimes it annoyed me but I keep my mouth shut and pretending that I believed those. As for the nursing on both breast, my son always preferred my right breast. I dont know why haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Malabnaw kase ang left breastmilk, tapos sa right mas milky sya. More on water ang left I think. Me too but sometimes before talagang nasagot ako pabiro, pinagalitan ako asawa ko hahaha kaya simula non mdjo di na ako na imik sa mga myth nilaπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Breastfeed ka din pala? Hindi ko lang sure yung labnaw labnaw na yun hehe. Kasi minsan yung gatas ko din parang iba ibang timpla haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Oo nag bf ako for 3 months pansin ko kase dati mdjo malabnaw talaga kaliwang susu haha. Nung bumalik ako sa work di na nag bf anak ako ayaw na nya magdede sakin tinutulak na ako haha ang arti. tipid pa nmn sana kase ang dami kung gatas hanghang sa nawala na lang.

$ 0.00
3 years ago