So I am sitting in a Coffee Shop... (pt2.)

9 51
Avatar for Thremos
3 years ago

I have always been self conscious of going to a public place to use their space or facilities without doing something to "earn my keep". Whether it is buying a coffee and making a personal connection with the employees, or picking up the trash outside, maybe grabbing the cups from a few dirty tables and putting them in the service bin to make everyones day easier.

I am watching everyone go about there day, and I can't help but notice that they don't always have the same notions. Absolutely some of them do make an effort to leave the space better than they found it, but the majority are content to come in, use, and leave.

As I focus on moving my life farther away from the traditional world around me, its little encounters like this that make uncomfortable more and more with how we treat our world. How is one suppose to be a conscientious person in the world when they world that is being built is constantly destroyed? How are we suppose to focus on living a happy life in the "ever present now (Allan Watts)" if we can't let go of all the constant reminders that we are tearing the world down now for a temporary enjoyment? after all, I personally have no intentions of children, there is on one to tie the future to my habits now.

I have a hard time finding how to be a positive person in the adversity of facing all this as a constant assault living in a city. It leads me to the questionable ideas: Maybe I am meant to be this protective, non-interacting person in the real world. Maybe there is a purpose to breaking peoples everyday patterns when they encounter you and give them a chance to see a different perspective.

As always thanks for reading, If you enjoy some coffee shop rants as I try to figure out my spot in this universe, feel free to leave a small something =)

12
$ 0.51
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ruza17
$ 0.01 from @SingleNorman
Sponsors of Thremos
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I drink 3 coffies once a day :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also love to drink coffee several times a week

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like to drink coffee a lot, but it is usually at home rarely in cafes. I enjoyed reading the article Each of us finds our place in the world. We can't change people otherwise, the only thing we can do is change the way we look at and experience what they do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow Coffees?? I loved drinking coffee.. Coffee is my Most Favourite

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like to sit with my loved ones in a cafe and have a drink, it doesn't matter which one, it is important that we spend a certain part of the day together.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

absolutely =) my wife and I like to find shops in our old towns when we visit friends and family, have lunch at a cafe and play cards together =)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

love it nicely done

$ 0.00
3 years ago