What I Should Have Done In My 20's

10 27
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

I just turned 30 recently and I have a ton of things I wished I had done in my 20's. No room for regrets if you ask me, but they are a dozen of things I wish I had done. Before getting to 20, I had a whole picture of it was going to be. Just like in the movie, I thought I will make some cool friends, fall in love, get a nice job and have a lot of fun but if you ask me how my 20's was, I will just sigh with a red face.

Since today hasn't been productive enough and am off duty, I had to drive down memory lane, just like my professor used to tell us, he said ' You don't have all day to focus on your future, always take a little drive down memory lane, just to see where you need to improve upon' .

Turning 20 comes with a lot of expectations, period were you have hormonal and emotional imbalance, broke and wanting to stay have an independent life, so you stop requesting for tips from your parent . Period were you want to meet your prince charming, take a voyage like Rose and Jack in a ship to forever land. I had longed for all this, and am sure that was how I wasted all my years chasing shadows. For me, being in your 20's is the wildest period of your life and the most delicate time too. My 22 years old cousin, came up to me the other day and complained about her love life, I just smiled and told her, everything would have worked out fine, if only you hadn't spent all your time, planning a perfect relationship, when you had other things to worry about. Am not saying being in a relationship in your 20's is wrong, but streamline your wants to reality. You don't need to picture yourself and your date in an aero plane, when you know, both of you can't afford a train drive comfortable without supports from your guidance.

Am not regretting any of the things I didn't do while in my 20's, because I can't turn back the hands of time but I want it to serve as a lesson to the ever growing population of the world. I wish this article could be pinned on every site. Sincerely, I wouldn't have love any teenager to make the same mistake I made. So am going to list few things, I wished I had done in my 20's;

1) Don't Expect too Much In Your 20's : This is a mistake a lot of teenagers make, like I earlier said, its a period of hormonal and emotional imbalance, A period of self dependence, most young people saddle themselves with this task too early enough. Dropping out of college and securing a job won't give you that financial freedom you want neither will reading romantic novels all day get you that happy and perfect relationship. You don't have to expect too much, its a period you should used to discover yourself rather than beat yourself to your favourite Star. Nobody clocked 20, and the person's entire dream became a reality. You will need to discover your talents and what you are good at. Let me shock you, it might take the whole of your 20's for you to discover yourself, so don't be hard on yourself.

2) Every Decision Made Should be Carefully Thought Of : Before I clocked 20 I was already done with college and was in the university already. So I consider 20s as a period where we are exposed to new environments, new circle of friends and ideas. It is important to always take decision that will benefit you in the future more, as the plane to adulthood is already on the runway. Any slight inappropriate decisions are usually expensive. Before you go into drugs and alcoholism, you should think about your health in the future, you don't have to do drugs because your friends are into it. Always consider this same decision of doing drugs in the next 5 years, its health and psychological impact. If you are able to live upto expectations and made few wrong decisions, you will be glad you did.

Unsplash.com

3) Always Know Everyone Has Fault : Welcome to the time of your life, where you see everyone as having a perfect life than you. It is normal to feel this way, but then don't forget everyone is struggling with his/her demon. Nobody has that perfect life, so don't be moved by all the happy and cheerful face, your friends put up, because you don't know how many times, they stayed awake just to cry. Rather than compete with others, why don't you compare yourself with your past. Such comparison helps to boast and map out weak points to focus on.

4) Hard Choice Is Easy Life, Easy Choice is Hard Life : When I said don't be hard on yourself I never meant you should be lazy, rather work but at your own pace and time. You are in no competition with anyone. Remember, if your don't work, life can never be easy for you in future. Hard work comes with satisfaction, aim at it.

5) Choose Your Friends Wisely : There is a popular saying, show me your friends and I will tell who you are.

uunsplash.com

This statement is true, as the kind of company kept, will shape your decision and behavior. Having drug addicts as friends is only a bait, for one day you will join them. It is advisable to select productive friends, who will be willing to push you to the top, rather than those ones who will always put you in trouble.

Bottom line

Turning 20 or being in your 20's isn't a period you should stress over anything, it is a time, like other years of your life, rather than focusing on having a perfect life, perfect relationship, I will suggest you build a strong relationship with people, who will be of positive impact in your life. Remember, all you are doing is for the future unknown.

I hope you enjoyed reading this, am opened for more suggestions.

Lead image : unsplash.com

4
$ 1.91
$ 1.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @pejudear
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

A piece of very wise advice to those who are still in their 20s, thanks for sharing your words of wisdom, my dear. My life has just started when I was in my early 20s and I had the best moments :) I made mistakes though, especially financial mistakes. I should have been wise about my finances and saved up for my future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha but I know you won't allow your loved ones make such mistakes too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm 22 and I read your thoughts twice for some reason. I could find some within me right now honestly. I should take it slowly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear, its Time to amend your ways

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am still in my 20's now but I havent feel any regrets on my decisions hehe, what my 20's more valuable because I met my daughter Sophia..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, you are already married

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes hehe 4 years and counting .💚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not too late to recover from the mistakes you made, you can still recover those wasted years if you are so determined to. There are a lot if things i missed doing during my early 20's, there's always room for corrections, and that's what i doing now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I enjoyed reading this and it's so interesting reading all these from you. Many lessons we will keep learning each day we keep living and we should never regret not doing a particular thing when we were young but we can go back to memories and adjust to making things better in the future. There is never too late for anything but we must be ready to take the change.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for your contribution, you are right it is never too late to make a change

$ 0.00
1 year ago