Thursday's rule.

7 25
Avatar for Trofi01
2 years ago
March 03, 2022
Thursday

Actually, I was going to write about something else but something happened today and thereby I thought that let's publish today about it, the rule I broke today.

I belong to a religious family though I worship rarely. What's the need to disturb the God/Goddess every now and then they are already listening to many devotees. And with one less worship, they have to be thoughtful for one less person. OK jokes aside, I am not here to condemn any religious beliefs, or gods and goddesses.

So, My mother basically keeps a fast on Thursdays which means she doesn't usually eat food to express her beliefs in the god she has faith in. She worships many gods and goddesses but she keeps fast for only one and he is "LORD VISHNU".

Her days go like this on Thursdays- get up, freshen up, take bath, pray in which she recites the story of Lord Vishnu followed by a prayer line of him, then after she has her tea which is made by me.

According to the rituals, the things that the devotee of Lord Vishnu and their family has to AVOID ON THURSDAYS are as-

  • NO USE OF SOAPS FOR BATHING YOURSELF/ CLOTHES

  • NO USE OF MUSTARD OIL

  • NO HAIRCUT

  • NO NAIL-CUTTING

  • NO IRONING OF CLOTHES

  • NO USE OF ONION, GARLIC

  • NO MEATS AND RELATIVE ITEMS

  • NO PORRIDGE

Maybe I forget something but I think I covered up pretty well what we have to avoid doing as a family of a devotee of Lord Vishnu.

So, what happened is today my brother was going to the national capital "DELHI" and he has not any clothes which were ironed in advance so he says to me "XYZ, can you iron my clothes" and I said yeah sure I also have some of the shirts to iron. And at this time I did not remember that it was Thursday and firstly I ironed his clothes and then started mine. At which point my mother said "KEEP ON IRONING CLOTHES ON THURSDAY" and I retorted "Mother, sorry I forget that I am not supposed to iron clothes on Thursdays now what" and she said doesn't matter it was already emergency for your brother. Then I keep on ironing the rest of the clothes of mine.

My Opinions:

I do not have a belief in any of the things mentioned above but I comply with all the things that I am supposed to avoid on Thursday not because her faith will be affected because of me and won't be fruitful, instead becomes terrible. But, I follow all of it only because it is a guideline issued by my parents and if complying with them makes your parents happy then what is so hard in following the above rules. And the plus point is you also don't have any difficulty in following them.

But, in case of emergency, it's not a big deal to break the rule, of course, emergency situations are always of higher importance in human life.

Thank you.

Have a good night's sleep.

Original content

6
$ 1.55
$ 1.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.02 from @Kristofferquincy
+ 1
Sponsors of Trofi01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trofi01
2 years ago

Comments

I feel that these rules are a bit strange, but each person and each religion is the way it is, I can't imagine having to go out on a Thursday to a meeting and not having ironed my shirt before, and I can't iron it because it's Thursday.... All rules are created for a reason, don't think I'm making fun of that, no, just never having heard of rules like that they seem a little strange to me, but I respect your family's belief. Even if we don't believe in the same as our parents, it is important to respect their beliefs and avoid problems.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate how you expressed your views. but I have also mentioned that in case of emergency we break the rules without any hesitation. And it's as simple and flexible like that. you can see in my story that I broke that rule that day. And in the Hindu religion, one can do anything they want there are no restrictions, no coercion, nothing. Do whatever you want and in what manner you want. you are just free.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Obey first before you complain heheheh. Hi mate. How are you? I think You need to understand what's your mother practicing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your my opinions section a lot bro...you are a good human being not like me though...I am so 😞 bad

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Everyone is a good person Shohan and I believe you are also a good person)) Keep smiling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your respect is the most important in that kind of situation. You're such a good and kind son/daughter hehe. Even though our family we're devoted to that rules, we must keep our respect to them. By the way nice meeting you here and see you around ☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice meeting you too miss)) and I am the gentleman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago