The Bond of sacrifice: worth of Friendship.

4 22
Avatar for VinceCharlie
2 years ago

Source

3rd of March, 2022.

The worth of Friendship

Good friends are like stars, you don't always see them but they are always there.

Christy Evans

I stumbled upon this quote online while I read through my G-mail messages this morning. Afterwards, it felt as though my thoughts came alive and, were gradually forming words to shape the construct of whatever it is I wanted to write about. I had a different matter to talk about. Something was dormant in my inner self waiting to burst into life - like a bubbling Brook always refreshing and ever clear.

Friendship is one of the best gifts to happen in the life of any individual. Especially, knowing the fact that not much is gotten from life if once in a lifetime you do not experience the beauty of loving, caring and trusting a person; one whom you're proud enough to call a friend. There are bonds that comes whilst being in a relationship, and so is true for Friendship. Is there ever a contrast between the two? My belief is such bonds are always destined to evolve. Whether such relationships leads you a path where your journeys become intertwined in destiny with shared beliefs - achieving set goals, dreams and worthy experiences. You alone get know with time.

It is always a privilege to live life for others; a true test of humility and sacrifice. In an article written by @zellypearl "Found in Friendship", she profoundly wrote about being intentional about the true friends you keep close. Those beliefs come to stay with us as we learn the worth of friendship. As we learn to know more about life and the intricacies ridden with the knowledge of not making it alone in this world.

We, as humans, are not self-made in the real sense. At some point in our lives we have had friends who gallantly stood by us in perilous times and, with their help, have walked beside us through those difficulties. For some of us, friendship found us. My case was not so different. My first year in the University could have been a disaster. I was a shy type. (Still am!). In a foreign city where I wasn't comfortable being myself, the reasons are still unknown to me now that I think about it. It was just a few days after I arrived. The weather was hot, students usually queued up to get their forms signed and I was begining to detest not only the harsh conditions but, the sheer lack of concern for the very tired crowd.

On one particular day, in the faculty where I was supposed to sign different bio-data and registration forms. A guy walked up to me and asked what my name was. It felt weird that having not known who i was, he wasn't scared to introduce himself. (Not that I had an unapproachable dont-come-near-my-dwelling look or anything). Lol. He was just the complete opposite of me. Straightforward, loquacious and he always waved at passerbys whenever we walked. I was so uncomfortable. Lol

My point, however, is that from the moment we spoke we've bonded like none other. We shared dreams, and aspirations. With him I could be the best version of me. Once I told him, "my bar is always raised whenever I'm with you, and I found that our friendship is a healthy one". We encourage and spur each other on, every single step of the way. He is an Anchor - always helping to keep my head on straight and challenging me all the same.

You can find someone like that, too. Maybe you also have someone like that already. Who knows? I know. You do. 😄

Conclusion

Let's let ourselves care, love and trust someone. We never truly know when we leave this world. We may be feeling differently about a lot of things in life with the weight of uncertainties going around, but knowing who matters to you and building relationships would incredibly be just as fitting and helpful for your sanity.

Thank you for reading.

Stay jiggy, guys. 💐💌

4
$ 0.55
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Sequoia
$ 0.02 from @Kristofferquincy
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
2 years ago

Comments

Friendship is one of the best gift that the heaven have bestowed to everyone of us. However, we should choose our friends wisely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True words, Sequoia. Thank you for adding those words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friendship is a gift we had from someone or from the others. It will help us. It give us happiness and enjoyment. If we found already that someone where we build we called friendship we should treasure it. Yes Vince sometimes we should give a chance or let ourselves love and care somebody especially those people who are close to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. You're absolutely clear on that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago