How To Overcome Your Fear

2 24
Avatar for Wrinkle
2 years ago

In life we are faced with a lot of challenging situations that we shy away from. Most times we are just too scared of trying new ideas. Before I proceed with my article, let me share a story with you all.

They lived a boy named Dennis, He grew up in the town of Manila. Though gifted but was scared of using his supernatural powers.Dennis was born on the day when the goddess of Manila was celebrating her son's birthday. It was declared all male children born on that day, were to be blessed with four powers namely, Sand, fire, water and wind. Sand signifies "Healing", fire signifies "Raising the death" , water signifies "war" and the last one wind was signified "Courage" . While growing up Dennis was told of his gifts but he never did try it out for once. Dennis died without using any of his gifts.

Image : unsplash

That's how most of us are, we are too scared of trying out new stuffs. Everyone laughs at everyone at different point in their life, what differentiates you from another person is the step you took. You have a good voice to sing but still afraid, it won't be as melodious as Michael Jackson, you can draw but won't try it out because of fear.

What is fear ?

Image: unsplash

Fear to a layman ' is simply seeing disability in every step we take' . I can't sing even though have never tried it, I can't write articles , am not a great dancer. That's the anthem of a fearful person. Have developed an acronym for fear;

F - Forget

E - Everything

A - And

R - Run

Yes! We do forget all our strength in the face of trials and pick race, we focus more on the "I cannot" than on the "I can".

Features of a Fear

A man filled with fear possess a lot of negative features, which i will list them out today;

1) Low Self Esteem: This is a significant feature in the life of fear gripped individuals. They tend to possess low self esteem, always concerned about what people say. What if I make a mistake, everyone will laugh at me, Low self esteem is a disease of a fearful man.

2) Negativity : My grandma used to tell me that, I should be careful of people who speak negativity their whole life's as they tend to live in fear. they are filled with the "I cannot do it", always worried about making mistakes and how they will laugh at them.

3) No Progress : Since such a person is scaredvof losing, he will also be scared of trying out new skills, ideas and plans. Such individuals tend to be stagnated all their lives and they are always comfortable with it. Just having a little satisfies them.

4) Discouragement: Having people who are filled with fear could tend to limit you. As there are always out to discourage you . no! You can't do it, Bitcoin cash will not grow, so why waste your time on it, those where the words of a friend, few months ago. If I wasn't courageous I would have thrown away my dream of owing BCH.

How to overcome Fear

1) Be Positive : A man who is positive can conquer any city until proven otherwise . This statement has been a daily motivational to me, I tend to speak positivity into my life everyday. Before leaving your house, always speak positivity to the rest of your day. This tends to boast your confidence level and also immune you to any challenge you will face.

2) Keep trying : Trying out new ideas even when you mind tells you you can't succeed is the first step in conquering fear. Don't be scared to go for that interview, don't be scared to grab the microphone, say no to fear and you will see it flee. The first day, I tried skating, I felt I was going to fall, peel off my skin and die but I had to put fear off, and today am a better skater. You don't need to stop trying new ideas because you think you won't succeed. Try it out even when you don't know what it entails.

3) Surround yourself with Courageous friends : Let's assume you have 5 friends who are scared of trying out new ideas, you will discover you May not progress but surrounding yourself with just 2 positive minded friends could make you excel. Thats the reason for the popular saying 'Show me your friends and I will tell who you are". If you are struggling with fear, I will encourage you to surround yourself with courageous people.

4) High self esteem : Though at times this is mistaken for pride but I will advice if you need to be freed from fear, you need to develop a high self esteem. It helps boast your confidence level.

5) Be Courageous : This is the peak of it all. Courage is the spice you need to boast up. So courage is an essential if you really want to get off the fear train.

Image : unsplash

Conclusion

Everyone gets scared at some point in life but allowing fear control overwhelm you becomes a problem. The first step in overcoming fear is admitting the presence the presence of fear and working towards becoming a better person.

Also surrounding yourself with positive and courageous friends will help you boast yourself.

Don't allow anyone or anything makes you feel inferior, as long as you planned it, you can do it.

Do have a wonderful day.........

Lead image: unsplash.com

4
$ 0.25
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @QueenRaay
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
2 years ago

Comments

Very well-said. Being fearful is like living inside a box, you will never know what's out there if you don't have the courage to face your fear. Don't keep those things in your mind from living the life that you deserve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you are right, fear is like a shade

$ 0.00
2 years ago