Seeing Him Was Like An Emotional Torture

4 24
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago

I already posted a blog before about my Uncle's condition that he is not well and is suffering from illness. As far as I know and remember, he was diagnosed with tuberculosis. One of the adverse effects of it to his body is swelling of lymph nodes particularly his mandibular lymph nodes.

It was obvious when you look at it as it is already big. Before he went to treatment, but now he is still undergoing some but in acupuncture therapy. He goes to this place in the neighboring province to get treatment.

Earlier this morning, I posted a photo stating that I just got home from picking up some of my things in my boarding house. Before that, we first brought my Uncle to the treatment hub.

The treatment center only accepts 25 patients per day as the maximum limit and we needed to leave at 1 o'clock in the morning so that we could get there early to secure a spot. We arrived at around 2 am. Good thing is that the place has kubos where we can take a nap.

I didn't sleep. I kept hearing my Uncle cough and I knew that he was suffering at that time. He was using his phone to focus his attention on what he was watching rather than to think of the pain. I pity him, I really am. I wanted to help him financially but I can't.

Seeing his condition was a total emotional torture for me. Starting when we picked them up, to sleeping, and seeing him get the therapy.

It was also my first time to accompany my Uncle. I first hand experienced the things that he had to do just to get the treatment. There was no bed to sleep in, just pure wooden planks. Also, the cold breeze of the night and the mosquitoes.

If only I had the chance to help, I would. I wanted him to get back on the treatment for patients with Tuberculosis but I don't know how to say it. I even thought of telling him while we were on our way home but I held myself from opening up the topic. My Kuya was driving and I knew he would be affected by what I was going to say. The only thing that I did was hand my Auntie the Vitamin C that I gave them and I hope that they get it as a message for them to take care of themselves.

I know all of us that surrounds him are experiencing emotional torture. Seeing him like that makes us want to cry sometimes. That bulky man before turned into a stick-like figure. Right now, I am just really praying to God to help him survive and for him to be strong.

May this be a reminder for all of us to take care of our health all the time. Health should indeed be valued. Because if it gets under control, we are the ones who will suffer from it.


Thank you for reading this! ❣️

3
$ 1.80
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Khairro
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago

Comments

Yung mother ko rin when I was just 10 years old ata noon ay nagkaroon ng tubercolosis. Namana ni mama sa lolo ko sa side niya, almost 6 months din siyang walang work noon at nag-uundergo ng treatments. Wala pa noong gamot hindi tulad ngayon na mas advance na ang medical fields. Thank God at gumaling si mami. Hoping na gumaling na ang uncle mooo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just also found out yesterday that Tuberculosis can be inherited. Mas lalo tuloy akong kinabahan for my family members.

Good thing that your Mom is already well. And thank you for your kind words, Khairro!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw.. i imagine it is very tough time for your fam seeing your uncle like that. Tsk.... I pray his body starts to fight back and regain strength so he can get better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It really is. Seeing him causes pain to us. Thank you, Ate Pichi! ❣️

$ 0.00
1 year ago