A holiday I will never forget

9 18
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago
3RD FEBRUARY,2022.
5TH ARTICLE IN ALL.
3RD ARTICLE IN THE MONTH.

The examination period was very stressful. We finished an exam of about twenty courses in two weeks. Some had three papers in a day. But thank God, we finished well. I travelled home immediately after the examination. The journey was not smooth at all. The drivers were driving recklessly because it was Xmas period. I left school at 10am and I was supposed to get home latest by 1pm. The passengers were warning the driver to reduce his speed when we heard a deafening sound. One of the back tyres had burst. Unfortunately, he didn't have a spare. The place we were was very far from the next town. The driver had no choice than to refund a part of our money to us.

After getting the refund, other passengers and I stood by the road side for an hour waiting for another bus. We eventually got one. I got home around 3pm. I was very tired. I didn't do anything than to eat and sleep. It's good to be home. We had a month break and I freed my head for a week before preparing for the next semester.

A friend's sibling was having his wedding ceremony and I decided to attend. The place was about 6 hours journey and a bus was made available to convey us. The journey was fine. We got to the city at noon but the traffic was heavy. We spent two hours on a spot without moving. Some of us had to alight from the bus for fresh air. We had to buy some things to eat too.

The road became clear and we had a thirty minutes drive into the city. The driver stopped at a motor park and everyone alighted to their different destinations. We were six people attending the ceremony. We called someone who would show us the way to the place. While we were waiting for the person, I had forgotten that we were now in a big city. I dropped my bag on the floor beside me and I was looking around. When it was time for us to leave, I was about to carry my bag when I notice it was no longer beside me. I alerted others and we spent some time searching for it. We never found it. Some even said maybe I forgot to carry it from the bus and I said no. We were already late for the engagement and we were from the groom's family.

We paid a fine to the 👰 bride's family for coming late. The engagement ceremony went well. Only my phone was with me. All the clothes and shoes with other things were all gone. When I told my friend what happened, she said we can't find it again because those who stole the bag will not come back in a long time. I was very sad. She told her mum and another beautiful dress and shoes were given to me. We ate twice that day and we took a lot of pictures.

Early the following morning we started the cooking and there were lots of argument about what to serve who. We went for the church service at 10am. The bride and groom were joined and we moved to the reception. We ate everything we wanted we got some gifts too. We could not wait till the end of the reception because we wanted to leave that day. I asked my friend how I would return the clothes I was given but she said she is not taking it back including the shoes. I thanked her mum and she gave me some money too.

Journey back home was another thing. We could not get a vehicle quickly and the one that brought us straight from home had gone back. We stopped at four different places to get vehicle before we got to our destination at 12am. I could not go home because it was still far from our house. I slept at our church member's house who went with us on the journey. We all met in church the following day which was Sunday and I went back home after the service. Since then, anytime I travel, I will always carry my bag on my chest.

You might also have a similar story. Kindly share and let us laugh. Thanks for reading.

4
$ 3.98
$ 3.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @Kiingsley
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Sorry about your bag and I hope you learnt your lesson. I don´t leave my bag down but to keep it with me when I am somewhere because anything may happen and thank God your phone was not in the bag.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I don't know how I would have handled myself if my phone was in the bag.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, what a journey. Happy married life to the couple and sorry about your bag, that must have been devastating

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks... At least I was given another clothes and shoes 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's painful, loosing a whole bag to then hands of thieves. So sorry for that. If I'm travelling, I'm always careful with my belongings. Especially the one that contains my papers or clothes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wasn't careful enough and I have learnt my lesson now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a great day ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago