Reason Versus Excuse

16 75
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

What is the difference between a reason and an excuse?

Pretty simple question, eh! Yes, it is, and I wish to know it pretty precisely!

We often give reasons and excuses several times a day. But, what exactly is the difference between the two words, I mean, "reason" and excuse?"


What do you say while giving a reason or an excuse?

There is a sharp difference when we tell others or ourselves why we couldn't do something. We can easily understand the difference if we minutely notice what we say while giving an excuse or reason.

  • Suppose I go for a morning walk or jogging every day. One day, I couldn't go for a walk in a situation like this.

When I woke up in the morning, I could feel some uneasiness. I felt I had a temperature plus a severe cold. I was not physically fit to go out for a walk. So, I skipped the morning walk/jogging for that day.

==> I had a little bit of fever and severe cold. So, I decided not to go for a walk in the early morning. This one is a reason.

I woke up and drank water. Then I didn't find my jogging shoes. Did I lose my jogging shoes? I wonder and couldn't locate all my shoes, slippers, except my jogging shoes. So, I decided to skip that morning's walk/jogging.

==> I found all my shoes and slippers except my jogging shoes. I could have gone for a walk with my slippers or any other shoes. Instead, I took a break from my morning walking/jogging routine. This one is an excuse.


Next time you skip work, think about why did you skip it. Was it due to a reason, or was it an excuse?

  • Showing reasons or excuses is easy. Finding an alternative way out is difficult. It requires thinking and searching. The question is whether you are ready to try out other options or give an excuse to avoid work.

  • It is up to you (and me) if you (and I) are willing to look at the positive side s of work and carry on whatever resources we have at our hands, or just give up as a lazy human.


Conclusion

Thus, a reason is a reason, which may be overcome when the situation changes and improves, but an excuse is an excuse, which can't be overcome because giving an excuse becomes a habit.

  • Excuses avoid taking responsibility and put the blame on other entities.

  • Reasons often come with positive results, but excuses mostly produce negativity.

  • Excuses result in procrastination and unhappiness, but reasons help to find several new paths to do a job.


Sponsor of this article:-

Image Source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image: I created a GIF using my title texts and photos by Simon Hurry and Victor on Unsplash.

All other images are either drawn/created by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#reason #excuse #logic

July 22, 2022

13
$ 3.10
$ 1.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 10
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Excuses are obstacles that prevents us from getting to our destination or achieving our goals. I love giving excuses and I need to stop this bad habit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It may not be exactly so. Excuses mean blaming other things for not doing work. Reasons are genuine obstacles that may appear in situations.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's funny that I always make excuses then at the end of the day, I'm annoyed because I am not productive. It's all about self-discipline after all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, self-discipline is the key. Excuses result in procrastination and unhappiness, but reasons help to find several new ways out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a useful justification for separating justification from defense. While excuse is a negative tone, reason is more of a positive one. I appreciate you sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad you could resonate with my differentiating reason and excuse.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well analysed 🙌. so it's clear that excuse is what we do when there's an alternative solution but we choose to let it be because of laziness 🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

An excuse is to avoid taking responsibility and putting the blame on other things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And mostly i use excuse when i was in school now I've proper reason to not to do work but there's less people who believe on my reason

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are your best judge. You can make out which one is what.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very well explained excuses and reasons. I leave most of my work because of excuses.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you enjoy your excuses, continue doing!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Excuse me, this was a nice topic and with a great explanation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have to get rid of the excuses, and this one is a clean way to do that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a good explanation to differentiate reason from excuse. Reason is more of a positive note while excuse is negative. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, reason comes with positive results, but excuse produces negativity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago