Every Single Penny Counts

49 69
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

During my childhood, I was fond of collecting stuff like beads, small toys, burloloys and anything that I think would be useful to me someday especially pennies of ¢. 25 that I find in the streets. Here in the Philippines, four 25 cents is equivalent to 1 peso or $0.021.

I remembered with that 1 peso alone I can buy any of these( 2 tablespoons of sugar, 2 tablespoons salted mini shrimp, 2 tablespoons salted fish, 1/4 cup oil, 1 piece of bread in the bakery, 2 pieces candies, I can go to the market with only $1 in my hand. I can buy me 1 kilo of rice and viand with my desired menu.

Unfortunately, I was shocked to find the prices here in our village to be so expensive compared to the lowland I came from. They will laugh at you if you ask how much 2 tablespoon of sugar is😅. They don't buy per kilo of rice in here but they buy per sack. Sugars, meat, salt and other kitchen groceries are bought per kilo and per bottle. My 1 dollar cannot buy not far than 2 bags of bakery bread (6 pieces each) 😁. I miss the old times, the old place, and the old memories wherein I can buy a lot of things with a small amount. If only I started to save that day until now I may become rich. 😅

All right my point is, back to the track, for what reason am I disclosing to you some piece of my recollections. It's simply that yesterday I was given a "thing" by an individual responsible for gathering cash from its members for reserve funds in a specific cooperative. In the wake of getting it and brought it home, I'm happy my children were glad to discover it after I handed it to them and they are so eager to install it at home, it in some part of the house, discussing where it should be put and considering their youngest brother likewise for him to reach at the thing if he has something to drop and share. Not a day passed and I heard something clunk. I grinned and realized that they began dropping a coin to their "treasure bank"😁. I consider it that way since it doesn't look like a piggy. Excuse the term.

I appreciate the initiative of the cooperative because they are encouraged to train our kids to save and value a single coin. They can soon understand and to realize that every single penny counts.

This is the name of the Cooperative we are in. We will be expecting a dividend of our share capital by next year 1st quarter.

I made it a habit to place a coin in a shelf or a small container every day. This time I have something to put my coins now.

Why was it locked? Well, my kids have their savings account in the cooperative so for them to feel that their money was being saved. Instead of handing them to me and depositing it to the cooperative and showing them the passbook, it is more motivating to let them see and witness how their money being counted after days of saving. Some kids don't feel the digits in their passbooks so it is much better if they witness it with their own eyes. The key was handled by the collector. If I requested for it to be opened, he will come and unlock it and count the money and make a receipt for it and will be directly deposited to the kid's account. Just as simple as that. The code number in the padlock was the same as the number of its key.

The padlock and the key have the same code The handler of the key was in the possession of the cooperative so we can't open the treasure box anytime.
I'm teaching my little girl to drop a coin in their treasure box😉.

◾PRACTICE to segregate even a little amount daily.

◾"Don't spend more than what you earn in a day."

◾I know some users who have a target amount to save in their savings account. So do, I but unlike them, I can't reach that amount quickly base on my family expenses so instead of being disappointed, I continued my goal but in a low stride.

>Xzeon<

16
$ 2.62
$ 2.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I also have a pighy bank since i like saving in a piggy bsnk than depositing cash in the banks. I also have a cooperative and it's nice. But you should teach yhem how to start a budget book or something and take them with you when you go buy stuff if it's allowed, just so they get an idea about spending properly too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a good idea. Since kids are not allowed to go out to public places yet, they ask me to buy goodies for them using their money and i need to imply that their money is not enough when they ask for more expensive one, I become firm to tell them to switch to something cheaper so that their money would be sufficient. I don't tolerate using the word "back up" for them only if it's very useful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You could always take pictures of the price tags of the things they want, just to make it easier for then to understand because before my mom brought a calculator when we did the grocery then she made us cimpute how mucjmh an item was as she was getting the item. Then she would tell us that if exceeds a certain amount, we had to stop or we had to remove some stuff from the cart. So we learned to be aware of our daily spending because of that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That would be beneficial. But what i do is saving the receipt whenever i purchase our groceries and base the price and write it down at home first.That way I don't get short in my budget. I don't buy new stuffs anyway. Always same product. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We were given a snack allowance when we were kids so the calculator was needed but i guess that's your way of budgeting and it's working great for you, hopefully? ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was shocked to find the prices here in our village to be so expensive compared to the lowland I came from. They will laugh at you if you ask how much 2 tablespoon of sugar is 😅

When my family transfered to this town where we currently live in, I was shocked when I found out that people can buy sugar for 1 peso and even half kilo of rice! 😅 They can basically buy commodities here for a small amount of money while in the place where we lived before, you'll be ashamed to buy just a kilo of rice hehe.

Anyways, it's really good to teach kids at a young age about the value of saving. I also do that before, I have a piggy bank but when i have it almost filles with money my mom will get the money and buy something so I never did it again. I'm saving but not on piggy banks anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Baliktad pala tayo🤣🤣🤣. I was used to cheap prices😁.

I also do that sometimes with my children, after breaking their piggy banks,but in order to gain their trust, if i borrowed from them i pay it back.

You save in your account and don't tell... 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In this moder world, expenses are increasing that's why we need to use our money with efficiency to ensure that no money will put to waste.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

When we were little we also bought 1 ice cream for 50 paisa, 1 chocolate for 25 paisa, I remember those childhood words very well

$ 0.01
3 years ago

😊They were sweet memories we can't forget.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is one good way to teach your children on how to be thrifty and saves money. They should learn to save as long as they are still a kid so one day when they grow up, they can handle any financial situation.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Right, with this situation getting harder day by day, they should be taught to be how to cope up with the kind of condition.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's good na maaga palang natuturuan na silang mag save. Madadala nila hanggang paglaki yan at matututo silang humawak ng pera without being a one day millionaire.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tama sis. Mga bata kasi dito kahit di mo utusan, marunong nang maghanapbuhay. Kahit mabibigat na trabaho ginagawa kaya mas may pera sila kesa sa akin😅.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay dinaig pa ako ng mga bata na yan ah, ako smkasi walang kwarta 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha ako nga din... Naghihintay lang sa ibinibigay ni mister.. Ako pa nga ang nangungutang sa mga bata. Kaya lang daig pa ang bombay kung makasingil😅🤣🤣. Pag sinabing bukas babayaran, bukas talaga. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahahaha, mga wais ay ano, haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.... Sis. Kung lalaki lang sana ako😁 di ako mawawalan ng trabaho. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naku, kaya na din naman nating gawin ang mga kayang gawin mga lalaki, di man lahat pero mau kaya silang kaya rin natin

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yown! 💪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My Lola taught me when I was young to save money and when I get my first job to save a part of it so I will not be empty handed. I'm good at savings and love ukay ukay so I'm very easy to please. I'm always looking for a bargain and will check prices in the shop. Every cents counts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha Ukay ukay is life, they are cheap but you can find quality items out of those pre-loved garments.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They got more quality most of the time and usually I bought ones with tag still and really cheap! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! It was brand as new! Even the Japan surplus, they are bit expensive but the quality is still ok.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is good to teach your kids the importance of saving while they are still young. My son has also a piggy bank but now we stopped putting money on that because of pandemic haha. And out of 3 piggy banks we only have one piggy left because we already broke the two. The one piggy is for our baguio trip Sana but it was canceled because of covid and the other one was the piso challenge, I already opened it without finishing the challenge haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

See the importance of it?. At least you saved something. Do you think you have something to break and count if you didn't save any? Baguio can wait kiddos. Let's pray it would be the soonest.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah hehe. All of my earnings in online selling and money earning app was put there. Ngayon nga Kung wala Lang Sanang covid siguro lahat ng earnings ko dito naihulog ko din Sana dun for the savings of my son kaso wala. Na pambili na ng bigas hahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Pengeng paying apps nga jan... 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi kona sila inoopen ngayon. Nag stick nko Kay read cash hehe. Pero dati yung toluna and lifepoints saka appen and microwork saka mga claim claim sa crypto yung parang coinpot

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ay akala ko may bago.. Ang hirap kasi noh.. Barya barya. Itinuloy ko yung coinpot ko tsaka cointiply. Minsan nga lang. Pipeflare at Horizen ang faucet ko sa ngayon. Matsek nga ang microwork kung merong bago😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Talaga tong Covid, maraming naapektuhan... Thankful lang ako, nasa construction ang asawa ko kaya tuloy tuloy p rin ang work buti naawa yung boss nila at hindi nagbawas ng empleyado.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sa construction din Yung asawa ko kaso sa Manila kasi sya Kaya na stopped sila. Ngayon nakakasideline sideline dito, tinda ng pakwan, tanim ng okra basta makaraos hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Wala kang problem kung ganyan kasipag ang asawa mo. Dito, maraming bisitang lowlanders ang nasave nung lockdown kasi tuloy ang trabaho ng mga karpintero. Ang mahal pa ng sahod. Daig ang per/day ng asawa ko. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo masipag kaso wala masyado MA extrahan e hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Marami dito kung malapit lang sana..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dito wala, pasulpot sulpot pero okay naman. Nakakaraos pa hehe. Laki tulong ni read cash hehe. Almost 8k na din nawithdraw ko para pandagdag sa mga expenses namin.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ok na rin pala. Tsaka hindi kayo mayadong mahirapan kasi maliliit pa ang mga bata at konti lang sila.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Isa pa lang baby namin Kaya Hindi masyado hirap kaso andito kasi kami sa parents nya Kaya sagot din namin lahat 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Oooh., ok lang yan. 😊 Pero mas maigi yung nakabukod kayo para makaipon naman.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a nice secret you're teaching your children. So that they'll be pennywise and know the importance of saving.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I have been penniless once. In times of emergency, there is nothing I can reach to pay for bills. At least if you saved something, it will not only serve it's purpose in reaching your goal in the future but to save you in times of crisis.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. That's why I'm on read.cash now. I have a lot to save for, so as I earn, I invest and maybe pay for my internet. I wish someone taught me to do it, I had to learn the hard way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here, I'm still looking for other earning site. But it took a lot of patient to reap the result of your effort. I think that's the way it is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

im said honestly yaar..its Just a wonderful article. This Topics is Really rare..and Its So Nice to hear thats. Every single penny is Countdown...its life....if you want to lead a goid and orisfer life than Control your everyday earnning every phen৳

$ 0.00
3 years ago

People only appreciate the little things in life once they lose the big ones, the disadvantage of having so much in life is you don't get to appreciate and value little things and I'm glad you value them

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yes, and that is what I am teaching my children so much. I don't want them to look into great things so much without giving attention to small things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should teach them to appreciate the world and not with the amount of money in their hands

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do thanks for conveying your insights.❤😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome ♥️

$ 0.00
3 years ago