The day my son had his circumcision

13 122
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
2 years ago

The act of circumcising; especially: the cutting off of the foreskin of males that is practised as a religious rite by Jews and Muslims and by others as a social custom or for potential health benefits (such as improved hygiene) Merriam-Webster

In the Philippines, circumcision is called  TULI in Tagalog while we call it "hegyat" in our vernacular language. It is said that circumcision is a door into adulthood among males. I remember throughout the summer season is here when various groups from different organization visit our barrio to conduct free medical missions. It incorporates free medical check-up with free vitamins and medicines, free dental and free circumcision. As the days go by, medical missions were held in our town in Bontoc during Lang-ay Festival. A festival where different municipality gathers to celebrate our culture.

A year ago and this current year was different since the pandemic has influenced our nation, any type of mass social affair is disallowed to guarantee the wellbeing of all people from the Covid-19 infection. From that moment, a mother like me in our barrio are being concerned since it will cost nearly $50 charge when we visit private clinics for circumcision and $5 or more for dental expenses aside from doctors fee. Even though there are local people who can do the job I can't guarantee the safety of my children if at any time there's a risk.

Luckily, when I got back home a week ago, I was surprised to learn from my oldest son that there were youngsters from our local area who has gotten down to the hospital and has undergone circumcision along with their folks and guardian. My son suggested that I should allow my youngest son to get circumcised too yet somewhere inside I needed my child to choose if he wanted to get circumcised or not. Anyway, he is still so young l thought, I would prefer not to force him or any of my children to be circumcised because it may cause them a phobia of getting hurt. I realize that eventually, they will decide sooner particularly when they will be bullied by the individuals who are now finished with the interaction of circumcision and will call them "kuyyop" or "Support" in Tagalog when they knew someone who hasn't been circumcised🤣.

A parent may realize that having a son is different from having a daughter. The contrast in requirements and consideration when they grow up. There are conditions like these that you need to help and deal with them when you arrive at the phase when they turn into a man and a lady.

I was inspired to compose this subject when my youngest child was circumcised a couple of days back. However, due to busy days, I just completed it today since I posted my past most recent article rather than this one.

Certainly, I wasn't there during my eldest son's most significant day since they were on holiday with one of their cousins in the other province. I didn't realize he was circumcised not until his auntie, my sister-in-law called and enlightened me regarding it. Happily, she was there to wash their new cut and would remind their medication consistently. When he came home, he was excited to tell me that he was circumcised at last. We have been scheduling him for circumcision a lot of times but it was always postponed due to unexpected happenings or unavailability of the practitioner.

During my second child's circumcision, he requested my authorization first if I will permit him if he needs himself circumcised in our locality. This kid is so much manly that occasionally he was mistaken as a rogue😅. I doubted at first however after he told me that a lowlander or Ilocano that came to live in our locality as a carpenter was the one he wanted to do the job and finding out about how he knew well about circumcision, I permitted it. He even accompanied my son into our home since I can't go with them because they will do the process in the river. He gathered young guava leaves and pieces of cloth that he cut and showed me how to do the replacing of the dressing and the washing of the cut of my child. So that was my first ideal opportunity to encounter washing my child's jewel😁.

The most recent experience was with my youngest son a couple of days ago that sadly, I wasn't available because we have a bustling day around in my working place. I planned our visit to the hospital the following day however my son was excessively excited thus not to ruin his excitement and upon the idea of his older brother that he would be the one to accompany him to the hospital since he needed to buy a new belt for himself, I let them go.

When I am in my working place I was so restless and was so eager to know how was it going. My youngest boy was the youngest among my sons who were to be circumcised at the age of 7 running 8 this July that I am worried about his reactions if they get to the hospital. Now I am regretting why I allowed them to go. I am glad that fortunately it went well and they only have an issue on who was going to sign as guardian since my eldest son is still a minor. Luckily my husband's brother-in-law was there to accompany his son so he was the one who signed the form as a guardian. He was even so generous to treat our kids for a meal and paid for it. Likewise with the fare until they all arrived back home safely. I am fully thankful for his deeds. It was a fruit of being good to them also especially during planting season that I always helped them in planting in their ricefield without asking for labour. Now I know that it was one way of repaying the kindness we were showing with each others family.

When I got home I approached my boy how was he and he replied he's ok. His dad called a few minutes later and wanted to see our son's picture only to find out that he is wearing his dad's favourite shirt.🤣

This boy is just so shy to have a picture to show to his father. 😅

I saw the stitches in my kid's skin the next day. I never saw one since it's locally done during my second child's circumcision. I attempted to wash it with guava leaves boiled in water with salt for quick recuperating. He cried when we attempted to eliminate the dressing since it adhered to his skin and it's really difficult if we force to remove it, so we sprinkled water on the gauze first so it will be drenched before attempting to remove it. I expected his response since he was still young, unlike his older siblings who hold down their tears when there's a pain because they thought of themselves as big boys already. 😅

I left for work afterwards. The following days when mostly the kids are still in bed when I leave the house, it was his older brother who washed my youngest child's. wounds. I only have to remind him of the medicine his brother should take after waking up. At this moment the wounds dried up but the birdie of my son is still a bit swollen. My son wanted to wear pants already but I didn't allow it.

That's all for today.
Thanks for passing by.❤

05/31/21

>Xzeon<


....

5
$ 11.39
$ 11.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 2
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Bat parang ang sakit kahit sa picture ko lang nakita. 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha ay siguradong masakit buti na lang hindi tayo nagtutuli ng babae. 🤭Yays ang sakit kaya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least sila, yan lang masakit eh satin we go through a monthly period so don't ever tell that women are weak. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi po ako relate dito haha. Pero nung bata pa ako nakikita ko mga kuya ko na nakapalda or malaking shorts para hindi masalat sa private part nila. Yung isang kuya ko pa tumakbo nung tutuliin na siya, kaya next year na siya nakapagpatuli haha. Mabuti po at yung anak niyo e matapang hindi na kayo nahirapan pa kumbinsihin. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha dami nga kwento ng anak ko habang nasa ospital daw sya. Kasama nya kasi cousin nya anlakas daw ng atungal. Nang lumabas, ang gulo gulo na ng buhok. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. May mga bata nga raw po na nag iiyakan pag ganyan 😆 buti lang at brave anakis niyo hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas nakakhiya kasi ang umiyak baka tawagin silang bakla. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga din po hahaha matutukso pa sila, lalo kung mga kaibigan kasama baka hanggang pagtanda na yon HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far, Hindi naman dito. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey big boy na diz, atlis you were able to look after your 2nd son and JB.. as for me prang it was a shortcoming for my side na I was not able to be with alto. That's why prang sinisingil q ung tatay nya after ksi d man nya mabigyan ng tym anak nya for this special event na minsan lng nangyayari sa buhay ng isang lalake. Thankful n lng aq at laging anjan ang tita nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag mo sisihin nag self mo. Andyan pa naman si Graeden bumawi ka na lang sa kanya. Sakin nga parang normal na sa akin. Simula nang nagdecide si Jeslie magpatuli ng mag isa 😅.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abaa, atapang abata naman itong gwapings na ito. Umiyak baga? Haha. Parang ang hirap talaga mag nanay ang damo dapat gagawin, ayaw ko nalang talaga mag anak 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di naman daw sya umiyak sa hospital pero yun lang alisin na yung dressing bahay dun sa nya sugat para matanggal at mahugasan e medyo makirot nga naman kaya umiyak. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago