Maybe spammer are getting the best of it now... Not so much for the rest...

16 60
Avatar for Yann.Poire
3 years ago

I'm quite new here 4 weeks according to RC profile page but from 1 week ago, I really had a go at RC. My first impression was like; Wow! Its quite lively in here and striving. I got carried on, that I could become part of something. So many communities and quite a stream of what looked like all kinds of posts and articles. Some of them seemed super interesting and deep. I was amazed and quite gullible and innocent at the first glance of these articles.

Fast forward a week later...

What I've notice now is that all these posts and articles that seemed interesting are for a part copied from some other sites. Even worse there is very little efforts to hide it. Or others are just badly written looking like puked gibberish with no other interest than the points it gives. But the ugly, the darkest side of it is, it seems that nothing can even really be done about it.

Another thing I realized is what I thought could be some nice photography communities and blogs is in fact some happy spammer taking crappy photos or even worse downloading them from the net and just posting them. A little sprinkle of inspirational quote again copied from internet. A little comment of how happiness there is in the air at that moment. Or it can be even better, guess what? A flower. But not just any flower, that flower among all other flowers. The one that will lead to some points to cash in.

As a photographer I think its a bit frustrating having spent several hours learning a craft. Spending a lot of money buying gear. Several hours to get the shots I wanted. And a few more hours editing these photos. All this to get almost no recognition other than "Nice", "I sub you, sub me", "How romantic", as well as 3 likes compared to a flower with 238 likes. Why? Because the site is flooded with low quality articles, posts and you have guessed photos. But mostly people...

Now I understand that mobile photography is a thing and I start to embrace it myself. But with the same spirit of getting that one great shot that will make me proud. Editing it to make it better. If you go on any other photography community. Most photos has to have a good backstory, express something, be edited and be described either in the process of taking it, the gear used or the story to get the shot. Here on RC, none of this.

Now this is MY OWN personal view of it. I don't want to sound like a purist or snob, or someone above in photography, which by the way, I stopped professionally anyway. Some great photos does pop up on the site so don't not feel that I put all in the same basket.

Now you! Yes you reading this!

If you made it this far in the article without scrolling to the bottom to write; "Nice", "I will try that brother" or "That is so romantic". Keep on reading as it concern you.

Now the part that not concern just me, but all of the community here.

Here are some graphs from the stats part of the platform. Yes! That button in the top menu named Stats. Even tho you might not be into graphs I invite you to go have a look.

In a sense it means it is taking off and people are coming to the platform. But are they all people who will bring quality. I really have doubts here.

So down to the graph i found interesting and that should interest you too...

Now what do you see?

What I see is that spamming is killing the platform. I can open up the first page of Read.Cash and see that half is low quality articles. I can also see that comments are another place spammers are cashing in YOUR points and YOUR BitcoinCash rewards.

If you see what I see is that there is not much value added lately in quality but that the fund is melting. And if you extrapolate this a few weeks more and a few months more. It might have dried up. Will you still post here? Will you still feel it is worth your time when the last crumbs will be scavenged by the last spammers? When your articles will be diluted in the stream of low quality content getting hundreds of meaningless comments?

But how can this happen so quick?

Here is a screenshot of one of Read.Cash post.

Now I dont know the story behind him or them being banned?!?! I think there is a purpose to it... I think is to leave more points to the others... Anyway lets have a look at the rest.

Keep in mind this was posted 4 months ago and updated 2 months ago. Before September where there seems to be a big spike in new accounts.

Already then it was said points are hard to earn and confirmed. Also that it is not a fund in the traditional sense. Means they do not hold and spend the money from whoever pledged. They can cancel also at any time. And this bit is quite important. Means they can withdraw their funding at ANY TIME if they feel this project or platform is going nowhere. As stated it is also a way to bring people to BitcoinCash but I guess not many knows what that means on the platform as they only see points and $ sign.

The last highlighted sentence is what is drying the fund quickly. Any action here can give you points... Let that sink in... And now think about all the time you let spam slip, you where afraid to downvote or to block spammer, that you didnt tag a comment as spam. And to all the new users since last month.

Now what can be done?

Again I am new to the platform but believe it is a great idea and project and I would like to see it thrive past what it is now.

What we can do is to be ruthless to spammers. If you block them they CANT comment on your post. Now I dont know how effective is reporting or flagging spam comments. I have seen no one being a RC general admin, moderator or anyone taking care of complains. There is also no section related to the team and no support link or whatsoever. What this mean is; it is down to the users who believe in it to handle this for now.

Do downvote, do block users, do review and revise who you are sponsoring, go have a look at profile if you are unsure. Do a search for parts of article when you are unsure. Leave insightful comments or engaging ones to the the post you like so you give a chance to the author to share more.

In the end BE RUTHLESS to the spammers as the platform is dying in a very sad way everyday this keeps on going.

You liked what you have read?

Now as I think this should be considered a true article of moderate quality. Help a newbie here. Give my article a like, share it and go see my other ones (a big 4 of them as I am new), subscribe to my profile; I sub you, you sub me plz :P, respond to my comments around and leave one here. And why not, tip or sponsor me if you can. That would motivate me quite a bit i would say. As well as a good feeling of accomplishment. Because as much as I am hyped about this community, I can see the darker side as well. Hope my interest continue as I like the platform and the fact that it can help people understand and use cryptos.

And at last... Sorry for the lead image but this is how I feel to spammers ruining it for others. Image credit: Upsplash Search on RC.

22
$ 0.79
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of Yann.Poire
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yann.Poire
3 years ago

Comments

Comments for what, that is what really happening ....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not sure I understand your comment...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I emphasize that on you post you nailed all about the platform and difficulties facing in here not more space for comments, I hope we can find a solution for all this spam, low quality posts... But I also believe that this won't be a easy battle!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh ok sorry... The beginning "Comments for what" got me a little confused. A lot was moving and already being done at the time I wrote this a week ago or so.

I think the day after this article got published many got muted for a few days and some got banned. I think a few more people expressed themselves at the same time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

[Removed comment]

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You explained well the situation her and you're right. But as of now, the site is getting better as the spammers laid low... i think it was a good idea to haunt them down. The queen had left which actually made me guilty as I'm one of the hunters. I believe we can give her a second chance if she only asked for apology... but at the same time, her disappearance makes other spammers to stop spamming.

Let's just hope this to continue and bring back the old rc we've known when we signed up here. For sure everything will get back to normal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm astonished right now. You just have opened my eyes. OK, I'll try to downvote spammers... but first, I'm gonna withdraw my points! :(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No need to withdraw your points! They are converted to your wallet once a day in the form of BitcoinCash or BCH. Once there they only change value if the market for BCH change but the points are already converted. But yeah we have to unite against these spammers as they are slowly killing Read.Cash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well read.cash banned himself because he broke his rules. he banned himself to make a point that no one is above the law or something like that. he posted an article regarding a contest that he feels is against the platform rules. I mean, he thinks that the contest has personal attacks and insults to other people. And that is against the rule of the platform. then the issue fired up to a point where he said things in his last post that are against his own rule. so he banned himself. But I bet, he still moderates the platform though.

It is true when you say there are a lot of low quality articles here now. not to mention spammers. there are also a lot of them right now. And it is giving disgrace to the platform. They don't realize that eventually when the donors think that this platform isn't good enough like less good quality articles, less good writers, they might withdraw their donations. Remember some are investors and people don't want to invest in gibberish contents.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very detailed article. as long as you obey the rules there's no problem

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sub me I will sub you too🤣🤣🤣. A good point dear, you should be the leader here🤣 You know some users in here just really don’t want to report some spammers. I think mainly because their just kind🤣But they don’t realize what is happening.

$ 0.00
3 years ago