The Strange Encounter

16 37
Avatar for Winx1988
1 year ago

[Ben is a Agoraphobic man which literally means, "fear of open spaces]

He suddenly close the door when Venus is approaching to his house, he was bothered and feel uneasy inside, when someone says,

" Is anybody here? Hello oo, I'm Venus from Social Services, hello there! The window on one side of the house was opened slowly," What are you doing here?But Venus couldn't see his full face because his wearing a hat, "I'm Venus and I'm a nurse whose assigned here in your village to give a anti covid vaccine, and it's my pleasure to meet you, Sir!

" I don't need that," and he immediately close the window. It was 12 in the afternoon and the weather is too hot, Venus feel so exhausted for a long walk that she did, because the man's house was located from a separate location of the villagers. She noticed that this house was the only one which is found the woods. She just stayed for a while and she feel thirsty but she's hesitant to knock the door because she is afraid with how the man looks like, he has a long hair and beard and wearing glasses.

She waited on a bench outside the house for almost 5 hours, and endure her feeling of needing some water to drink. Venus never knew that Ben(the man on the window), was just looking at her from a small hole in the door. Until, the sun goes down, she patiently wait for the car to arrived, Venus didn't go anyway, because she waited for her team to fetch her on her location.

After a few minutes, she received a message that the team had already arrived in the city and one of her companion said, that the driver forgot to get her on the side of the village because his phone was shut down. And they told her, that they will be back next week because they have an urgent assignment on the north side of Alaska.

Venus had a big problem, to where she should sleep and what she gonna eat, there's no other house in that place but only with Ben's residence. While the man inside the house was cooking beef stake and Venus have smelled the aroma of the food, and she's feeling hungry already. Ben had to eat his food, when he remember the lady outside the house. Ben didn't want to get out from his house, because he was afraid of open spaces due to a shooting incidents that happen a long time ago. He was shot and his family because he was working as a financial adviser with a government official, that's why he never get out of his house for a very long time because of his traumatic experience.

After a very long hours of waiting, Venus endured the hunger until she fell asleep on the bench, she lie down, and she thinks that she has to wait until morning, so that she can find any transportation going to the city proper.

On the next morning, she wake and when opened her eyes, yelling, because she is inside a very nice room alone. She wondered why did she aaaahhhhh, why am I here? She remember that she is in the bench last night. Venus get up from bed and she's looking around, and found that there was a food on the table, beside on her bed, clothes and a pair of shoes. Though she has a doubt but she eat the food, to ease her hunger since the other day. While she was eating, there was a sound that she heard from the window.

Ben was in the living room and he is playing a piano while he sings his favorite songs.

Image from Pixabay

His voice sounds great and she actually enjoyed listening to it. She dressed up and wear the dress that was prepared for her. The lady looks gorgeous in a white dress while she was walking downstairs. Her eyes were glowing while she saw how beautiful did the house image inside. She took the glass of wine, and she taste it, while she was approaching to the the man.

Then he saw a very handsome guy with a slight portion of white hair on his head,(Ben was already 56 years old and Venus was 33) and looks stunning on his good looking aura, wearing black suit and shoes.

She never go near the man, but she was looking a very nice view of the mountain on the window.

Image from pixabay

While she was walking around, she read a short note on the wall, " come and have dinner with me." And she was thinking "why not, it seems that Venus fell in love with a man who is older than her. Even if she was afraid but she take courage and face Ben on the dining table. They both looking eyes to eyes, and they ate together, even if they had no long conversation but just a short talk. Venus explained why did she come on that place, just to help the people avail the covid vaccine.

They get along with each other and get to know with their conversations while they were cooking, drinking, and other things that they like to do. Until such time that they never count days and nights because all they do is to enjoy each other's company. They never get out of the house, instead, they are stayed inside and do some crafts, sing and play piano together. They have established a connection and intimacy together even if they didn't know each other well.

One morning, Ben noticed that Venus is not feeling well, he felt too rest less,he did everything just to keep her strength to be back again, like giving her healthy foods and fruit but Venus tell Ben that she has an illness which she has to carry many years,she looks pale and her eyes are teary.

Venus vomiting blood on the floor and she's crying in pain, Ben didn't know what to, he is bothered with what will happen to venus. She said that she needs to see her doctor in the hospital. The man felt scared too, because he needs to get out of the house to send Venus to the hospital.

He encourage himself and he said that this time he should be a tough guy. He cut his hair and beard and immediately prepared himself, while Venus was vomiting inside the bathroom. He was trembling in fear, but he needs to take the risk in order to help her. He helped Venus to stand up and carry her towards the car.

After how many years, it's the first time that he can come out of his own world and overcome his madness. . Venus tightly holds his hands while her eyes are close and said, 'You can do it".

Start engine and their ready to go. They need to travel for a few miles from Ben' s hometown, but Ben was driving so fast when he saw Venus was very weak. "Venus don't sleep, c'mon we can do this right? Play some music, so that I can stay awake. Okay, and Ben turn on the radio on the car. Even if Ben's hands was almost shaking, he can still manage to drive thoroughly, while they are on their way, Venus requested to stop for a while, and they have stop by near the beach. Ben carry Venus and they both sat on the sand.

"Why did you still travel and work despite of your condition? Ben ask her," Because in this way I can find my worth of living", I live with a broken family, my mom and dad broke up when I was twelve, and I was left with aunt and they both have their own family right now. I grow in a house full of miserable lifestyle, we're my aunt and uncle are both addicted to gambling and drugs until their business got bankrupt. Their kids were all spoiled kids. I see myself being useless and wasted, but I find hope when a social worker helped me. I met a woman who takes care of me, she come to my aunt's residence and found me alone . She rescued me and helped me of who I am today. She send me to school, and after I graduated in college, she died because she has a brain tumor. And I was left alone again. that's why I decided to continue her work as a social worker, to help the people and give services to the unreachable. I love what I'm doing and it is my passion to help other people.

Until that day, that I came into your house, I don't know why did my feet have brought me there, but I am still thankful to met you Ben.

"I am sorry for treating you badly at first, I can't understand what' s going with myself, and how I feel, after my family died a few years ago. I am also a miserable man, and I'm afraid of the outside world, it seems that it will eat me alive. But when I see you, it brings magic into my life, your presence have inspired me mysteriously, and I'm grateful for that. "So am I Ben", Venus said. . And Ben kiss Venus forehead.

After they talk a lot, they go back to the car and continue to travel, while Ben was driving, he was teary eyes when she looked with Venus face, and wipe his hair that is swayed by the wind.

2 hours later, they already reached the city proper and they finally reached he hospital in the afternoon. Venus was brought to the emergency room and doctor have done some procedures to help her feel better. Ben is waiting outside the room and he is praying asking God to give Venus another chance to live again. Then, the doctor came out, and said, "She is fine, but I need to tell you frankly, her life isn't last a longer time, her sickness was already in a worst stage, since she didn't get any medication for a long time. I hope you will take care of her." Yes, I will Doc. "

Venus have to rest for 3 days in the hospital and have her medication, and Ben was watching on her day and night. On the 4rth day, Venus was already discharged from the hospital and Ben bring her to her hometown, where they live together.

Venus have become weak as the days goes by, they spent time together in boating, and watching sunrise every morning beside the seashore. Ben was glad to spend time with Venus even if it's just temporary.

Image from unsplash

One night, Venus wrote a letter for Ben, even if her hands are weak, she strive to create a short poem from Ben and put it inside the box in front of Ben's desk.

"I found my home in lost wonder land

My life became meaningful when I met a wandering soul in the woods

You make my morning shine, and my nights become safer

You are my night and shining armor

I love you Ben, you will always in my heart forever". - Venus

On the next morning, while Ben was busy cooking food for breakfast, he heard someone is playing the piano in the living room, and he saw Venus who wears a long dress and had a smiling face. Ben was crying and he ran outside so that Venus wouldn't see him.

Unexpectedly, he heard a sound that seems there's something that is broken on the floor. he get inside the house, and he found Venus lying on the floor with blood on her face. Venus died on that day, while Ben mourn for her alone.

3 months later

Ben have decided to migrate on other country and continue his passion for arts and music, he decided to left his home and hometown to start a new life.

He realized hat even if he suffer from hi fears, but there are a lot of people in the world who endure such kind of worst situation and illnesses like Venus.He was inspired by Venus on how she lived with courage and continue her passion despite of her sickness.

One year later, Ben have become a famous pianist and played on a big orchestra in a famous theater in California, and his name is in magazines and known in social media. He achieve bigger than a what he has expected. But he always remember Venus wherever he go, as he carries the small box where the letter of Venus was placed,all of his fears has fade away, realizing that he is not the only man in this world who have undergone difficult battle in life.

End here.......

(story is my own compositions)

Authors thoughts

There's nobody on earth who didn't suffer, some people maybe smiling and looks happy in their faces but unknowingly their suffrage have already takes place for a long years.

We are all have soft spot, fears, doubts, illnesses in this human body, we should always show respect, love, and always be kind to anyone. Life is worth living by relating and helping people the simple way we can do. Just like Ben, even if he suffering inside, but he allow himself and open his house for a lady who needs attention and care.

So thankful for you who read this post. Hello my sponsors, I always appreciate your name that appears on my sponsor box.

Love love!

13
$ 5.83
$ 5.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of Winx1988
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Winx1988
1 year ago

Comments

There's no one that live without having a problem inside, there are people that will just tell you their own problem and what they are passing through, you will even abandon your own aspect and begin to pity them. I do tell people sometimes that it's only our clothes that cover us..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like your last sentence, sometimes we really didn't show what's really is inside us. But sometimes I am surprised and even feel embarrassed when I feel bad about myself, without realizing that other people have their physical battles too but still remained strong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A beautiful story, no one knows what the other person is experiencing in the real world. So many heartbroken and sick people out there but they keep up their smiling faces and we never know what they pass through. All I can say is that we should be kind and loving to people we meet no matter their tribe or background.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's I deed a good point from you.,so true, some people hide their struggles through their smile and hard work.We should treat people fairly, despite of our situations.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eyyy, this is a nice piece. Even if it's a bit saddening but worth the read. I guess, you could be a great author hihihi. And I agree, we all have soft spot in us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Heheh, thanks, I hope I can, I'm still learning to write, Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even though this seems sad where tragedy upon tragedy came to Ben, he used those to propel himself to a better state of mind. There will always be that one person we will hold dear in our hearts.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a sad part with Ben for having a difficult encounter with a sick lady when he is also have an illness. But everything that happens to him, turns out good for his growth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why this is so sad, although he found a reason again to go outside and live with his dreams. Still, he should be with Venus doing all of it. But I guess we can't have all the good things in the world ha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes right,it's a bitter sweet life experience, not a happy ever after love story. There are things that are meant to happen for us to gain inspiration and find hope to live again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have to experience a lot of heartbreak first that will leave us some lesson before you see light on it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My usual statement always goes like this: "You can be seated next to a broken person and you wouldn't know it." This is why it's always nice to be kind regardless of how we feel. A lot of people make excuses for not being kind because of what they are going through but inspite of what we are going through, if we are naturally kind, it won't stop us. Everyone is dealing with one thing or the other. It doesn't have to be health related but sometimes what you lack the most is what you can give the most. Imagine someone so much in need of money sees someone in need of a fraction of what he has (which isn't enough to meet his own needs too) and that person decides to still give a little out of it ... That's kindness.

Good story, my friend.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I like with how did you summarize and give a very nice realizations with this, kindness is the bottom line.Sometimes, people don't like to help because they say, that they have also a lot of problems to fix. Kindness knows no reason, if we have it.

Your a smart writer and reader as well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I feel honoured and blessed my dear friend. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love it sis. Hopeless romantic and tragic ending but it's nice that the guy was able to find inspiration from the girl for him to go out and explore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago