Success and Habits

13 59
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago
Topics: Success, Habit, Progress

Hey there, it's been a while. My inconsistency in publishing an article per day troubles me. I have seen a lot of amazing writers like @Fexonice1 @Kushyzee @Unity @Princessbusayo @Olasquare , these writers, and many others that I won't be able to list, write every day and they rarely miss a day.I do always wonder how they do it.

I often give myself excuses for being busy or blame the lack of motivation for not writing. But some of these writers are busier than I can be. Then it hit me that all these excuses I'm giving are all flimsy.

Like Physical fitness

From the book titled "No Excuses" by Brian Tracy. Achieving Success was likened to achieving physical fitness. The analogy is fantastic.

All those amazing athletes you see on the Fields and tracks have one thing in common, and that's consistency. Consistency in training, in keeping to all the rules guiding physical fitness, to the right diet, proper rest, and so on. They do all of these daily and they rarely skip them

They are not gods, but humans like us. They are also tempted to break off these great habits but they have persistently continued to do what is right. Just like athletes, anybody who wants to achieve success in any field must be consistent and without consistency, a person cannot achieve success.

You don't go to the gym once a month and expect to get fit so also you don't do the right things once a month and nothing during the rest days and expect things to fall in place. The pursuit of success is continuous, you don't stop until you've achieved what you set out to achieve.

Seek advice

One way to shorten the road to success is by learning from experts or people who had been through the same paths you are about to take.

If you don't seek help from those who are experienced even though you might achieve success it would take a long time, because you will be weighed down by mistakes; that could be avoided if you seek opinions and advice from people who had been on the same path you are on.

Success as a price

Success is not free it comes with a price. If success was free and easily obtained then there would be a lot of successful people out there on the street.

Success does come at a price and only those who are willing to pay would get it. One can liken success to an auction, only the highest bidder takes it home.

For example, in an Olympic race, the best from different countries compete against one another, but only one person can win the gold medal and that is the person who runs the fastest.

To achieve success in any particular field you need to sacrifice your time and energy and money. And without those sacrifices, one can’t achieve success.

Habits

Habits are a big determiner of success. Habits are what you do constantly and your body and brain have been accustomed to.

For example, I remember when I was little anytime, I wanted to pick up something instead of bending down to pick it up I would use my legs and pick it up because I felt it was much easier than picking it up with my hands, I keep doing this every time and slowly and subconsciously it became part of me. One day I needed to pick up something for someone and I immediately use my legs the person wasn’t happy with this and felt I bad afterward.

But I trained my brain to take those actions, by not doing the right thing and it became a habit that might not be pleasing to do when others are there.

Bad habits are the easiest to form because they result from you wanting cheap comfort from a particular situation. Good habits, on the other hand, require you to put your attention into what you are doing which is always hard.

Good habits are truly hard to maintain but they are easy to live with and you be proud of doing them. Bad habits are easy to form but they isn’t something you can be proud of. One can easily sleep all day and do nothing but you can’t be proud of that in public.

Thanks for reading

You can connect with me on these platforms

Hive | Noise cash | Instagram | Twitter | Telegram

20
$ 4.14
$ 3.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Knowhere
$ 0.10 from @Unity
+ 10
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago
Topics: Success, Habit, Progress

Comments

Publishing everyday is not easy at all, considering that I have a lot of other things I am doing as well. One thing that helps me is that I have a very tight schedule I always stick to everyday, everything I do daily all have some specific amount of time allocated to them.

It actually gets easier when you start pushing yourself to publish everyday, it will get to a point where it becomes weird if you don't publish but something like that comes with some sacrifices; and right now I had to sacrifice Whatsapp because I added a new activity to my daily schedule: hive 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your comment is really an eye opener. Thanks Kushyzee

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Success truly has a price, the question is are we willing to pay it to the very core? Consistency is one thing I lack, though I have been trying to fit it in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can do it, if you set your mind to it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I can..thanks a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was also very punctual in publishing blog here but due to lack of motivation I couldn't continue my efforts on daily basis that offend the rusty with me and results in her absence from month. Yet I love to publish and read article from friends. I am trying to stick again on the habit of writing article daily. No doubt that consistency is the key to success. One have to struggle for years to be perfect in some skill or work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let keep struggling until perfection

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Success requires sacrifice and that entails being consistent in whatever you do so as to get a reasonable and good result in the end. Writing here always has been part of me and this is because I set goals for myself and wouldn't want to miss not achieving it daily.

Thanks for the mention though 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great 👌, I think I need to start setting those goals too.

You're welcome ma'am

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To succeed in life, we all have to stop making irrelevant excuses at all times or procrastinating. Our success do depends on those two at times

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes Rasaq, excuses and procrastination are the main blockers to success

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely pal, we should learn to avoid them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, we need to seek an advice from others but we should also accept constructive criticism from them...

$ 0.00
1 year ago