The Adjustments

2 22
Avatar for XiaoShaw
2 years ago

I finally now understand the life of a Mother when handling finances.

If you have read my "Confession of a Failed Achiever" you'll know that my parents will only give us just enough but never too much. They train us that we should not spend more on what we have earned. And do not buy things that never last.

So growing up, I have this habit on savings what was left on my daily allowance in school. I'm just keeping the money and when I want to buy foods like in fast food restaurant I can just easily buy it without sacrificing my allowance for that day. Until I started working, I do not withdraw my whole salary. I make sure that I left at least 200 - 500 pesos every payroll and I put in my mind that I do not have extra money just so I can not use it.

Then the time has come that my saved-money comes to its purpose. My sister is getting married and her fund is still not enough so I lend her my money. Amazing how my hard earned savings can help achieve it's a one-of-a-kind wedding.

Here comes how I handle my finances after I left home. Yes, finally I did it. But I left home and enter life with my soon-to-be partner. We are living together and I handle our finances. All our salary is being monitored by me including the expenses and savings.

A big adjustment for both us happen, I was used to being dependent with my parents. Like every morning when I wake up, the foods are ready. I just took a bath , eat and then work. That is the life I left in my parents side. Now, I prepare breakfast , took a bath, we eat , I wash the dishes and we work then repeat. At first, it is fun because I finally was out at home and enjoy my freedom but now I have bigger responsibility since I am starting my own family.

When it comes to budgeting, I am very keen to it that I want every penny has purpose. I do not want to buy stuff that do not matter which was I learn from my Mother. Handling money is very fun especially when it come to a point that you are almost losing it all due to daily expenses, you will learn to control and buy foods at a little amount HAHAHA and you will excuse yourself that you are on diet just so you can't eat too much due to lack of money. Money is very challenging.

How about you ? How do you handle your money?

5
$ 3.70
$ 3.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Glez
$ 0.05 from @Expressionless
Sponsors of XiaoShaw
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for XiaoShaw
2 years ago

Comments

One of a discipline that I wished I learned earlier... You will surely get a better future. Good luck with your partner! =)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey XiaShaw, same experience that we have when I started our own family.

We thought that we are earning okay when we are singles as we just give money to our parents and we still have some spare to use for our savings. Now being married, when eww try to compute everything we felt that our salary is not enough to cover what our lifestyle is.

That is when we tried to shift down little by little. Learn how to budget and avoid any un necessary expenses.

Thanks for sharing this post!

$ 0.00
2 years ago