A Mischief too many, II

6 20
Avatar for VinceCharlie
2 years ago

Image

Date: Thursday, April 7th 2022.

The teenagers decided to do what seemed like an herculean task - they were daring, at least more than any kid their age. Tim wasn't always the fearful type especially when it's time to get his hands dirty, but this one spelled a danger that he wasn't sure of.

Tracy had always trusted her sidekick to be calm-headed when the going gets tough. And when they both made up their minds to leave the cart they hid in, there was no going back.

"We're here", said the girl.

"Alright, now let's show these crooked landowners that we don't back off a fight...".

"Hold your horses there cowboy...", she stopped. "Let's not forget why we're here, time is not on our side", she continued.

Tracy knew that doing this would mean something. Something the townspeople failed to realise. That the Brian's aren't what they seemed! She was willing to go the extra mile for the good of her family, and best friend, Tim. She must have thought that if the plan works the Town would realise their fault in making Brian Ruperts Mayor.

Just before Tracy finished picking the last of the locks, she noticed a figure heading towards them in the thick of night. "Perhaps, it's the watchman", she thought. And in truth, it was! She cringed and hurried to where Tim was at. He was gone. She searched the place to warn him of the strange man-like figure she saw. By this time, they have let out the horses and she worried that he must've taken the chance to flee without waiting for her.

"Oh, Tim! You bloody cunt. Wait till I get a hold of you", she said angrily.

She scrurried out of the stables and back to the rendezvous point. But, it all seemed strange. She knew Tim too well and he wouldn't have not stayed back for her. Suddenly, she heard a scream from behind the stables. It felt like a cry for help. She gasped and tried to find her breath. "No! That must be Tim. What do I do?", she thought.

All of a sudden, a man leapt out of the shadows and towards the direction of an old house. She could see the figure clearly now. It was the watchman. He was dragging what looked like a boy with him to his shelter. His firm grip held tightly the wrist of the person that was forced to go with him. She moved closer to try and get a view of who it was, and like she feared it was Tim. "H... h... he's been caught!", she stuttered. How it came to be was beyond her reasoning. He was only a few steps behind her and, although she noticed a sudden stint in the moments it took to perform her magic *(pick the locks)* and release the horses. She never thought anything of it as he probably must've gotten tired of his ramblings.

Now more than ever she had to find a way to get Tim out. But, how would it be? She hasn't been cornered to that extent, or been found to be in such dire situation. To her it's become more of a life and death situation, and the mere thought of it only made her feel worse. It didn't take long when the man came out and pointed a flash light into the bushes near his home. He must've heard some rustling and suspected that the boy surely had an accomplice.

"Come out this instant or, there'll be consequences".

His voice sounded hoarse and managed to send shivers to Tracy's spine. If she was planning to do anything at all, now is not the time to play Macho. She jumped out of from where she hid and requested that the man released her friend. He was surprised to hear the little lady say that. Perhaps, she must have thought the whole situation wrong. So, he deemed it necessary to question the both of them.

"Why don't you come in?", said the watchman.

"So you can do whatever it is you plan to do to me?", she asked. "Not a chance!", she continued.

"Alright Missy, I'll be brief. I know you both caused the ruckus earlier. Now I have to find the horses you so ignorantly released into the night!", he said angrily.

"Do you have any idea what work you've given to me?", he continued.

"Serves anyone who works for the Brian's right", she mumbled.

*Sighs*

"Your friend in there told me all that happened after I told him I wasn't the bad guy", he said. "I know you think the Brian's are up to no good, and you left me with a ton of work trying to catch them red-handed", he added.

Tracy tried hard to not believe the made up story until, Tim came out the front door. She was glad, and confused. "He was probably coerced to tell me off my wonderful plan", she thought. But, the Man was telling the truth. He's been working undercover to investigate the Brian's property as they were news of underhanded operations in the makeshift hideout. After all that was said, the Man talked them into leaving it all for the grownups and the proper authorities. It was an unforgettable experience for the teenagers, and this time they had to bid farewell to their unending mischief. Ahough Tracy's expression never showed any signs of giving up her "old-found" hobby. Still, they both felt it was worth the effort.

Greetings!

Hi everyone.

So, that's the final part of he story I started with a prompt two nights ago. I wasn't able to conclude it yesterday as I was so tired I dozed off after the Champions League game.

I hope you like it.

Follow me: noise.cash

Thank you for sticking with me.

Until we read again.

✌️💐

7
$ 2.07
$ 2.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
Sponsors of VinceCharlie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VinceCharlie
2 years ago

Comments

This story was awesome, I love the way you write, your play of words. Makes it seem like it was typed with the fingers of an American. You're good at what you do, Vince. I love the conclusive part of the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An American? Smiles... I'm flattered. Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I definitely loved it especially the ending. An amazing story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Thank you for that. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice conclusion to the story... I'm not much of a reader (unless I'm reading comic books though lool) but I have to say I enjoyed reading this... Keep up the good work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Much appreciated my man. I'll keep doing that. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago