How I almost lost my crypto in Binance

3 28
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago

Before now, I have resolved that i won't write about crypto out of the blue. I'll start from the ground up how i got to know about crypto, the hitches along the way, loses, gains and many other experiences encountered. My story with crypto is filled with lots of humor, tears and lessons that i think will be beneficial to people but with what happened yesterday i just had to rule out my resolve and publish this.

Binance is a very good crypto trading app with lots of features. When the app was recently launched, they did an airdrop and distributed lots of their tokens to people who download the app. A lot of people including a friend of mine who knew about crypto then got the airdrop which he sold some and kept some till the coin skyrocketed to the price it is right now. He really made a lot of cash from that single airdrop. Oh how i wish i also knew about crypto then.

A not so nice incident (I'll tell you about that in another article)prompted me to join the platform and sincerely I've never regretted doing same. With binance, one can buy or sell crypto and convert to fiat money seamlessly without a hitch and be guaranteed of the safety of the funds in the wallet. I think it's the only platform that has never been attaked by cyber criminals since its existence which shows the prowress of its security team. When the Nigerian government declared the ban on crypto, we all thought that was the end as many indigenous trading platforms had to go under but binance team showed their commitment by quickly creating a p2p platform in the app where one can buy and sell without getting into any form of trouble. They saved Nigerian crypto community which also helped in giving them more recognition and users.

I've been using binance app for years without any issue but yesterday.. something different happened.

Before now, I changed all my crypto investments into stable coins because of the bearish trend. So yesterday, i received some $$ from an airdrop i participated and i decided it will go to my Bank account which I'd use to spoil myself a bit πŸ˜‰. So as usual i moved the funds to my p2p wallet and sold it to a buyer whose rates was favourable. After about 10 minutes or so, i finally received an alert of the money. It was now left for me to acknowledge payment and release the coin. I tapped on the release coin dialog box multiple times but not response. I did that for many times but nothing changed.. I closed the app and reopened it again, tapped many times but it didn't work.. what could be wrong I asked myself. An idea popped up in my head to switch my data to another network. After purchasing browsing data, I tried to acknowledge receipt of payment but nothing changed. Oh my.. at this time, I've already received 13 messages from the buyer already.. asking me why I've not released his coin.. The agitation increased at this point because before the transaction he informed me that he doesn't like delay in the released crypto and I understand because this traders make their profits using arbittatge which also means time is of the essence if any profit is to be made and i gave him my word now the I've taken som much time already.

When I was finally able to get past the payment received dialog box, he already filed an appeal as per the customary. As was about to do the two factor security authorization, another bigger problem popped up. I just remembered that the sim i used is not with me and there was no way i could get past the authorization without it. I don't know how but he chatted me up on WhatsApp and was complaining bitterly. I apologized as much as possible and told him the issue i had and am still having. I told him to send me his account number for a refund since there's no way i can confirm the payment. After doing the transfer, i then realized that the money is sent was less than what he sent. All the while the appeal was still counting which i later realised thanks to this guy that if the countdown elasped, he'll be automatically be credited since i haven't tendered any proof of having not received payment.He then warned me not to transact with any one outside the walls of binance apps as they are so many scammers hiding under the pretext of buyers.

Sponsors of Venvie
empty
empty
empty

Thank you 😍

He cancelled the appeal and told me to forget about the remaining money. I couldn't stop thinking him. He had every opportunity to take his money and my crypto but he rather lost a few bucks and enlightened me. I saved his number instantly after i got to know his name. Such good people are hard to find these days.

No one knows it all. We keep learning every day. Another lesson learnt!

Please like and subscribe.

Thanks

3
$ 0.67
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
Sponsors of Venvie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Oh, glad the guy you transacted with is a good man. Otherwise you would have lost your money. But because Binance has its user's data, I guess one would think twice to fool other users. But then again, we still have to be very careful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah one has to be careful. Even Binance warns about it. Thanks for always stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pleasure :) Cheers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago