"The Great Perhaps".

4 22
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago

Date: Wednesday, April 27th 2022.

Image

I couldn't bring myself to write yesterday because I was rather awashed with emotions throughout. Remember when I told you guys about the book I was reading, (that should be about a day ago, or something) well, who would've thought that it'd be something so intense. Something particularly struck me in one of those intense moments, a phrase, rather a quote by a once famous writer/scholar/poet Francois Rabelais. His words (which were pretty much his last words) read, "I go to seek a great perhaps".

I pondered on the reason why such a statement was uttered in his last moments, a Great Perhaps, whatever does that mean?

This was gotten from a book I was reading, and it resonated with me. I never would've come across such a statement if I wasn't predisposed to do what I loved doing. The character from whence the word was uttered ~ from the book a teenager, Miles Halter; whose obsession with the last words of famous names on their death beds led to him seeking something beyond just the normal. To him it meant to gamble it all, for something great, something that he doesn't have, and something here on earth. A much natural sense for someone who intended to find something other than the normalcy he pictured around him.

I, on one hand, could relate to his need for adventure. It was a concept that made him desire an "unguaranteed greatness" - in order words, leaving behind a terrifying life of mediocrity for a much greater maybe.

In more ways than one, I also hold this concept to be what I'd call "a true existence". I always never wanted to lead a life the way my parents saw it, the way I saw people around see the world. Often times, I'd sit on my couch in my room, and peer into my future, and many times I saw an unfulfillment I couldn't bear. It was like, me being stuck in a world eating "boiled eggs and having to go through the same routine of labour continually for fifty, sixty, seventy years till I am no more". It's terrifying! That's what I am most afraid of, to live as though I wasn't. Of wasting it as if I had never been.

That was why it became of much importance to me, how I choose to live in this world of uncertainty. Which reminds me of one of my old quote to Mom once. It read:

"Let's explore a whole new world together. Burn fires under the night sky, dream into a never-ending paradise, and build a fine sequence of galactic fortune for decades to come." And it has been etched into the deep corners of my heart ever since. There's no backing down now.

Greetings!

Hi, guys.

That was an unusually short post from me..., again. Sorry, i hadn't been pretty active on this end. A lot on my hands, really. (You get what I mean?) Lol

I'd like to congratulate @Oyinwrites on her first Month-versary on this platform. I don't usually do this, but there's always a first for something, right? Right.

To my sponsors, I thank you once again. My commenters, subscribers, big ups to you too.

Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty

You can check out their awesome contents too.

Thank you for sticking with me.

Until we read again.

Cheers!

8
$ 0.98
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.02 from @Talecharm
+ 2
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
1 year ago

Comments

hey I like to be with keep on touch because your writing skill attract me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, Rishab. Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you liked it. Nice to meet you. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeap you are a good writers and readers. I appreciate you to read more . It will hep you to collect knowledge

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you Vince.. I'm in awe😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago