My Father Hated Me

12 17
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Happy new month to everyone, I can't hide this any longer, am so ashamed of myself. I wasn't born like other normal children. Can I ask you a question ?
Have you ever laughed at the wrong moment? When others are crying, that's when I laugh. And when others are laughing, that's when I cry. It sounds weird right ? But that's just the story of my life.

At first my parent thought I was a happy child, because I was always laughing, even when the expected me to cry.  When am sick, I kept my parent awake through out the night with my loud laughters.
One day I bumped my head on the wall while trying to crawl, but rather than cry, I started laughing. That was when dad knew something was wrong with me.
He yelled at me "you are not a normal baby, seems something is wrong with you" . Mom tried to cover up for me, but that didn't change my dad's mindset towards me. He started to hate me.

Every little thing I did got dad paranoid, they was a day, I used a sharp object to scratch his car. When he came out and saw me, he yelled at me, 'how did we end up with this weird thing'. Mom quickly came to intervene, amidst those weird moments, though I was still a kid, but his words broke my little heart. I really wanted to cry, but I bursted into a loud laughter, and it got him more angrier.
I still remember the day grandpa Wilson died, while everyone was busy crying. I was laughing. Everyone thought I was possessed with an evil spirit, nobody knew I was actually heartbroken and missed my grandpa.  I was still too young to realize what was wrong with me. Dad screamed "get out from here, you cursed child" I ran to my room, still laughing.
All my relatives began hating me, and nobody wanted associating with a cursed child. And every time I try to explain to them, it wasn't my fault, I ended up laughing again.

Few days to my grandpa's funeral, I wanted being a normal child. So I started listening to sad songs, watching tear jerking movies, all in an attempt to trigger my tear gland, just to secrete its juice on time, but nothing worked as I bursted into rounds of loud laughter's during the funeral. I was so embarrassed, I ran home, leaving them at the cemetery.
Everyone avoided me, except my mom, she knew something was wrong with me but never knew how to help me.
She bought me a violin, just to cheer me up. I was really good with string instruments, since dad was a music tutor, and had a lot of textbooks for music. Just to find a solution for myself, I began to study his musical textbooks. Within a Month I was able to play the violin so well. I really wanted making dad happy for the first time, I walked to him, and began playing the violin, dad was so touched and he began to shed tears, he came to hug me, I wished my lips were sealed at that moment, because I ended up laughing again. He was so pissed and vowed never to have nothing to do with me again.

I was pained but had to understood with my dad, how disappointing it was to have a child like me.
I began taking solace in my violin. Created a YouTube channel for my work. One day, I got a message from someone, he was interested in my kind of music. I thought he wasn't serious as nobody ever minded me.
He began freeing me some bucks, at the end of Every uploads. The joy of earning was so much, that it made me forgot about my worries.
My cousin who stayed with us, became jealous of my sudden firm. She decided to set me up. She packed a lot salt and emptied into my dad's cup of coffee. A gulp was accompanied by my dad, throwing up. She quickly pointed at me. I bursted into laughter, and that was what got my Dad angry. He locked me in my room for days.

In my 6th grade, my YouTube channel grew to over 2.4k and I became popular in my school. What made people avoid me, were my weird laughter. My teachers were proud of me. I was given an opportunity to play at the end of session party. Everyone was so moved by my performance on stage. A standing ovation was made in my honour and while in the process, I bursted into a loud laughter.
I ran off to the restroom, to cool off, while at the restroom, someone tapped my shoulder, they was an handsome looking guy Lancelot, who just fell in live with my performance on stage. I tried to explain to him, that I wasn't normal, but it all fell on deaf ears. At first, I was scared to love but finally here I was, all swallowed in his arms. I wasn't afraid of my incessant laughter anymore. Atleast, I had a shoulder to lean on. Lancelot told me about introducing me to his parent. I was so scared because I never wanted them to see me as a cursed child.

On getting to his house, his parent ran to hug us. His dad took me into his office. Funny enough he was a neurosurgeon. He told me, "Lance has told us everything about you, and I don't think you need to worry yourself. My family is your home, anytime, anyday. I was so emotional and that was the first time, I cried, rather than laugh. I was shocked and so was Lance.
Our love grew stronger and today, we are blessed with 3 kids, and one of them is just like me. She only laughs and she is already worried . I only assured her, that it was normal to allow our brain detect our mood. 

Bottom Line

Never allow limitation decides where you will find yourself. We are all gifted and unique in our own way. Don't allow anyone make you feel bad, Go out there and explore the world with your multiple gifts. I love you all ...

Lead image : unsplash.com


6
$ 0.68
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.10 from @Jento
+ 2
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

I can say I can relate, worst scenario was that my boss was discussing something with another employee. I overheard it and began to laugh while they were seriously engrossed with the discussion. I know it's very weird, so I avoided a lot of people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol... Thanks for sharing your story and the tip, I really appreciate

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Just giving back the good the community has on me...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it is looking weird but as you said that limitations don't have to decide fate and it is good that u have a kid just like u

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is such a touching story and I wish the father would understand better that this was never her doing. Fathers can act tough sometimes but they are always a softie inside.

I am glad she found herself a home and she's being recognized for her obvious talent. We are all gifted individually and in spite of her obvious shortcoming, I am glad she can shine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah! Fathers are sometimes tough. Thank you for stopping by Mr. Olasquare

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anytime...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have a very strange nature. Laughing in serious situations is really unusual. I hope you will overcome this habit of you. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I pray I do....hahaha hahaha hahahaha🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wait, this really happened to you or this is a fictional story. This is my first time hearing such character

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is fictional but then, there is a medical condition as such, it is pseudobulbar affect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh! It's good. Let me make research on it. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago