Law-uy

11 163
Avatar for Winx1988
3 years ago

The food we eat describes how we live, so now I'm sharing our food named,"law uy"in bisaya,in a very practical simple food.

When I was a kid my mother always cook this this food, and now that I have a family I also cook this since we live in a farm and we used to plant vegetables like moringa,string beans, lemon grass, alugbati,saluyot, and a lot more.We only buy fish when my father sold something like banana in the market but everyday we used to eat gulay(veges), almost everyday, whether may gata(or coco milk), or law-uy.

For today, I’d like to share with you guys a fish and vegetable soup. It’s very popular in the Visayas and Mindanao region in the Philippines, especially in Mindanao where I grew up.Its law-uy.

Also goes by the name “utan Bisaya“, it is a local favorite for its easy to prepare and delicious taste. You can get most of the ingredients for cheap or almost free if you grow vegetables in your backyard.

Law-uy tastes best with the addition of fried shredded fish, but you certainly can omit it.

I remembered when I was little and we didn’t have any fried fish to add to the soup.Usually traditional law uy does not use oil, but I put a small amount of oil just to make a twist.

These are my ingredients :

Ingredients :

Morninga

String beans

Dried fish(bulinaw)

Lemongrass(tanglad)

Squash

Garlic

First, put water on a pan,(that's what we used because there's no available other kitchenware for firewood and note we cooked.

So, I made a twist because my husband told me to fry first the vegetables with garlic and( bulad bulinaw), dried fish in a pan.

Sorry for the pan, it's older than me, it's a legacy😅, that why it looks bad. So this is it, I fried the vegetables first with oil and garlic within 2 minutes, then I add 2 1/2 cups of water for the soup of the law-by.

So this is how it cooked with firewood, we still have this, and then the pan looks disgusting, and have you noticed it has no holder anymore it was already broken through times.

And then I add lemongrass which smells so good.

I just got in the neighborhood

And this is the bulinaw(dried fish), I buy it for 10 pesos in the sari-sari store beside us.

After the water boils add the moringa and salt to taste.

I can say that this food was the easiest and healthy. Everytimenthat we didn't feel better my mother will cook law -uy because it was healthy, non-fat and natural. The soup is good, and I forget to take a photo after because they eat it already.

This food was good especially when you are on a diet or you want to lose weight and be healthy. The ingredients are available in the backyard.

Mostly, in the Philippines, we cooked after eating fatty foods like Lechon, we eat like this as a detox to wash out fats inside the body.

This food has no complications it's just very simple and easy to cook. My cooking style was my idea, you can add vegetables and other spices if you want.

My kids and husband like the soup very much even if it doesn't have a lot of ingredients.

What I like the most about this food is the nutrition content of the vegetables, like moringa, which contains a lot of healthy nutrients and vitamins like; protein, vitamin c, vitamin B6, iron, vitamin A, magnesium.

This food was good for breastfeeding moms to produced milk for a healthy baby and it gives mommies to stay healthy and protected against diseases.

We live a simple life with a simple food.

Thanks for having you here.

5
$ 0.23
$ 0.10 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 1
Sponsors of Winx1988
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Winx1988
3 years ago

Comments

Bisdak diay ka? Heheh! Lami jud na. Praktikal pa jud labi na pag naay prito na isda leftovers sus kana jud dayon ang next na sud-an 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bisdak jud kaayo, para sa mga nagtipid pero gusto mahimong himsog kaon tag gulay aron baskog.wala may isda gud,bulad na lang,hehehe,wa pa katugbong sa lungsod.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah! Mao jud! Taga asa ka winx?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Davao

$ 0.00
3 years ago

woah, try ko yan titawap. Hindi naman po disgusting yung pan, sakto lang para sakin kasi minsan sa kahoy rin kami nagluluto lalo pag malaking handaan hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Magastos kasi pat bibili lahat pati pangluto,kaya kahoy na muna,mas masarap to pag may leftover na isda lalo na yong sinugba na isda.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

kaya nga po hihi masmasarap pag lutong kahoy wieeee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Talaga ba,per para sa akin parang totoo nga yan,kasi natural sya na apoy hindi manmade,hehe,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo ngay titawap. Dama mo difference ng sarap sa wood and gas. Pay adobo po e sa labas kami nagluluto, iba yung sarap nya lag gas. Hihi. Naoaka true nyang titawap😍💛

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Masarap sya? hAla dipako nakatikim nyan AHAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, masarap .try mo nga,lalo na may lasa ng tanglad at ng tuyo. Pagkaing pang bukid

$ 0.00
3 years ago