Someday Island

14 51
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

One of the first geographical terms I learnt as a kid was the word “Island”. I can’t remember the exact first time I came across the word but I could remember some of my first memories with the word.

I remembered that I was 7 years old and we were having a reading time in school . We took turns to read the passage and it was my turn to read. My textbook in my hands as I went to the front of the classroom and began reading.

While I was reading I can across the word “island”. I didn’t know the correct pronunciation, so broke down the word down into syllables, as were taught to pronounce new words. I pronounced the “is” like it would have be pronounced if it stood alone, then I joined it with the pronunciation of “land”.

But my teacher scoffed and halted my reading. She corrected my pronunciation of the word, by saying that the “s” was silent and never pronounced.

Knowing more about Islands

After that experience, I believed I came to learn more about the word “island” meant from my Dad. My dad is very vast in geography and he taught me some geography terminologies like lake, peninsular etc. I remember reciting as a little kid some definitions like: “an Island is a land totally surrounded by water”.

As I grew up, my knowledge about islands expanded. There are islands in my country and in my state (Lagos state). The State's name was gotten from one of the island called "Lagos island".

I got to know more as I grew up, about some countries in the world that are islands; like Britain, Japan, Taiwan, Philippines and so on. There are thousands of islands in the world. Even some countries like Indonesia have hundreds of islands.

Someday Island

On Saturday, I got to know about an island called ‘Someday Island’. Where is this island located and what is unique about the island?

Firstly, I need to tell you that this Island isn’t a physical island but its exist. This Island lives in our mind or I could say in our head and imagination. It is a place where many of us have resided or are currently living in (I think I have a mansion in this island, lol).

Just like an actual island that is cut of from other land bodies, Someday island is independent and once you are in the island it is hard to get out.

I got to know about Someday Island through reading Brian Tracy book: “No Excuses!”.

According to Brian Tracy, 80% of the people on earth are currently living in the island. People who live in the island are people who use to procrastinate and say: “someday I would start this, someday I would do this or that”.

They live in the island and anytime you ask them why they haven’t left the island they start giving excuses. Basically "excuses" is the currency in the Island.

Just like some of my readers who might be reading my article, I would like to acknowledge that I’m also in the island and it is sucks.

The king of the island is procrastination and the way to leave this island is to start taking that steps you wanted to take or that you’ve kept postponing all these years.

Let it no longer be someday I would read, someday I would write, someday I would hit the gym. Start today and you would see yourself leaving Someday Island. Once you've left Someday Island; you would be glad that you did!

Thanks for reading

14
$ 2.44
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 7
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

How many islands can be found in Nigeria? I don't know much about your countries, but I like the clothing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not much, not like the Philippines. Nigeria itself isn't an island but it isn't landlock either. We have access to the Atlantic ocean in the south

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looks like a lot of us made that mistake of pronouncing island as "is-land" 😆

Looks like I have several mansions and even an estate on this someday island 😂 procrastination is the thief of time and no matter how I try to fight it most times, I still end up losing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least I believe you're doing better than I'm doing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Procrastination is me, I am procrastination. I probably own someday island

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really, you are big man then. Actually that's bad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let's not lie, 90% of us learnt the pronunciation with "ICE" and "LAND", and we were corrected. But english pronunciation could be tricky sometimes 🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it can, but not as tricky as other languages like french 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I have learned something new from you today. I am also stucked in an island where I don't know how to begin my life, I'm scared to get out from my own island without knowing there are more beautiful islands I will discover once I get out from my own comfort zone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said Sydney. You're not alone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I love the illustration of what you have given to this. I will find my escape route from the someday island.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am still looking for way, truth be told

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Philippines have many islands that it would take you decades before you manage to visit all of them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's fantastic to know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago