Mum escaped death

5 23
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
6TH FEBRUARY,2022.
8TH ARTICLE IN ALL.
6TH ARTICLE IN THE MONTH.

Happy New week! It's a great privilege that my mum is still alive. To God be all the glory.

It happened one fateful morning. We all woke up early to prepare for the day.

We ate breakfast and my dad and mum went to their places of work. My siblings were at home. They were busy with the house chores. When it was noon, my mum left her place of work to open the shop where she sells kitchen utensils for some time before she would go home. My dad was not yet back. Everything seemed normal. There was a bank not too far from the shop. The distance is about ten minutes drive.

My mum prayed, arranged the shop and attended to some customers. She was about dozing off when she heard a gun shot. She listened and then heard another one. Immediately, she packed all items back into the shop and locked herself up in the shop. She lay on the floor, praying for protection. She called my dad on phone to inform him and be praying for her. There was confusion and commotion everywhere. Mothers were looking for their children who just came back from school. Children were running back to their mothers' shops.

Armed robbers had attacked the bank and they were shooting sporadically into the air. Many people were hit by stray bullets. Those who had shops in front of the bank, left their goods and fled for their dear lives. There was an old man innocently coming from his farm on a bicycle, he was killed immediately the armed robbers sighted him. They thought he might have charm to use against them.

In the midst of this commotion, my mum remembered my siblings who were at home. There was no way she could communicate with them in the house and they might be preparing to come over to the shop. When the gunshots subsided, she quietly opened the door but did not see anyone. She quickly locked the door and began to run home which was about twenty minutes walk. She was the only soul standing in the streets. She saw a masked armed robber who shot at her but the bullet went straight above her hair. She never knew she could run until that day. Her legs became heavy to carry due to the shock. It was as if someone was pulling her legs.

She ran into a friend's house but she had locked her door with others. She opened for my mum and rested for a while. She ran out again and did not wait till she got home. When she got home, there was no one at home. My mum began to ask our neighbors to know my siblings' whereabouts. Few minutes later, my siblings came back home. There was no more water in the tank due to the dry season and they had gone in search of water.

My siblings were surprised to see my mum sweating and crying. When they got inside, my siblings said they didn't know that anything happened and they were just preparing to go to the shop. My mum was rolling on the ground, thanking God for saving her life. She later used some drugs to relieve the stress and slept.

After the armed robbers got away with the money, some people came out and took advantage of the opportunity to steal phones and other items from the shops that were deserted. Some were caught while others escaped. The policemen were also afraid of the robbers. They came out after the robbers had left.

I believe I didn't scare you too much. It was such a terrible day. May God preserve us from all evil. Thanks for reading.

4
$ 1.44
$ 1.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Itsfarah
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Oh no! What an experience. I'm so happy the bullet didn't touch her jeez! The man actually shot at her! Thank God she's alive and escaped it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We thank God. Thanks for your care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg...this would be a terrible day to be attacked by the armed robbers, but Thank God your mom and siblings were saved.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for your concern.

$ 0.00
2 years ago