What it means to ask.

8 19
Avatar for VinceCharlie
2 years ago

Date: Friday, April 15th 2022.

Before I start this post, I wanted to say I had one of the longest sleep in a while. It may be due to the fact that i am still recovering from a two days fever. (I call it two days cos' I've been struck with a mild fever since Wednesday). The weather is still at the moment, and the sky has never been brighter than it is now. If only you guys could see it.

Happy Good Friday to all of my wonderful readers, subscribers and awesome sponsors. I am grateful to have each one of you.

Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty

Without further ado I'll begin my article for today.

First I'd like to define what "to Ask" means. I know we all know what it entails since we've all been a student. However, I'd like reiterate it if you wouldn't mind. I saw a need to do this after being consistently disappointed by the ignorance of a set of persons some days ago as well as in the far past.

Image

To Ask - means to require permission to do or say something.

I think we can all agree that the definition above does justice to what "asking" really means. If yes, well I'd like to go on.

I also believe that it is only polite to ask for something when you are aware the thing in question doesn't belong to you. But, do people still realise this? I mean, I understand that you may have friends, family, a neighbour, a colleague or even a stranger come to your home for a visit and then they feel like they are entitled to ALL or any of your possession. You cannot exactly throw them out or tell them off your property, or belongings, right? So, in this case by taking note of their insensitivity and knowing that we have been disrespected, we politely tell them not to repeat such mannerisms again.

Take for example, an old friend comes to visit and in the grandest of your hospitality you allow them in. So this person just storms to your fridge and takes a couple of your favorite wine or juice and comfortably drinks the whole bottle. You would definitely be shocked, wouldn't you? Completely understandable. (I mean, without barring the whole mi casa su casa pleasantries and the whatnots), however, it now depends on what you tell this person or how you act after seeing how they have behaved.

People tend to take for granted the accessibility they have to you. Like they say, familiarity breeds contempt. Meaning - the extensive knowledge of or close association with someone or something leads to a loss of respect for them or it. (According to Google).

It is completely natural to have people close to you be given the freedom to feel at home around you. But, sometimes... When the situation calls for it they should also be able to respect your boundaries. When they do this, it shows how trustworthy, and how respectful a person they really are. It in turn brings people closer together, that's how a healthy relationship between grown ups should be.

Have you had moments when you experienced similar cases as the one mentioned above?

(Not to be spiteful or anything). But tell me what you think.

Greetings!

Hi.

Happy Good Friday again, guys. How are you all doing? I think I have fulfilled my quota by doing this today. I wasn't able to write at all yesterday and I hope the fever doesn't hold me down any longer.

Thank you reading.

Until we read again.

✌️💐

6
$ 1.59
$ 1.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
+ 2
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
2 years ago

Comments

Take advice from doctor and take medicine. Try to keep in rest ok. All the best for your recovery.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am feeling much better now, Esp. Thank you for stopping by.

Nice to meet you. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to meet you too dear friend from read.cash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Easter Vince and hope you are getting better now. No matter how close we are with another person, it is still best to ask when wanting to do something. It is a sign of respect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about the fever, Vince, get well soon. Basically I flow in line with your opinion, one should be able to set boundaries. I've been in such situation before. I'd be munching on a biscuit and from nowhere my friend comes; without asking, grabs the biscuit from my palm and eats it. I usually hardly complain but deep down I know I can't act that way to others. Some would come to visit you in your house and be like: "they are going out, and they want you to follow them" They didn't call to give a prior notice, they didn't seek permission, they didn't ask for your opinion, they just felt you're always less busy to tend to their needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well defined relationships are really essential. If your relationship with a friend is well defined, he'd be wary of the consequences of whatsoever action he takes. Just as you said, friend should be able to respect their boundaries. It's very necessary. So Sorry about your sickness hope you are getting better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your contribution. Ah, yes. I'm feeling a little better. Nice to meet you. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to meet you too brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago