My Scary Birthday Party

16 32
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago
Topics: My own thoughts

Family is everything ,  so I grew to hear my parent say. I wasn't lucky to be birthed in a rich family but I could feel the love my parent had for me.
There were days they will sit to watch me eat with so much attention. I was just 10 when dad and mom, throw the biggest birthday party for me. I had no fortuneteller to tell me, I was loved, because I felt it.

Shortly after my kid bro was born, all the attention and love began to lessen. They didn't Care about me anymore and nobody was interested how I was faring. I began to feel alone and kept wondering why dad told me, family was everything.
I thought things will change on the day of my birthday, just to be loved and cared for was all I wanted. I waited for my mom and dad to burst into my room as usual with a cake and lots of balloon. But I waited in vain. Nobody ever remember I existed.  Out of annoyance I walked into my parents room, just to find my mom fast asleep while dad was playing with my brother. I yelled at them, and then they remembered it was my birthday. It was already too late for a party, so dad promised he was going to take me out the next day.

I waited all day but my dad was no where to be found. He was still holding my brother, whom I began to hate. I felt he stole my parent from me. 
Weeks later mom secured a better job, so our status quo. We had to move to a neighborhood meant for the rich. I changed school and mom and dad got a nanny for my brother. They got home late and by then I will be fast asleep. The only time, I got to see them were on weekends. And they still spent all their time with my brother. I knew they just didn't care about me, anymore.
My 14th birthday got me teary, they forgot about my birthday but remember my brother's own.I began to withdrew from my family.

While walking to school one day, I was greeted by a boy in our new area. His name was Eric. At first I never liked him. He was too clingy. He tried all his possible best to get my attention. Which he finally did. He was so fond of me that we could barely stay a minute without each other.
Months passed and it was already my 15th birthday, my parent forgot as usual and I wasn't even mad at them. Eric got me a nice gift, which made me forget all about my parent. I wasn't bothered at all.
My parent became so busy that we could barely see eye to eye. I wasn't bother since Eric was always around.

On My 16th birthday Eric and I, planned on celebrating it a bigger way. He suggested we went camping. I knew they was no way that could be possible, but I was optimistic about it. A weekend  to my birthday , I told my dad about a camping program in my school. I could barely lie without stammering, so dad caught me. I was so mad at myself. Dad told me about the family vacation they planned. I was so angry, I didn't want a family vacation to ruin my initial plans with Eric, so I declined the offer. Dad was so pissed off, he made me to choose between the vacation and being grounded for a whole month.
I was so angry and sad, I told Eric about the unplanned vacation. Eric suggested we canceled the part, So we did. 

Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty

I told my father I was only going to go on the vacation in the company of Eric which he never objected. So Eric joined us and off we went on our vacation. It wasn't as planned but with Eric by my side, I knew it won't be so boring. While at the dinning table, dad asked Eric about the camping, the school organized. I knew dad wanted to embarrassed me, so I quickly answered they was no such thing. I only wanted , then I paused. Never wanted telling them, my birthday was the next day.
Of cause it never mattered to them, so why bother them.
Dad saw I was angry, he then suggested we play, the hide and seek game. I was not in the mood but just to keep Eric company I had to play.

Everyone went to hid while I was meant to look for them. I searched everywhere for them, and I found Eric hiding min my room. Then we walked to look for my parent but they were no way to be found. I was so scared, as we looked the whole house for them. I wanted calling the police when Eric told me, let's split to look for them. I accepted and minutes later, Eric was no where to be found. I became scared, tried calling Eric on phone and his phone rang in the kitchen. When I got there, I found a note beside his phone, which read "we've got your parent and your boyfriend, if you want them alive, go to the garage and wait for the next direction. Don't call the police, else they will be dead" .

I knew something terrible had happened, so I cried and walked reluctantly into the garage. And the door was shut immediately. Was someone following me. What is happening. I checked the time and it was 11:50pm. I was so scared and worried I was going to celebrate my 16th birthday without Eric. While lying on the floor and thinking of what to do, suddenly the garage door opened. And they was Eric holding his belly. I ran to hug him and asked what happened. He told me how they tied them to a tree in the middle of the forest, and how he fought with the two guys that held them hostage.  He said we should go inside, while we continue the search in the morning.

We entered inside and switch the light, what I saw I couldn't believe myself. My dad, mom and friends were all seated with a big birthday cake in front of them. They are shouted "Happy 16th birthday" . I was overwhelmed with joy. My kid bro ran for the first time to hug me. Same with my parent. Amidst sobs I requested they never pulled such a prank next time. All this while Eric was just smiling . He knew all about the surprised birthday package but never told me.
I just walked into his arms, he whispered 'happy birthday Catherine, 16 looks good on you" . we partied till 3am before everyone retired to bed and that was my scariest birthday party.

Lead image : unsplash.com

12
$ 1.13
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @CrazyWrites
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago
Topics: My own thoughts

Comments

Oh that was really a scary surprised birthday party. I just hope so you won't get jealous in your younger brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not anymore dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh such a good story. I felt sorry for her but at the end I realized that her parents didn't really forget her, well no parents would forget their first child. No matter how much the child age it's still their child. Lesson learned; parents should know how to balance everything, love and attention so theres no jealousy between siblings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah.. You are right. Equating love and attention is paramount in parenting

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was not known that it is your birthday happy birthday dear many many returns of the day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is just my imagination.. Thanks all the same

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh, I love the way they surprise you, even if you got prank, hehe they really did a great idea to throw a birthday surprise for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And my bf was even a part of it. Really annoying. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, that was a scary prank lol. I am glad it had a happy ending :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear. How are you ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many returns of the Day and Happy Scary Birthday sister 😂. I was about lost in sadness all were Kidnapped but story changed into Birthday prank. Your parents are so smart, don't leave them alone at any rate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just my imagination..thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Birthday. More birthday to come

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not my birtbday, but thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never yet surprised within my birthday before hehe, but yeah sounds fun being one.. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it does..

$ 0.00
1 year ago