The story of Magkang Bridge (local story)

40 56
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Story
This was drawn by me few years back and I'm glad I saved it in my facebook album because my old phone got broken. So the capture shows It's an old model phone.

I have heard a lot of creepy stories about bridges from my friends. But I have here a love story. A legend from our folks about a bridge that was located in our locality. I have no phone that the time I arrived here in my hometown when it's still made of sturdy wood so I guess i can't help to show you the old one. I will just manage to show you this drawing as it was connected with the story.I drew it when an elementary teacher asked me to do it so she can have a compilation of native stories with my illustrations. It doesn't look good but i hope it served it's purpose. ๐Ÿ˜…

Magkang was a giant, believed to be a fearful one but has a good heart. He was once inloved to a very beautiful maiden in the barangay of Talubin.
One day, he tried his luck to sought for his happiness and courted the maiden. But the young lady doesn't like him so. She gave Magkang different difficult tasks but all of it, in the end, the giant accomplished it successfully.The maiden was so worried.

In the end, the maiden thought of something very tough mission to give to the giant to fulfill. She gave him the task to make a bridge in order to connect the village that was separated by a large stream. Magkang was to finish it before dawn or else there won't be courting anymore so this will be his last chance. Magkang accepted the challenge. Why not? He loved the young lady so much that he will do everything to win her heart.

On the other hand, the maiden sought for help to Lumawig, the god of heaven and earth to let the sun shine when she saw that Magkang was about to finish his task before the dawn. Fear surged into her heart as she doesn't want to marry a giant. Lumawig granted her wish and let the sun rise in the heavens.

Magkang felt sad. As he watched the sun rose in the sky, while he was almost done with the bridge, he felt defeat.He stopped doing his task and slumped in the foot of the mountain mourning for his loss.

However, Lumawig felt compassion towards the giant. He then decided to transform Magkang into a normal human being, that way, he can live normally with the one he loves.

By becoming a normal being Magkang courted the maiden again and served her with every task in their house by collecting firewood, pounding rice, hunting game from the forest and many more that the maiden can't ask for anything else.

Before the year ended, Magkang and the maiden got married and they lived happily ever after. The wooden bridge remained and it lasted for how many years. The bridge then was named after the giant's name "Magkang Bridge" .

While I was on my way to the field and was walking alongside the mainroad, I had a glimpse of our bridge named "Magkang". This was the modern one. But few years ago it was made of sturdy woods that can stay even many typhoons had passed. Not long when it was changed into an iron bridge to be able to hold heavy equipments to pass through for constructions of main roads and widening of highways from our village to the other part of the province. But the name still remain. ๐Ÿ˜Š

The bridge looks like this today. It doesn't only served as connection between broken barangay but as a main path and a mainroad to other provinces.

>Xzeon<

13
$ 1.58
$ 1.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 3
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Story

Comments

The story has become much better. I have learned a lot about the story. I have realized that those stories must be good. I will give you more beautiful stories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Give me one then...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the stories about the legends of our people. This is a happy story for the giant and his eternal love.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah... A different one from creepy stories about bridges...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow,,, just amazing story.. It's really nice article... Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang cute naman kaya nong drawing mo, yung drawing ko nga ang iba ๐Ÿ˜ฃ.

Peeo ang ganda naman nyan, lalo na puro berde kapaligiran. Gusto ko sana makita ung itsura nya dati, yung gawa sa wood pero di matitibag ng bagyo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you... ๐Ÿ˜ Nmiss ko rin. Tsaka mas maganda noon. Ang linis ng paligid di tulad ngayun, dumadami na ang mga bagong produkto kaya naibabasura na ang iba na syang nagpapapangit ng surroundings.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay, bat hinahayaan lang nila. Dapar pinapanatili pa rin nila ang kalinisan at kagandahan nyan. Pata pag may turista, pwd magpapa picture. Kung ako gacapture ako ng gacapture ng photo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nagmomodernize na kasi ang mga pipol, mayron nang lumalabas sa mga city ayun, nadala nila pauwi ang maling ugali. Oo pag may dumaan na mga turista lagi silang nagpapapicture.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Papa picture din ako pag napadaan ako jan. Pero gusti ko sana doon sa parang hagdan hagdan ,๐Ÿคฉ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice topic. Great story. Keep writing Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Off topic. Nireport mo na ky Simon yung acct mo na namomoved to spam?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi pa rin ba nagshoshow comment ko.? ๐Ÿ™„ Nireplayan kita kanina pero 1 hr. Ago na yung message mo bago ko nakita. Do you mean hello readcash? ... First time ko maspam at magreklamo, sinong simon? ๐Ÿคญ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mulhang okay na..nakikita ko na comments mo..bka bug lng yun..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haay salamat... I keep on checking back my comments after refreshing but i want to make sure if it really shows.. โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bug lng cguro yung or bka finix ba ni simon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mabuti naman kung ganun... Mas worst ang maspam kesa sa walang tip kay random rewarder๐Ÿ˜…thanks for checking๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Np. Ngayon nmn si Nhelvimi may issue tulad syo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay... May bug pala talaga.. Kelangan din niyang mag email. Hopefully mawawala din yan... ๐Ÿ™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Madami kyo. Worried nga ako bka kmi ang sumunod lol. Mostly old users.. Ang iba spammers tlga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would have loved to see what the wooden one looked like but i guess I'll just Google it later. The goddess was very kind to both of them and it's cool that there's stories like that around where you live :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just remembered while scrolling my fb photo. ... ๐Ÿ˜.. Yeah there are others but i am lack of complete info. Since i didn't grow in here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You could ask around sa mga matatanda or yung dyan talaga lumaki? Would be cool to read more local stories from there cuz wala talaga sa manila :"""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anyway is my comment hidden still?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Doesn't seem like it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aswang meron for sure jan... ๐Ÿ˜ I will do that... I have some other stories but i need to capture a photo of the center of or the main reason why the story was made...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Corny naman ng ghost stories nila :< I'm gonna wait for those when you publish them. I think i should know some local stories too ;;-;; i still live in this country, after all plus all the stories we have are always mythological of sorts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Depende siguro sa delivery ng istorya. Meron ding naiiba na hindi mo mapepredict agad ang kalalabasan. May uniqueness kasi ang local stories. Katulad nung may mga journeys ng local heroes gaya ni Lam-ang, i love reading fictional stories like that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Siguro nga. Those gabi ng lagim books were so boring to me and i need to know more local stories ;;-;; i don't even know who lam-ang is :"" but i do love fictional stories too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is this legend put on textbooks? If not, I think it should. Its good to read legends and share it to the new generations. Legends nowadays have been forgotten.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Only in our local school. I think there are selected teachers that are given the task to collect native stories from their own barangay using their own dialect and translate it to english.. as i have heard it's about indigenous promotion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will read it when I get home.. im on town to get bby for a chek up... This was the story I have not yet heard, or maybe I did but forgotten

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maam Bella was the one who compiled the story in our dialect and english. She showed the book to me after printing. There are others but i can't remember. Only the one i have drawn and that hunter who married the star on your story. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have not heard about this one๐Ÿ˜.. anyway, u did great on painting the old wooden bridge..it looks exactly like that one. We used to play by the stream because it really is clean, but am very afraid of crossing the bridge because seems the strong current under it has a pulling effect. growing up I learned it was the effect of gravity. until I get used to it, then I can finally run from one end to the other when we go to jemang during ani

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜…Chaarr.. Haba ng hair, trying hard though. Oooh how i wish you had the photo of it that time. I can't find it in google or facebook either.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah, you can't find it on google ksi wala nagsulat about it siguro lalo na at d xa sentro, unlike the chico bridge. toz ang picture noon, mahal kya ung mga importanteng okasyon lng nagagamit. Grade 1 or 2 ata ako nung fully constructed ung bridge ngayon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah specially when it's not that famous. There's a creepy story about that Chico bridge. So if it was constructed when you were young, it means it's not yet 50 years old before they reconstruct it now. ๐Ÿค”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The old magkang bridge? I dont know how old it was when it was reconstructed..actually, the old was located near anti Helen's house, not its location today. When the new one was being constructed, I can remember the foreman with 12 children who brought his family with him. I will try ask my moder when was the wooden bridge made. Because as I can remember, she told me a story when she used to cross the stream with her puppy when she was younger. I cant remember if it was in maggang or in pingiw. As for the short story, I think mam Bella made it coz I never really heard about it๐Ÿ˜.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I mean the chico...

So i heard... It's old style. I can only remember when i was just a child then. Or maybe you weren't told about the story. I also read it from my daughter's classmate when she left her assignment at home. (deden) I wonder where she got the story. And from Maam Bella she got it from story tellers she included it in her compilation if i am not mistaken they are our old folks. Only Janet T. was the youngest teller. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜I guess so.. The chico bridge which was destroyed by Lawin, I don't know when it was built but my father was one among the laborers. I never asked if it was the time they came from Sangbay when their kallapaw was burned to the ground or when he was still not married. I have not heard a story about the bridge. If you have noticed, before lawin hit and partially destroyed the old bridge, there were posts from the older bridge which Lawin was also able to topple and carried by the strong current. Write the story of it..

$ 0.00
3 years ago