Who will take care of you when you get old?

13 32
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago

How old are you now?Im 33 years old already,I have a few more years before getting old in God's time.I came up to this topic when I saw my grandmother's situation today,she's 86 years old, as I already talk about with her, on my past article,having a lot of body pains, and no enough strength to walk for long.This few days she is sick, and she's says that it's too hard when she has no children to take care with her,even if she had 7 children,she said she's left alone,it feels like she wants her family to take care with her because she is unable to do many things.

Are you having fear about getting old, especially when you don't have children?Yes,I have that feeling too, even if I have two kids, but of course we are not sure if they will stay with us until we get old.There are some situations that, an old parent will be left behind, and there's no one to care or else the children will get a caregiver if they had money to spend for the salary.But I think, most elderly preferred to be taking care with their own children.

I have a conversation with my friend who don't have any kids, she ask her husband of what will happen to them when they get old with no kids, will they be able to survive?And she just laughed, maybe because it's just too far to happen , but time will come she can encounter that situation.

Unlike the other countries that they have a facility to care for the elderly called,"Home for the aged".But in the Philippines, we do have a culture that we will be hands on with our old parents , and that's what an intimate relationship can make.

One of my friend says, that it's better to have many kids like 7-12,😂OMG!,I only have two and I almost surrender.Why do they say like this?Because there will be a lot of people to take care for their parents, and they can have a rotation or scheduling arrangement so that not only one person will have a burdened of caring the old patents.

A real story;

I have a neighbor and his father died last year, she's the only daughter of her family and she really cried a lot, because she endure the hardship alone, and she said that,"I have a hard time being the only one child".It really happens,she's alone seeking for help for her parents and spending money for medication until they passed away.

For singles, who will take care of you?

Majority answer ;the family that I can create for myself.

For married, who will take care of you?

Majority answer ;my children will take care of me.

This is the situation that is unplanned, a lot of people who have burial plan, and many insurance company who have promote this one, but the fact of who will take care of us when we get old is unsure.

"I WILL TAKE CARE OF YOU"

The most comforting words that can give us assurance that there is someone who will stay with us when we get old and show that they care for us.Some people say, that there husband or wife but the reality of life that we didn't know who will be gone away first.But there are some instances that one of the spouse can live longer than the other,and there will be someone who can took care of the other.

I like to commend all the people or relatives who really took care of their family that are already old, or without kids, and love them so much without any condition.

Despite of all the worries and hesitation that we have there's one thing that can comfort me about this matter.

"Just show you love to our family, care for them and be there for them everytime they need you, and I'm sure one day, they will love you back as well."

I have learned it from a mom like me, who have a sick mother but she said , that her mother love them so much , and sacrifice for them while they are achieving their dreams in life that's why they love her so much that they will take care of their mother as long as she is alive.

My grandmother once told me when I was young that she will save money for when she get old, she can get someone that she can paid to take care for her.But her planned wasn't fulfilled because she has no money at all.Im just glad, that there is someone who really want to take care of her and I feel relief when I knew that.

My learning

This reality of life teaches me to be humble, even if today I have strength,I am walk wherever I go,I can do what I want.But one day will come that I'm not be able to do everything and all I can do is to be still in one place.

If we will save for retirement financially, we should also invest love with our family today, while we have enough strength to make it.

I will left you with this song, that some kind of very touching for me, a reality of getting old.One day, we all fade away and the memories of our days will be left behind.

Just don't be afraid of getting old,everyone will used to get there,what matters I think is that we are happy being old.


Until here, thanks for reading.

I'm happy to read you comments below about this topic , feel free.

6
$ 4.15
$ 3.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Marinov
+ 5
Sponsors of Winx1988
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago

Comments

It's not an obligation for the kids to take care of their parents when they get old but then if you were a good parent to your child, you deserve that genuine care and love from your kids. It is an initiative for them to give back the sacrifices and love their parents have given. ❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Dati iniisip ko mga kids ko mag aalaga sa akin pero now ayoko sila i burden on that.. Basta maging independent sila at masaya ang pamilya nila.. Masya na ko dun hehehe... God will take care of me and my hubby when we grow old..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Basta maudlin lang nation and mag tap sa buhay natin ay mamahalin din nila tayonpabalik,parang ganon,at hindi naman nila tayo pababayaan once a family will always be a family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last line is so true, no matter how much money or assets, what we need is happiness and peace when we are old :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes,it's true, material things is good investment that can help us but a heart that is happy and peaceful is more vital.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This just takes me down an emotional road. I can't finish the song. Indeed we should take better care of our elderly. They are family and we are not here if not for them. Treat them well. How you treat them will be done to you too when you are old.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's right,I really felt that today, when my grandmother is sick, although she's really not good to us and we're not closed , but as I see her struggle it makes me think, that ,a family will always be the one to take care for us ,that's why we should love them .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not afraid or getting old.. I know God will take care of me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what we called faith, by putting our future in Gods hands.By the way,thanks for the sponsorship,it's makes me happy,I'm so grateful to you.💝

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right. I also don't mind being old because I want to live in the moment. I want to be happy now and cherish the memories I get old. I think much about who will take care of me because I know God will give me one who will take care of me.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's good, you have faith in God that he will care for you,and we all should hope for that, there's no assurance that the world can give unless we have trust in God to do it for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Accurate 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago