Letter from a father to parents; part 2

0 22
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Children, Parenting
3RD JULY, 2022.
115TH ARTICLE IN ALL.
3RD ARTICLE IN THE MONTH.

Hello 🙋 Happy Sunday friends.

Quitting and leaving a child to himself is very dangerous. Samson's parents left him to himself. They refused to be firm with him. It even got to a point where he could tell his parents categorically, "Get her for me!" and they yeilded. Time and time again they were at the mercy of his whims and tantrums. The outcome was disastrous. Samson lost the power and calling of God. He lost God's anointing. And though he repented at the tail end, his ministry was truncated. He died prematurely.

Knowing fully well that leaving children to themselves for whatever reason could have very grave consequences for us and for our children, it is expected of us as parents to resolve to do whatever it takes to be joyful winners and not sorrowful losers in the task of parenting. However challenging it might be, we cannot afford to let Satan or the world have the upper hand in the lives and destiny of our children. Therefore, we must begin the journey to successful parenting by taking a closer look at our lives and our methods.

Below is a list of instructive resolutions made by me after examining myself and realizing my past mistakes.

I would love my spouse more:

In the closeness of family life, it is easy to take each other for granted and let a dullness creep in that can dampen even the deepest love. So, I would love the mother of my children more and be free in letting them see that love.

I will develop feelings of belonging

If children do not feel that they belong in the family, they will soon find their primary group elsewhere. I will use meal times more to share happenings of the day instead of hurrying through them. I'd find more time for games or projects which all could join.

I would laugh more with my children

The best way to make children good is to make them happy. I see now that I was, many times far too serious. I must always be careful that I do not communicate that being a parent is a constant problem.

I would be a better listener

I believe that there is a vital link between listening to children's concerns when they are young and the extent to which they will share their concerns with their parents when they are older.

I would do more encouraging

There is probably nothing that stimulates children to love life and seek accomplishment more than sincere praise where they have done well.

I will try to share God more intimately

We are not whole persons when we stress only the physical, social and intellectual aspects of life. We are spiritual beings, and if the world is to know God and his will, parents must be primary conveyors. For my part, I would strive to share my faith with my children using a formal settings and unplanned happenings as occasions to speak on my relationship with God.

__________________

You can learn a lot from these decisions and also imbibe them in your training. And as you keep to these steps, coupled with consistent player, your sons will become as outstanding plants and your daughters are shining cornerstones.

3
$ 0.30
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Boluwatife
$ 0.01 from @Potbelly
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Children, Parenting

Comments