Giving - It's In The Heart Only!

0 25
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago

Hi my amiable readers. How are you all doing? Hope your day is going great? The topic for today came about through a video I watched recently but before I talk about the video, I'd like to share what my view is about Giving

Sponsors of Venvie
empty
empty
empty

Thanks for your support.😊

I've always had this mindset that giving is the aftermath of excess supply(When someone has got something in excess). You don't give when you don't have enough or else you become stranded. the quote you don't give what you don't have rings the bell of affirmation to this believe and another adage "A beggar cannot beg a beggar' sealed it. Many times, I feel like I'm in a position to help but then the fear of losing the little I've got never let me help the person.

My transition from being a child to a young adult made me not to be too quick to judge the stingy. Giving even when there's abundance is also hard. The thought of all the strenuous activities that one had to go through before earning that money and giving it out to someone who didn't do anything at all makes one feel like it's a waste especially when the person the receiving would not even appreciate it. Many people do not appreciate other people's efforts. They feel like they deserve even more. I remember a person that I helped pay school fees last year. Then I did a program and I just got paid for it when this person came wailing that the school fees given was used for an investment which later crashed. How can someone use his or her school fees for an investment? Long story short, I felt pity and decided to help out with 60k. That was the first time I gifted anyone such huge amount of money. Even after giving the money, I just kept thinking of the many personal things I could've solved with that money. When I told my friends they called what I did crazy..and they were right. Two months later, this person wouldn't even say hi to me as if we were enemies.. My friends laughed so hard at me and there and then I promised myself that I won't give anyone anything based on compellation or friendship. I would only give what I can afford to part ways with and not a penny extra. I made this resolve not as a result of the mockery talks from my friends but because I realised that I used the wrong mindset in giving that money. I thought as friends are meant to help each other, and also based on give and receive, I'll also be assisted during my times of need not knowing that it seldom happens that way and most times the end result varies so much from what's expected.

But in this video, a senior adult is seen begging in the streets looking malnourished, pale and worried. He had lots of problems but the biggest one at the moment was that he's about to get kicked out of his little apartment because he was unable to pay rent. He kept wailing and some kind persons while passing that way dropped some cents his way. Soon, a young guy popped up from no where and asked the wailing beggar for help. He didn't have enough money for transport do he needed about 9cents to complete it. This beggar had an urgent problem and every cent is very important but to my surprise and amazement, the senior adult said to the guy

"Here's 11 cents. You can use it.. it's important you have the complete money so you don't get stucked"

I felt touched. He gave out of the very little he has even when faced with a tough challenge. I believe the guy was touched by his act and then asked why he was begging and looking shabby. The old man told him how he's just a few hours from being kicked out of his rented apartment. The guy shaked his head and brought out $1200 and gave it to him. The reaction of the beggar was priceless. It's the kind of countenance you make when the least person you're expecting something from comes to the rescue. The old man fell from his wheelchair, thanking the guy. The guy quickly helped him back up. He asked what his name is and left. The next day the guy came looking for the beggar. He finally found him and told how he told his friends what transpired between them and they all contributed the sum of $60, 000 for him. The beggar cried and hugged the guy. I also felt emotional here. The young guy took him to the salon, cleaned him up, bought clothes and groceries for the beggar. The beggar kept sheding tears of joy. It was a wonderful moment to behold.

This taught me that all I know about giving was actually wrong. Giving is done with all one's heart without expecting anything at all.

2
$ 0.07
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
Sponsors of Venvie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago

Comments