Grandfather is gone

7 41
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
10 months ago

It is barely three weeks ago. My grandfather was admitted in a church hospital. He was there for two days. He was placed on series of treatments but he responded to none of the treatments. The doctor ran some tests on him too but the results would take two or three days. My grandmother and Aunt stayed with him in the hospital. My dad was informed and he decided to travel home early on Sunday morning to check up on him.

On Sunday morning, as my dad was dressing up for the trip, my aunt called to inform us that granddad has passed on to glory around 1a.m. The news shook my dad. He came to inform me too and I could see he was about crying. I had to encourage him that all is well. He could no longer go home alone, we all had to follow him. We stopped by one of his siblings' house to pick her up as well.

The journey was a very silent one. We got home safely and my sister and I went to our room straight. My dad and his sister went to see the corpse of their father. They both shed tears. It was later that my aunt came in and told us to come and see the body of grandpa. Tears formed in my eyes as I looked at him. His face looked like a person sleeping peacefully.

It was decided that the burial would take place in the evening of that day. Some boys were called to dig a portion of land for the burial. Other rites like bathing were done to honor the dead before the burial. The coffin was bought and Grandpa was placed in it, never to be seen again.

Service was observed in church before we proceeded to the burial ground. I shed tears as my grandfather, who usually called me a very special name, was lowered into the grave. After that, the children and grandchildren were called to pour sand into the grave. We did that and the grave was totally covered by the boys who dug it. The boys were given snacks for their work.

This happened on 28th May,2023.

5
$ 0.57
$ 0.50 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Shohana
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
10 months ago

Comments

Condolences my friend! May his soul rest in peace. I lost my mom at her early age, I know the pain of losing a family member.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Thanks my friend. God will take care of us all.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Ameen!

$ 0.00
10 months ago

My condolences. Praying for your family 🙏

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Thanks for your concern

$ 0.00
10 months ago

My sincere condolences for your Family.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
10 months ago