My Greatest Gift

13 40
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Write, Happiness, Family

For a starter, I never experienced celebrating my birthday since childhood and I carried it up to now. I always envy kids in our neighbourhood who celebrates their birthday whenever we are invited and I have to witness how they blow their candles. In school, parents brought free foods and treats during their sons/daughters birthdays that made me wished that time to experience it even just once. It never happened. However, I received a gift during Christmas party in school and I feel happy but there's still an emptiness inside.

Those were simple memories of my childhood. When I got older, I became used to it. I never felt what a real gift looks like or what it feels like to have a gift during my birthday. But as I become a matured person, I came to realize I was wrong all along. I had those gifts given to me aside from material things. The love and sacrifices my dad is giving me is one precious gift I had overlooked and I looked forward to repaying him when I grow up, that was my greatest challenge to myself.

Everything went wrong when I got pregnant at an early age, due to rebellion against my guardian in the absence of my adoptive parents. I assumed I lost it all. I expected more misfortunes will follow and acknowledge life we're all misery. I never thought of getting married at an unexpected time but what can I do. I lost my path, there's no way out, no turning back and there was no one to cling to. I was tempted to do something cruel about the baby but I was glad my conscience didn't allow me. I just cried thinking about my mistake but realizing there's nothing would change, I fought my tears.

I wondered why I felt something deep within me when I think of the tiny living creature inside my womb. When my bumps became visible, I was feeling unusual. There was a sudden excitement in my heart. The last semester became more exciting. I can't count how many times I fold and unfold the little fabrics in my hands. I became interested in chatting with my fellow mom about giving birth and other baby matters.

Then came the most laborious day. It's so painful that I can't prevent the tear that slipped from my eyes. It took me eight long sleepless hours before the pain began to shorten its intervals. Local medical attendants we're summoned to assist me in my labour. No electricity in the house at that moment so the attendants need to hold the lamp near me. Unfortunately, as the babe that was about to come out was checked, it's head wasn't the first to show out but instead toes we're visible! Everyone panicked and so am I. In my innocence, I asked what's wrong?

My husband arrived with my brother and his companions. I was quickly fastened in a large blanket and was carried up to the main highway where a private vehicle was parked. No stretchers were available at that time. I felt an excruciating pain in my back and belly and seems the baby wanted to come out that very moment anytime and I wanted to give birth to this baby safely no matter what.

I was starting to lose a lot of blood and became weak but the hospital is 10 kilometres away. I told myself to hold on and after collecting my breath and holding to my husband's hands, I joined the extreme pain and released my breath inwardly. Then a slushy warm thing was released below. At last, the damp small bloody babe came out. I can't figure out what they are doing in my tummy after birth that it still hurts but I was overjoyed. I was more worried, is my baby ok?

Everybody was saying my name when I became pale and closed my eyes due to losing a lot of blood but it seems I was in a deep dark tunnel. I can hear them but seems they are far away. I wanted to rest. In my thought, I wanted to hug my little angel and imagined whispering to her ears. I will start a new life with this greatest gift I ever had with his father. Before I lost my consciousness I heard her sharp cry. I smiled with contentment in my heart.

The gift didn't end that day. 5 more gifts followed the following years and I am very grateful I didn't let myself lost the battle between conscience and crime a few years back.

This is my answer to @Eirolfeam2 's $1 question about WHAT'S THE BEST GIFT I HAVE EVER RECEIVED. You can click the link below if you are interested.

https://read.cash/@Eirolfeam2/celebrate-my-21st-birthday-with-me-16e0f52a

>Xzeon<

10
$ 4.73
$ 3.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Eirolfeam2
$ 0.03 from @Jeaneth
+ 1
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Write, Happiness, Family

Comments

6 heaven-sent gifts are truly a blessing. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So your baby was in an irregular position too like my sister. They say tjose are dangerous because the baby might get suffocated if the cervical muscles close when the baby hasn't even come out completely yet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes that is true. Also when the foot separates from the other. I never expected it because i followed the advice of veteran moms in here to have a regular exercise and prohibit me to eat too much sweet and salty foods etc... One thing that made me lose my blood easily was the absence of midwife in here that helps monitor pregnant women and give us free iron supplement which i do not know the first time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well the first ond is always a lessonnlearned kind of thing and hopefully it wasn't like that with your other kids anymore? I don't know much about babies 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Only the first one.🤣 Others kids were delivered normal though different struggles too. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well childbirth is always a struggle but at least they're all safe and fine

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, they are... Though I am enjoying and at the same time having a hard time with them, it's my greatest challenge.😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really inspiring. I also don't receive gifts a lot of times but I really appreciate even just a small coffee cup gift.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

That's the way it should be. We must appreciate every little things we recieve. ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are a brave woman. You have gone through a difficult period, now you have your greatest wealth, children!

$ 0.03
3 years ago

I've overcome trials and obstacles. I am ready to face more. Thanks for stopping by❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a very encouraging personal story. Worthy of many mothers who give their lives for their children. I congratulate her on all the children that God has given her. May you have a prosperous and healthy life. A virtual hug !!.

$ 0.03
3 years ago

Thanks my friend for the wonderful message❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago