11 Years in Voluntary Japan: What I've Learned / How I've Changed

4 86
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

As of May 15, 2021 — I have been in Japan for 11 years.

To me, it seems hard to believe so much time has passed.

But in another sense, the years have been felt fully.

With progress, pain, success, setback, heartache, and happiness. In this post I'd like to talk briefly about what I've learned since being here in the land of the rising sun, and how Japan has changed me, or more accurately, been a seed crystal for my life — a catalyst by which my individuality has been able to expand and blossom.

I became a Voluntaryist in Japan

It was here that I was forced to face the undeniable logic behind the statement "taxation is theft."

It was here I took my disgust for bullies, and my respect for the peaceful individual, to its fullest logical conclusion, and embraced Voluntaryism.

My Family is here

It was here I met a beautiful, wild and free woman, and had a beautiful, wild and free son. Both of these individuals inspire me, teach me, correct me, and support me every day. Most importantly, they love me for me.

Unschooling, Jobs, Stomachaches

It was here that I put what I learned in my spare time in college into practice: unschooling. It was here that I quit so many safe jobs to pursue passions such as music, writing, and entrepreneurship.

It was here that I failed. It was here also that I succeeded and found myself writing for a period for Bitcoin.com, and the guy that got me into crypto in the first place.

It is here that I continue to struggle. Continue to win. Continue to want to cry in despair. Continue to laugh at the enemy and fight. Continue in unassailable joy: if we're laughing a belly laugh at the end, my friends, we win.

Teaching English

It is here that I have taught English to beautiful human beings from 6 months to 86 years old. This has kept my spirit young, and my knowledge wide. I've heard about action figure heroes and animé, as well as actual memories of U.S. bombs dropping on nearby towns in World War II.

Running

It was here that I started running. Running. I did not see this coming. First one mile. Then a deadly seven miles. Then 12. Then 20. Then a marathon. Then another. And another. I ran 100 miles at one go back in March. I now love running.

Goal of Voluntary Japan

The goal of Voluntary Japan, and my life here, is to introduce Voluntaryism to the world, and to live my life in happiness. In the moment. Happiness is not always a thrill. It is being present as life happens. As it unfolds, and as we create its unfolding.

I want to show the beautiful, inexplicably wonderful parts of Japan to the world. This is my dream world. And I want to show the beauty of individual self-ownership, and ideas of Western individualist freedom, to the people here. Also: there is so much liberty here already, that folks outside of Japan don't know about!

What's Next?

Rio de Janeiro... a cult sign appears. We're in for a rough ride in coming months and years I'm afraid.

Tokyo, Japan is currently being destroyed economically. The cult of corona. The cult of the crown. People's spirits are being broken. Livelihoods are being lost. They are killing themselves. It's getting darker and darker in many ways. But now we know more clearly where we stand, and who those individuals are that truly love us and respect our freedom as human dignity.

In the darkness the light shines brighter.

This is what I'm here for. To see what happens. And to live it. To live the adventure of Voluntaryism. My main goal is to spread the philosophy, because that's how change happens. Through ideas.

Shit's getting real, but shit's also getting exciting.

Let's get it.

万歳!

-GWS

Sponsors of VoluntaryJapan
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 19.81
$ 19.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.01 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
Sponsors of VoluntaryJapan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

Comments

One of my greatest dreams is to live in Japan. I love how respectful Japanese people are, their powerful technologies, art and culture, and a fair government. Truly a dream world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! 11years is a very long time and you made it happened. You have adopt everything there. Inspiring 😇 You can read my post about bch https://read.cash/@Arnavaria/spreading-bch-during-eid-8490240b

$ 0.00
2 years ago

11 years in japan is so long sir and you will adopt their culture and also their language. I always inspire and keep motivate of your post, here I wrote my articile to I hope you ckuld drop by, thank you.

https://read.cash/@SenseiZero/my-short-experience-in-noise-cash-f5cc805a

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the things are part of life.Where there are sorrows,there comes happiness later.So we should wait by patience.You have lucky woman And son that is great.Japan as I know beautiful country with beautiful heart.Applause for your passion as Voluntarily japan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago