Fifty Percent Sober (1st entry-Freewriting Contest)

28 59
Avatar for Winona
Written by
3 years ago

Ah parties,jammings, get-togethers are always better with life discussions partnered with a cold beer, a shot of vodka or some fine whiskey. We have a lot of choices. In fact, moderation is also a choice, and I suggest you choose it.

Well, people say that we all should drink moderately, ever wondered why? Simple, alcohol can cause some major problems in the body.

Alcohol can post a risk in your circulatory system. High blood pressure and high cholesterol can be a major problem. A heavy drinker can be more prone to heart attack. It can also damage the lungs, which is another risk making a person prone to more serious lung problem.

When the world is already swivelling due to the consumption of alcohol down to the bottom of the bottle, our Central Nervous System is already affected. It slows down the brains capacity, perhaps affecting the release of necessary neurotransmitters necessary to maintain balance. It can also reduce our ability to communicate and that explains the slurred speech and it does make you less charming.

Inflammatory damage could also be a concern if you're a heavy drinker. Our immune system can get weak with all of the drinking, the same as saying we are slowing down our bodies defense system, yikes! The bodily systems all exposed to risks couldn't do much to support in fighting the invaders in our body.

Does that mean we should say goodbye to alcohol consumption? It'll be a hard decision but is just right. But you're a little rebel I supposed, who loves the fun out of drinking with friends. That'd be okay I guess, as long as you drink with moderation. Why? It lessens the risk of severe effects of alcohol in the body. The chance of getting ill may not be as small as a worm but might enable you to drive home safely. I ain't encouraging you to drink, I'm not even a drinker myself but I dont wan to spoil the fun for some people. After all, life is short and soon our hair will be grey as the ashes so it'll be okay to have some fun but be sure to that you're taking care of your health too or else that fun is gonna be gone too soon and I bet you dont want that to happen. So, release the beers! But be 50% sober.

(I used the FLOATING TIMER app displayed while I am writing, I am a cellphone user. This article is NOT TRANSLATED)

I hope you guys will like it:)

10
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @Ozzyy
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Winona
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

The word "people" is not a prompt the word is "perplex".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It made me recheck my article just now. I thought checking the whole article for some errors is included in the 10 minutes, isn't it? So i wasnt able to recheck it totally, and published it right away after the time was over๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‚. Missed some commas and letters there hahahaha. Im really sorry, I am new here in read.cash Im still learning. I often ask dumb questions๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can check after you wrote ten minutes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooops. I'm sorry about that๐Ÿ˜… I really raced with the timer I might have been confused with the words. 10 minutes is a hard one to beat while typing here in read.cash but I enjoyed the challenge haha. Am I allowed to edit "people" into a not bold text?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you are allowed to edit the bold "people". No need to change since you used at least 3 words out of 6. ๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did changed "people" into a normal text. Thank you again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Winona There were a lot of articles in the community and it was hard finding one to draw inspiration from (I'm also in the competition) but your title was eye-catching.... "Fifty-percent Sober?" I thought to myself that I found someone who thinks deep.

All your online arguments did pay off๐Ÿ˜‚ I think I'm going to be more on an online lawyer now so I can write as much as you do in such short notice... All this in ten minutes? I'm definitely getting my arguments ready.

Your article was very informative. I'm studying Medicine, but I wanted to skip all the medical parts so I don't bore my readers to death and so people don't tell me that I researched online. But you pulled it off so well I might consider changing my mind. Nice article you've got here. Hope you win something.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello Sir @Ozzy , thank you for noticing and thanks also for the upvote.

I think I have developed that type of writing style, putting a different title๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‚, I like things that is kinda mysterious and would spark curiousity.

It's a silly confession that my online arguments trained me to type fast๐Ÿ˜‚ but yes, it really does. And also my background knowledge about the topic is also helpful. And I also love science stuffs so most of the infos there are about the bodily systems. If I dont have the knowledge at hand I wont be able to write that much๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‚. I often get mental block๐Ÿ˜…

Sir, for me you dont have to skip your medical expertise in expressing your thoughts about the subject. This is freewriting, it offers you freedom and you dont have to impress your audience, I mean set aside what you think your audience will accept, you just got to be true about what you express or what you write. It's nice to have diversity, deep information, experiences. Some people prefer facts. Besides, if you input your expertise which is based from your field, you might be able to help people, you might be able to convince them, since you know what you are saying in the first place. And then add some salt, some sort of a bomb, a smooth flow in your article ( that's what always guide me in writing haha).

Good luck to us Sir

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good, I think I'll try it with my third entry. Good luck๐Ÿ”ฅ

And P.S. you don't need to call me sir, I'm way younger than you may think ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh sorry 'bout that๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alcohol isn't all bad I think it's when it is taken in excess

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you're right. That's why it is always adviced "drink moderately".

Drinking in ample amounts is not bad at all but drinking excessively is. Not only for the health but well, can put you to crazy situations. Want some good laugh? Check this out

https://read.cash/@Winona/look-what-it-made-you-do-2nd-entry-freewriting-contest-9fe43fc7

Not to seek attention for my second entry but I just wanna share to you some funny moments in drinking excessively. Hahaha

Or you can browse the articles mentioned by @wakeupkitty in her previous articles. You'll have good time reading those, for sure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like it when you includes the circulatory and nervous sytem to this article. Very nice article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I was able to include those since it has been our lesson at school.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are some alcohol which not so much harmful. You can drink it. But I advice you to avoid alcohol for drink.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right. Actually, there are some article entries that says a lot about the positive effects of alcohol and they're worth reading.

Yes, I actually dont drink alcohol haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also. I hate alcohol and cigarette so much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good for you. For the consumption of such can brought several health risks to a person. I say, we live a healthy way, specially this days.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. We can.๐Ÿ˜Œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am curious how you can type so fast on a cellphone. You do it for a profession or did you speak?

You wrote something good did your brain just spit it out or did you do some investigation first?

"...we all should drink moderately.." it made me think of something as I read it especially the word "all"... Perhaps the government wants us all to drink, they earn a lot of taxes where I live and the pharmaceutical industry will be happy too.

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi. I am not doing it for profession. I'm actually a student and I've been into writing eversince I was in grade school and Im also fond of public speaking, although Im not too confident about it, that's some sort of stuff I enjoy.

I've undergone some trainings when I was in grade school and I think it really come in handy for this competition. After reading the instructions and the word prompts I constructed several sentences in my head using the word prompt that was about 2 minutes before I write. And after that I set up my timer then burts into writing, then constructed the coherence of the sentences I made in my head then wrote freely. It doesnt work all the time though, I might have been able to write that long because I have some stock knowledge about alcohol since it was our lesson before.

I think I am able to type fast because I argue a lot online๐Ÿ˜‚ not a negative argument though, perhaps a friendly and informative argument with my friends and you need to type fast hahahahaha. Done that for years๐Ÿ˜‚

"We all should drink moderately" can be a bit misleading I think, sorry about that๐Ÿ˜… Im not encouraging everyone to drink hahaha well, all habits must be done in moderation, anything excessive can be bad for our health. I guess it also applies to any drink๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‚, coffee for example, cant have more than one or two cups in a day coz it alsonhas a bad effect in our body.

But yes I agree with that, the liquor industry pays a great amount of tax to the government haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice to meet you. This would be a great introduction post too. I type fast since years and partly write like you did. If I know the subject ahead it partly builds a story if I read and type it goes in a complete different direction but it's always good for the next topics to write about.

I think if it comes to alcohol, cigarettes, drugs, the governments earn a lot same if it comes to unhealthy people. Imagine we all didn't use these sellers any longer. What the world, economy, etc looked like. How many would be jobless (includes doctors, advisors, dietists, shrinks, etc)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I sometimes find difficulty in keeping my article in one track and given that it's free writing but it's always nice to challenge the mind haha right? Then you'll be amazed by the outcome. It's like breaking your own limits haha.

Yes. Cigarette and liquor industry also provides job to people that's why it can be easily eliminated, there will be an effect in a countries economy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With a freewrite a track is not important the busier the brain is how more you will find it back in what you write. The great thing is it does give you more good parts to write more about too. How rich the mind is, all those things you know and suddenly are remembered amazes me each time again.

Hopefully more people can control themselves. ๐Ÿ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's like popping popcorns and the pot has no cover. They just all go pew pew pew everywhere๐Ÿ˜‚

Practicing is necessary. And I'd like to practice more beacuse of this competition you held. It caught my interest and probably a lot of people here in readcash. It offers freedom in writing but with a subject. Through this, people here can engage more in writing and challenging themselves. More power to you @wakeupkitty ๐Ÿ˜Šโค

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep on mind dear about each topic you can freewrite. Use it to discover how much your mind knows.

For example you pick a topic: relationships You write 5 minutes about it. Use a general prompt generator for one word and write 5 minutes about it while you have the topic in mind. You can use the prompt generator again for the next word and 5 minutes writing.

Reread those 3x 5 minutes, edit a bit and thete's your story or article.

You can use topics people frequently search for on Google, out of the news or use a prompt generator for it too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is there an app for prompt generator?

Thank you very much, I am starting to love freewriting because of you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago