Downsides of technology

10 25
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago

We are all aware that we are in the twenty first century and also the digital age. Almost everything that is done in this world is done through the computer. We have all been exposed to technology. The world is improving and getting better and easier each day. In my school, those who are doing business courses usually go about with their typewriters. But when the curriculum was changed, typewriting was removed from their courses and replaced with computer. I wasn't also interested in learning some little things about computer in the first place but, when I had a chance to learn for free, I jumped at the opportunity and I'm still learning.

There are many advantages that the use of technology has brought to us and we are familiar with them. Computer reflects in businesses. It is used in detecting crimes. It helps in production, planning and inventory. In this article, I would be writing about the disadvantages of technology.

The disadvantages or downsides of technology are many. I will be explaining just a few of them.

A source of distraction.

I consider this point as the first in all. Technology has been a source of distraction for people. Distraction in the office, distraction in the school, distraction at home and in many other places, technology has distracted us. I will like to share a story here. A man woke up in the morning to have his personal devotion with God. As he was praying, he received a message alert and he got distracted. That was the end of the devotion that morning.

As he was taking his breakfast of hot tea, bread and butter, he was pressing his phone. As he was about to drink a little out of the hot tea, it poured on his body and he immediately dropped the phone. He held his mouth in pain while he reached for the phone again. He finished his breakfast and left the house. He was standing by the roadside still pressing the people. He flagged down a tricycle and sat down. Throughout the journey, his head was buried in the phone.

When he eventually looked up, the tricycle driver had drove past his place of work. He began to shout and shift blames on the driver for not informing him that he had gotten to his destination. He alighted, crossed to the other side and boarded another taxi cab to get to work.

Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty

Even in the office, he was busy with the phone instead of focusing on the assignments given to him by his boss. He could not achieve anything at the close of work for the day. It was already an addiction. When he got back home from work, the phone was still the next work for him to do. Eventually, he realized all his accounts had been hacked. His Facebook account, Twitter and Instagram accounts were gone. That is the result of misuse of technology.

I feel I have to stop here for today. We have just one point today. Let's continue tomorrow by God's grace.

Lest I forget, SEASONS GREETINGS to you. I attended the global Easter Retreat that started on Thursday and ended today. So, I wasn't very much active here.

HAPPY EASTER

5
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @BCH_LOVER
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I think social media also have given us distraction to do our job. It can distract us because we are being fascinated with entertainment and that's the thing that I've been through even up until now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. We have to be intentional about what we want to do so as not to get distracted unnecessarily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely true, we need to focus to our duty and try not to be distracted with some instances .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed phone is distraction most especially when there is much more important thing to do. Yet I already managed myself if it's time to house chores done everything before something else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. I prefer to finish every other work before I bounce back to my phone. Thanks for reading 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome, keep safe.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything with advantages always have disadvantage, with great wisdom everyone can always see the advantages. Modernization has changed the tides of time in our digital realm and Opened the eyes of many to the downside of technology. Have a wonderful day my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. You too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, one of the disadvantage of technology is it causes distractions. I have been distracted many times with my phone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😄 we need more self discipline.

$ 0.00
2 years ago