So I am Sitting in a Coffee shop...

14 51
Avatar for Thremos
3 years ago

Listening to these conversations people are having. Talking to their friends about moving to a new town, and self soothing themselves by getting confirmation that it is stressful and scary. Business deals going down on housing market deals, the realtor/action party is telling the lady how well respected they are, and how they pick up their phone at 2am if thats what's needed for her.

I'm 27, been to University, partied, studied. I have had a making ends meet job when a dropped out of Uni at the post office, and Then went back to school for Massage Therapy, and all the less than-stellar life adventures along the way. I feel like I have at lived at least an experienced my fair share as far as "lifetime firsts" go.

To me, it all sounds so scripted and the same as everyone's experience, including my own. They are the same words that ring through I'm sure every coffee shop downtown almost everyday. I sit here and listening to the things I know I have said myself before, albeit when I was about 21, while these individuals seem to be at least in their early-mid thirties. The real estate conversation, I had when I was 24, and is almost word for word what I was also told in my first meeting.

How uniquely do we live our lives if we have the same situations perpetuate over and over in so many lives? I'm sure it is good and fine to be happy and accepting of that, but what do we do when everything seems repetitive, and it sets you on edge, and keeps you from being at peace? Is it your job to re-indoctrinate yourself into the life everyone tells you is good? Or is it your job to start standing up against the current telling you to live that way? Is there one option that is better than the other?

These are the thoughts that pass by as conversations in the coffee shop fill my ears. I don't know what to do with it, but there it is.

12
$ 0.51
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of Thremos
empty
empty
empty

Comments

So this is your first article. I see that you are also new here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am indeed =) but everyone has been so nice, and I feel like a know a few of them in at lesat a polite way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have the same feeling. It's my third day here but I feel like I know them because they were all so nice to me so far.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very observant. When I sit in cafes, I usually shut out the surroundings and concentrate on my crochet as I always bring my project with me. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is awesome! i do not crochet personally, but any hobby that lets you people watch is always such a calming thing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome to the platform. Interesting first article, just keep it up. I will follow your work.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

haha thanks! I literally decided to start writing. Not the personality I intended to present, but thats what came out naturally so I think im going to run with that for a bit =P

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting observation. We seem to think in and fit into positions, or you might also call them roles. And we pretty much play these roles. Not just in the business world, but also in our private lifes.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Finally, read your first article! Hey, welcome 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahah thanks momma! I'm finishing up a couple articles today, so one will be posted in a few hours!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have a nice time in coffee shop

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Top article by you my friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago